We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again. great location and good service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tan Hoang Long Hotel to your Saves list
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“would stay again. great location and good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

room was clean, bathroom was nice, and staff were friendly and prompt both on email responds and face to face. requested for a late checkout due to our flight time and they obliged immediately. breakfast was good. my partner and i enjoyed the beef fried rice and beef stew. despite being on a busy street, our room was quiet (6th floor). one bad thing was there was a slight gap btw our door and the doorway. unsettling as we weren't sure if people could look in? we could look out so probably. location was great- could walk to ben thanh market, war remnants museums etc (about fifteen mins) and didn't need to cab at all to the sights. costs about 150,000 -200,000 vnd from railway station to cab here (if i rmb right), and about the same amount to cab to airport. recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    117
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
18
172
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This small hotel is right in the centre of HCM, so it's a good spot to base yourself. The price was excellent value, and I'd recommend this place for a short stay. It was an easy walk to the night markets, to the river, and was right in the middle of the shopping district.

My room was comfortable, with a well fitted bathroom and the mod cons one expects in a business-style hotel. It had air con, free wifi and a comfy bed, also a good tv and an in-room safe. The view from the window was onto other buildings; not very pretty, but it was interesting in a way. My room was at the back and, despite HCM being a very noisy city with all the motor scooters whizzing about and tooting, the room was relatively quiet.

Breakfast was included and was good (you're given a menu and they cook it specially for you).

I booked my transfers through the hotel. This worked well going from the airport, as my driver was waiting when I arrived. Heading back, I'd been out for a walk and arrived back at the hotel about 5mins before I was due to be picked up (having got a bit lost walking back). By then -- even though it was early and I'd already paid for my transfer -- the driver had gone off in a huff, leaving me stranded. The hotel sorted it out by hailing a cab and paying it in advance, but it meant I paid for a limo transfer and got a dirty taxi instead. That was my only gripe -- and quite insignificant.

I'd recommend this hotel as a good quality, good value, place to stay in HCM/Saigon.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Cororado, USA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After sorting through many hotels on TripAdvisor in Ho Chi Minh City we settled on this one and it was a gem. The price was very reasonable and the location couldn't have been much better. The staff was very friendly and our room was exceptionally clean and quite nice. The hotel is small and we thought the smallish dining area might mean a poor breakfast, but were surprised to see that we could order from a menu, a really pleasant surprise. The central location couldn't have been better

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located on Mac thi Buoi street which is near to HBT Street on one side and also very close to Le Loi Street on the other side. Also just next to Sheraton Saigon. Very convenient to get a taxi and also a 7 am to 10 pm money exchange outlet next door. 

It's the standard four rooms to a floor mid priced hotel. The rooms are fairly compact with a queen size bed, a table, a single seat cushion chair, and a cupboard. I found the suitcase rack fairly small, which was a tad inconvenient, which the hotel staff replaced with a larger one the next day. I also needed an extra quilt which the hotel again provided, which was good.

I found the complimentary water provided a bit inconvenient. The bottles offered are 300 ml, which is just about a large glass. A suggestion to the hotel -  If you are offering this, then you should also offer a clear pricing system for additional bottles which is at market rate, and not at the mini bar rate. It is inconvenient to go to the supermarket for your daily stock of water. 

Bath - The bath area is fairly large with a lot of space. The hot water tends to stop after 10 am, so have it early.
The wifi signal was quite powerful through out and also in the bath area . 
The breakfast is menu driven where you order for a specific course - English breakfast or a host of fried rice/ chops type. The English breakfast seemed the best of the lot especially if you are used to loading up in the morning. The fruits and sponge cake are on the buffet. If you are used to trying a variety on the breakfast platter, you may find the system here a bit restrictive. 

The lobby area is nice and cosy with comfortable seating. It also has 2 computer terminals for surfing. 
The elevators tended to be quite slow. 
A tip for the hotel - for guests arriving late at night, have the bell boy to deliver food or have a stock of ready to eat noodles available. Restaurants tend to stop serving post 10:30 pm in HCMC

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was such a great hotel. Centrally located in District 1, exceptionally helpful staff and very clean. We splurged and booked the luxury master suite which was huge. I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel next time I visit HCM.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we had a funtastic stay at this hotel! staff were all nice, attentive, helpful and friendly.
location is just excellent! good value for money and very clean! highly recommended!
***********************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night here. Everything was ok. Big room, clean, nice decor. Staffs was friendly, helpful. The most impressive is the location, very near convenient store and other famous place. Definitely recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Hoang Long Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.