We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Central Hotel Ho Chi Minh City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Central Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Central Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 354 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Golden Central Hotel Ho Chi Minh City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is as they say central for most things .Close to the day and night market .
The reception area is quite small but the staff are very helpful.
The rooms were smallish but clean and comfortable
Breakfast on the top floor was good but the views from the restaurant as the sun came up were wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    154
    72
    22
    9
See reviews for
43
129
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I have always wanted to visit Vietnam and just didin't know what to expect. I had the task of finding a hotel and what a gem I found. The Golden Central Hotel is located near the Ben Tranh market so the locaton was excellent to our needs. Our room was on the 11th floor positioned on a corner with a beautiful view of the city. The room and it's accomodations where great. The hotel staff were helpful and gracious. The breakfast buffet was excellent. For the cost of our room is was well worth it! We will be back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors offer a beautiful city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first night and introduction to Vietnam was at Golden Central Hotel and we were amazed at the helpfulness and care we were given. Our room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The position of the hotel was a stone's throw from the day and night market a hive of activity all the time. The breakfast had a wide spread of choices with a wonderful roof top view of the city. We had such a pleasant stay we returned two days later for another night after a short stay down on the Mekong Delta River. The next day we had an early flight and needed to leave by 4.30am - staff were available for us to check out and they had organized a breakfast box for us without us requesting it - lovely thoughtful gesture.
Although we organized a hotel transfer as it was our first time in Vietnam and not sure what to expect, it was expensive and really not necessary. Taxi are very cheap and as long as you have an address you will be fine.

Room Tip: Both rooms we stayed in were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After my initial visit with 4 friends in 2011, I returned with a group of 21. As with my previous visit, the Golden Central lives up to it name in being centrally located hotel. It has well appointed and very clean rooms.

My issues came with restaurant and wait staff. 2 days prior, I personally spoke with the restaurant manager and made reservation for 23 people. I asked if I have given them enough notice and could they handle or group filling half of the venue. He answered yes on both counts.

To say it was a disaster would be an understatement. People waiting an hour for drinks, not enough menus, waiting 90 minutes for any food to come to the table, mains coming before entree's, diners clearing the table while awaiting their next course, 3 of us didn't receive any food at all. It was also a catastrophe when trying to pay our separate bill as the meals didn't match the tables and they even tried to charge for meals that simply did not arrive.

I did have a meeting the following day with the restaurant manager and the VP of Hotel Operations to discuss the unmitigated disaster of the previous evening and it was agreed they a training program would be put in place for all for all restaurant team members on the property.

I will stay at the property again, as it is a great place to stay, but probably will not avail myself of the restaurant facilities, other than the complementarity breakfasts.

Room Tip: Other than the rooms around the elevators, I don't think you find a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We (6 pax) were a little apprehensive after booking the hotel so we called them a couple of days before arrival. Hotel staff was very reassuring and we got a bonus when they upgraded us to suites on a higher floor. The rooms were first-class and as they were on a higher floor, there was no noise and plenty of light. Service was great and the small routine maintenance problems we encountered were attended to immediately. Front office staff was courteous and helped us with tour booking, telephone SIM cards etc. Breakfast was a solid start to every day. We had no time to use the health club. Location of the hotel is fabulous...it helps walking around at night to the Ben Tham market and downtown area. Overall experience of the Hotel and Ho Chi Minh city was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for three nights. The hotel is clean and well maintained with a good standard of service and attention from staff. Room was excellent with a superb bathroom.

A great pool on the roof, which also has good views over the city (check it out at night).

Breakfast is served on the floor below and was of very good quality (with the indiosyncrecies of local cuisineas well as Western fayre)

The location cannot be bettered. A short walk to the evening street markets and restaurants (an excellent seabass in one). Vietnam streets are ALIVE with activity and people working so hard. We ate a few times at the Baby Spoon nearby- OK food and very good staff

Room Tip: Try an upper floor for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in August for 5 nights It was a Amazing!!! The staff were extremely helpfull and so kind. I got came off a 15 hour flight and arrived quiet early to the hotel well before the checkin time and was given my room after 30 mins of arriving, as receptionist had sent the cleaners to my room to clean it so I could make use of it. I was in my room for 10am and the checkin was due to be 2pm. During those 30 minutes I was sent up to have breakfast in the restaurant and then seated in the lounge area and was given fruit juice and water while I waited.
The room was spotless and the views over the city were spectactular. They have air con in the rooms which is needed, a large wardrobe with a robe and sleepers, kettle and tea and coffee making facilites.
As for the location it was so close to everthing, especially the Ben Thanh market which is another must see.
The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool area and a fantastic rooftop restaurant. The food and alcohol wasn't badly priced either which was a bonus.
The breakfast was complimentary and the spread was fantastic it really covered every countries breakfast needs was I was quited suprised with as there was a huge varety of food available.
I need go for a nosey around the hotel I went to the spa area which was very nice and the treatments wern't badly priced either. All areas I came into contact with where extremly clean and very well looked after.
There was only one draw back for me this was I had a room near the main lifts which was slightly noiser than some other rooms but this is to be expected try and get a room away from the lifts especially if your a light sleeper.
All in all a fantastic stay and cant wait to go back I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 354 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.