We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Tan Hoang Long Hotel to your Saves list
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Deals in September
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Woy Woy, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in district one.The room I stayed in was ok size,very clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable.Breakfast was good as well.The staff went out of there way to help you,very friendly.They also sell tours which were unbeatable in terms of price and quality.The owner speaks excellent english having studied abroad.I highly recomenend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    109
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
151
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on two separate occasions in January and February 2013. The hotel is centrally located and airport pick up at $18 can be arranged directly through the hotel. The rooms are large, quiet and clean. The staff are very helpful, although the English speaking skills of one or two aren't great which may prove tricky to some travellers. Some staff are essentially fluent, however. Breakfast is chosen from a menu provided. Fresh fruit and juice are also available. We took advantage of the extended checkout due to food poisoning picked up in Halong Bay! The rate was half of the room rate and we checked out at 5pm. The staff will help you get a street taxi for transport to the airport. This cost us 140,000 dong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The best thing about this property is the location. Lonely Planet and Nat'l Geographic both offer walking tours of District 1 that go right past the hotel, it is that convenient to the sites. Notre Dame, Reunification Palace, Rex Hotel, riverfront, War Remnant Museum, and more within a short walk. It is just off of the busiest streets, which helps with noise.

The room itself was clean and simple. It has AC, safe, modern bathroom, and a reasonably comfortable bed. We stayed here twice, in different rooms on different floors and the rooms were about the same. There is not a lot of extra room but enough room.

The staff was pleasant and offered a good dinner recommendation (Lemongrass on next block) one night and also the second time. I mostly stuck with the fresh fruit at breakfast- watermelon, dragonfruit, and pomelos with tea. The cooked items did not do much for me but the wife thought the pho was OK.

For the price that we paid, $45, we got a clean room in a great location. Works for me. The also offer late checkout (4pm) for a half day rate.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th and 7th floors and both were fine.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

When looking for a hotel Cleanliness, location, price and service are the criteria I search for.This hotel ticks these boxes.
I stayed there for eleven nights whilst having some dental work done at Westcoast international dental surgery (Also excellent). I felt welcomed and comfortable here and thought this hotel would be difficult to beat for what is offered.
It's not a five star hotel but it is very good value for money.
A warm thanks to the staff for a job well done.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location was good for visiting downtown Ho Chi Minh City. Our room was very small (twin room) but comfortable enough and on the 7th floor so street noise wasn't a problem. The best feature of this hotel was the helpful staff. They called a cab for our trip to the airport and had a take-away breakfast prepared for our 7am departure from the hotel. If you stay here as a couple, you might be more comfortable in one of the larger rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had chosen this hotel on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Having stayed so far on our trip through Vietnam at a series of excellent hotels, but none costing more than US$30 per night, we had decided to opt for a bit more guaranteed comfort and booked this hotel which cost around US$ 50 per night. The room was comfortable, clean and well appointed with all the little extras (kettle, toiletries etc) that, on occasions, could be missing from cheaper accommodation. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was an excellent and wide choice for breakfast. Location was convenient for walking to such attractions as the War Museum, Central Market and the Reunification Palace.The only minor downside was that we took a couple of the (standard) tours advertised by the hotel - to the Mekong Delta and the Cu Chi tunnels - which were disappointing as we felt that they were little more than high pressure sales tours.

Room Tip: Probably one of the upper floor rooms would be a good choice - no problems as the hotel has a good l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Couldn't really fault the hotel. We stayed in a beautful suite and it was spotless. As a honeymoon couple they left us a congrats card and bottle of Aussie wine which was a nice touch.

There was an issue when the hot water came on but it was sorted that day.

Yes the breakfast was limited but it was adequate.

The only other gripe would be my wife and I are tea / coffee drinkers and we had to ask for milk every day to put in them. Surely sachets of "cream" / long life milk could have been left which would of sufficed.

However this was a great location and friendly staff and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the room in the main photo - exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Hoang Long Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.