We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - Such a delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Central Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OMG - Such a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

WoW, what more can I say

This Hotel is one of a kind, 4 Star hotel offering 5 star service and quality.

I highly recommend this Hotel, everything was perfect
Great Service - some staff even have reasonable english
Awesome shower in bathroom
Spacious room
24 Hour friendly and helpful security
Great Views from RoofTop
Really nice American Buffet Breakfast with plenty of choice

Walking distance to many attactions such as Reunification Palace, Museum, Ben Tahn Markets etc,

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Tip for HCMC, avoid CYCLO - they appear to be a rip off, take a taxi - they are cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    186
    81
    22
    10
See reviews for
52
146
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent five days at the Golden Central Hotel while site seeing in Ho chi Minh City and we were very happy with the service & facilities available to us. The rooms were large & clean. The double rooms came with two single beds that were comfortable but set apart & was not ideal for a family or couple. Although there was coffee available in the room there was no tea & when tea was ordered from the room service it came without milk. You need to ask for milk specifically or they send you the tea without it. The toilets were large and clean but not enough toilet paper is provided may be because there is a bidet in the toilet. The rooms are cleaned well every day and all supplies (except toilet paper) was replenished.
Breakfast was ok. As we stayed for 5 days it was the same old every day. The scrambled eggs were great but the cooked food like spaghetti & curry tended to be a bit dry. The bacon was crispy!!' There was not much choice of food in the restaurant but the food there was adequate.
The pool was small but clean and a good place to relax.
The location was great. Close to most of the city attractions & about 3-5 minute walk to Ben Thanh market. There were loads of shops on either side of the hotel to browse & there was this one shop Hoi An run by a young girl that had some really good clothes. The service there was great. they do alterations while you wait & will accept any currency Dong, USD or AUD. There is a taxi stand right in front of the hotel so there was plenty of taxis any time you wanted.
The service is excellent. The staff are all smiles & will go out of the way to do that extra bit to make your stay so much better. I had to check out at 12 & wait till 1 in the waiting area to take the cab to the airport & during that time i was offered tea, water & numerous inquires of whether i wanted any thing.
I recommend this hotel for any adults on a trip to Ho chi minh city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is as they say central for most things .Close to the day and night market .
The reception area is quite small but the staff are very helpful.
The rooms were smallish but clean and comfortable
Breakfast on the top floor was good but the views from the restaurant as the sun came up were wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I have always wanted to visit Vietnam and just didin't know what to expect. I had the task of finding a hotel and what a gem I found. The Golden Central Hotel is located near the Ben Tranh market so the locaton was excellent to our needs. Our room was on the 11th floor positioned on a corner with a beautiful view of the city. The room and it's accomodations where great. The hotel staff were helpful and gracious. The breakfast buffet was excellent. For the cost of our room is was well worth it! We will be back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors offer a beautiful city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first night and introduction to Vietnam was at Golden Central Hotel and we were amazed at the helpfulness and care we were given. Our room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The position of the hotel was a stone's throw from the day and night market a hive of activity all the time. The breakfast had a wide spread of choices with a wonderful roof top view of the city. We had such a pleasant stay we returned two days later for another night after a short stay down on the Mekong Delta River. The next day we had an early flight and needed to leave by 4.30am - staff were available for us to check out and they had organized a breakfast box for us without us requesting it - lovely thoughtful gesture.
Although we organized a hotel transfer as it was our first time in Vietnam and not sure what to expect, it was expensive and really not necessary. Taxi are very cheap and as long as you have an address you will be fine.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After my initial visit with 4 friends in 2011, I returned with a group of 21. As with my previous visit, the Golden Central lives up to it name in being centrally located hotel. It has well appointed and very clean rooms.

My issues came with restaurant and wait staff. 2 days prior, I personally spoke with the restaurant manager and made reservation for 23 people. I asked if I have given them enough notice and could they handle or group filling half of the venue. He answered yes on both counts.

To say it was a disaster would be an understatement. People waiting an hour for drinks, not enough menus, waiting 90 minutes for any food to come to the table, mains coming before entree's, diners clearing the table while awaiting their next course, 3 of us didn't receive any food at all. It was also a catastrophe when trying to pay our separate bill as the meals didn't match the tables and they even tried to charge for meals that simply did not arrive.

I did have a meeting the following day with the restaurant manager and the VP of Hotel Operations to discuss the unmitigated disaster of the previous evening and it was agreed they a training program would be put in place for all for all restaurant team members on the property.

I will stay at the property again, as it is a great place to stay, but probably will not avail myself of the restaurant facilities, other than the complementarity breakfasts.

Room Tip: Other than the rooms around the elevators, I don't think you find a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (6 pax) were a little apprehensive after booking the hotel so we called them a couple of days before arrival. Hotel staff was very reassuring and we got a bonus when they upgraded us to suites on a higher floor. The rooms were first-class and as they were on a higher floor, there was no noise and plenty of light. Service was great and the small routine maintenance problems we encountered were attended to immediately. Front office staff was courteous and helped us with tour booking, telephone SIM cards etc. Breakfast was a solid start to every day. We had no time to use the health club. Location of the hotel is fabulous...it helps walking around at night to the Ben Tham market and downtown area. Overall experience of the Hotel and Ho Chi Minh city was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.