We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Central Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Central Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Invercargill,New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

we had 2 rooms for 5 days in this hotel for our family of four (2 teenagers). We found the hotel rooms very comfortable with good amentities. We had a coffeemaker, welcome basket of fruit and complimentary bottled water in our room. Our double room was small but more than adequate for what we needed. Hotel was in a good location. 1 block from the market, walking distance to all sights. Free internet in lobby which was great for teenagers! Pool on rooftop was such a welcome oasis at the end of the day, although not a large pool it was clean and very refreshing. Breafast included in our room rate was fantastic - we left so full we didn't need much to eat during the day. Good variety of food. Hotel had a spa in the basement which I used for a massage.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    212
    88
    22
    11
See reviews for
61
170
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Good location - bit more expensive than comparable hotels we stayed in hcm but worth it for pool

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights & was disappointed.
I booked & paid for a suite & found out they called a suite a larger room. A suite should have a separate bedroom & sitting area.
They showed me several rooms before I picked one and they were all similar. Their " high tech shower " was a POS.
The first day it was scolding hot & I was unable to use it , I complained & a man fixed it & then it was stone cold.
I kept quite after this as it was better to freeze than be burnt. Also their High Tech Toilet seat was so hot it was like sitting on a BBQ grill
I had to splash cold water on the SOB before I could use it.
Other bad things, Slow lifts, small crappy pool & pool area. Exercise area was a couple of machines around the pool .
Breakfast so so , Other food I tried also only so so
The staff were very nice & helpful & it was a good location

Room Tip: ask to see the room before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

On a three week trip in Asia this was our first stop. The Golden Central Hotel in HCMC is really central, major sights and many many restaurants are in walking distance. Rather small but comfortable rooms, nothing to complain. Service staff helpful, full breakfast on the 17th floor with a view all over the city. Definitely recommended for s stop in Vietnam!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here on our last night in ho chi min after a great 2 week holiday, stayed at the sanouva hotel down the road for first 3 nights, cheaper and better than golden central.
The hotel has small rooftop pool and you have breakfast on the 17th floor overlooking ho chi min not a lot of room once everyone gets up there for breakfast and the breakfast was nothing to write home about! we got a standard room which was really small, no view out the window and smell of urine in our bathroom had to keep the door closed.
It was the next street back from ben tha markets. The staff were all friendly.
the foyer is lovely and clean as you walk in, try the toilets in the lobby my friend and i were amused that the toilet has a blow dryer for your bottom!

Room Tip: I would maybe think about upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We only stayed 3 nights here but we enjoyed every moment. The staff were very friendly and professional..especially the restaurant staff on the 17th floor. The rooms were on the small side but very clean with comfortable beds and an awesome shower! The hotel is in easy walking distance to Ben Thanh market and many restaurants, cafes, etc. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced well located hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights in July. The hotel was nothing amazing but was in an excellent location. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The pool is quite small but is refreshing on a hot day, however I believe you do pay that bit extra for the pool. Only used it once so was not very useful. overall enjoyed the hotel and had/have no complaints about my stay or the staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Central Hotel

Address: 140 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Golden Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.