We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere on a rooftop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quan Nuong

Quan Nuong
29 -31 Ton That Thiep, Q1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0908 35 75 30
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 1,408 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere on a rooftop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

A do it yourself cooking restaurant set on a rooftop terrace. Each table has a small gas grill you use to cook your food, whether it be vegetables, buffalo, pork, deer, seafood, etc. The items come pre-spiced with something i'd simply refer to as delicious.

The ambiance of the place is great. Sort of reminds me of a German beer hall. Filled with expats and locals alike. Perfect setting for a post-sunset stuff your face style dinner. Enjoy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    74
    60
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food, wonderful location and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went to this place upon recommendation of people we met at Ha Long bay and we didn't regret. The food we had the first evening was absolutely amazing (especially the banana flower salad with pork and shrimp). Doing the barbecue ourselves was a lot of fun and we liked a lot the marinades of the different kinds of meat and the small side dishes that came with them. The restaurant is on a rooftop and not at all catered towards tourists, although there are a couple there mixed with a majority of Vietnamese. We'll definitely go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best BBQ restaurant in Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was kindly recommended to visit this place by owner of Mui Ne Hills Guest House during my stay there. After arrival in Saigon i finally found that wonderful restaurant. It's located in the open area in the 3rd floor of the narrow entrance and corridor leading to the stairs is so magic and classy, preparing you for smth great. When i arrived it was almost full, but i was easily seated. Menu is great, huge variety of the items for bbq, plus 3T specials, i took beef in honey and king prawns. The idea of the restaurant is that you barbecue chosen items by yourself it's very entertaining and interesting. Staff kindly helped me and showed how i should do everything. Food was excellent, very tasty. The lady, restaurant owner, checked each table if the customers were ok. I really enjoyed my evening, would definitely recommend it to everyone, who wants to try really great BBQ. I only advice to reserve a table in advance, as there are so many people want to have dinner in 3T.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had dinner once and for sure I will go back. The place is great : you eat outside, the view is nice and the atmosphere is perfect if you want to go with your friends, have a big table and celebrate a birthday for example.
The food is very good. You need to try the shrimps.
Definitively, worth going there. And most of the customers are vietnamese, which is a good news if you start becoming annoyed with places crowded with tourists !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sta rosa philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“come as you are and have a blast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

our filipino friend brought us to this busy restaurant which is only open at night. its very laid back and there was a long waiting line. but it was worth all the wait. we ordered prawns, goat belly, beef, squid and soup. the lady owner is very much hands on ang very entrtaining. if you dont mind the noise and heat but love good food, this is the restaurant to visit in saigon

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quan Nuong also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Been to Quan Nuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quan Nuong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.