We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a big hotel room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Central Hotel

Save Saved
You added Golden Central Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect a big hotel room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Small rooms, I mean tiny! But it was clean and comfortable. Staff in the restaurant were friendly when we ordered drinks and admired the views.
Staff at the front desk were ok but not really warm, as in personal. They were formal.

Food for breakfast was not great, but its convenient .
We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a good location, close to the market.
Getting a taxi was easy to other places too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    163
    75
    22
    9
See reviews for
46
133
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver island
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the 3rd night of our stay here and we have been totally satisifed with everything about the hotel. The staff are very efficient and helpful, the room is quite comfortable the bed is even soft and the shower is the most modern I have ever seen in a hotel. The few small problems we have had were all fixed quickly and in each case somone was at our room within minutes of our call to the desk. The breakfast is quite good with a wide variety of items to choose from. Another plus is the soundproofing which blocked out most of the noise of the city. The hotel is located only a block from the market and 3 blocks from the Reunification Palace. There is even a nice pastry shop in the next block.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 801.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here after our travel agent had booked us in another hotel which hadn't even opened yet. Prior to staying at Golden Central we were staying at the Nikko in HCM city, which definitely lived up to its 5 stars. Golden central was one of the worse hotels ever, small and dark. Rooms are barely big enough for 1 person! Breakfast is a joke, over priced and does not deserve 4 stars! Maybe 1 star is being generous. Don't waste your time guys, pay extra for comfort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. You can walk to so much, when you are willing to cross the street. The amount of scooters is insane. The people at the front desk were very nice. We had a room for 3 on the 12th floor. We had 1 king or queen (I can't recall) and 1 roll away. The rollaway was a bit hard but after all the walking and exploring we did, it really didn't matter. The bathroom was a decent size and had a futuristic shower.

A breakfast buffet was included in the cost of the room. It is located on the 17th floor and had very nice views of the city. It had an assortment of food that seems to be quite typical for all the countries we visited....fruit, sliced meats and cheeses, salad, eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, typical Asian fare congee and noodles and a few breads/pastries.

All in all if you need a good hotel with more than the basics in a good area, this will suit your needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location near the market and the city views from the dining room on the 17 th floor are the best features of this hotel. The rooms are very small and musty. No opening windows and the air con wasn't doing a good job. The dining room had the great view, but the buffet breakfast was just awful on choice and taste! The pool will inevitably cool you down on a hot humid Ho Chi Minh day and this might just be enough reason to choose this hotel??

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at the Golden Central Hotel. The location is great, although it's not exactly located in the center of Saigon. The staff were really polite and helpful, although their English skills were not the best.

The pool is located on the top floor of the building and offers a great view over the city.

Breakfast is great and served on the top floor so you get a lovely start to your day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was in a great location 2 minutes from the markets and within a walk of all the city sites and shops etc. The staff were all friendly and helpful even at night as our two children were sick and we required extra bathroom supplies in the middle of the night which the reception sent up straight away. The concierge recommended the best directions when asked and gave us valuable information. The breakfast whilst not being the best we have had was plentiful and adequate and again the pool is not the best but quite adequate for cooling off. Meals in the restaurant were good all in all this is a good value city hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe rooms as the standard are a bit small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.