We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent (:” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tan Hoang Long Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot Deals in September
Ranked #26 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent (:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we had a funtastic stay at this hotel! staff were all nice, attentive, helpful and friendly.
location is just excellent! good value for money and very clean! highly recommended!
***********************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    106
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
150
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 night here. Everything was ok. Big room, clean, nice decor. Staffs was friendly, helpful. The most impressive is the location, very near convenient store and other famous place. Definitely recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a lovely hotel which is spotlessly clean, in a great location and with fantastic friendly staff. The rooms themselves are small, making this a good place to stay if you are planning on not spending vast amounts of time in the hotel; it suits people who plan to spend 2 or 3 days in Ho Chi Minh City exploring. It's a 15 minute walk to the Unification Palace and 20 minutes to the Remnants War Museum. In the other direction it's 10-15 minutes to the river and the ferry moorings. Breakfast is more focused towards south east Asian food but there's just about enough variety for Europeans for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location near the Opera House and it's very clean. Cleanliness was a top priority for me when booking a hotel in Saigon and this hotel met my expectations. The owner and staff are very friendly. They will ask to keep your passport when you check in for registration purposes, but I got them back the next morning. If this is something you are worried about, they might accept a copy of your passport if you have one on hand, which I usually do when I travel.

The rooms were simple, but that fine since we weren't really in the hotel during the day. My sister stayed in a larger room on the same floor, so if you would like more space, I would pay extra for the larger rooms. There are movie channels in english so that was nice when we wanted to relax in the room. Only had breakfast once, don't expect a crazy spread, but it did the job when all we needed was fuel to get the day started. Everything is made to order. Booked a few tours through the front desk and everything went smoothly.

When the cleaning ladies start in the morning, it can get a little loud due to thin walls, so if you are a light sleeper, I would suggest earplugs if you want to sleep in. There's an ATM located right outside the front door so that was very convenient. We ended up booking our last night in Saigon at the Continental because the website said they were sold out for our last night. I never thought to ask if there was a room available, but there was. When they only have one to two rooms available, it will list as sold out on the their website. I had already paid for my room at the Continental so we had to transfer, but I will say that our stay at Tan Hoang Long was much more comfortable than the Continental.

Will definitely stay here again when I return to Saigon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here three nights in November, room is clean and comfortable with a big window,( 6 floor )
The location of this hotel is the best in HCMC, everything is within walking distance. Staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast was ok, could do with more choices. This is by far the best two star hotel anywhere, I think.

Room Tip: Book a bigger room on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Rooms really clean - yes a little smaller than some of the 5* joints but comfortable (and if you want to spend all your time in the hotel room, you shouldn't have come to Saigon!).

Restaurant excellent for breakfast - provided to order. Staff very helpful and very friendly.

Owner is Vietnamese but speaks English fluently with an Aussie accent - either studied there or lived there for some time. He's obviously taken the western standards of service to the east!

Excellent location for the hotel - most places are within easy walking distance. Really reccoment pho 24 just around the corner.

Room Tip: For breakfast, go straight for the pho! (noodles in soup with beef/chicken in English)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Booked this for 2 night based on strong reviews on TA, but compared with more modest accommodation in Hue and Hanoi this Hoang Long Hotel was found wanting. The greeting we received was formal to say the least and far less friendly than we had become used to in Vietnam. The room was spacious enough, and the breakfast was fine, but what severely let this hotel down was the staff service, no one went out of their way, and we did not see a smile the entire time we were there. In summary it was comfortable enough but could the staff could all try a little harder.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tan Hoang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Hoang Long Hotel

Address: 84 Mac Thi Buoi | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 08, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is at great location and offering pretty good values. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tan Hoang Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Hoang Long Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.