We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours

Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours
Vuon Kieng Pier (opposite Renaissance hotel), District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 (0) 128 592 0018
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$80*
and up
Ranked #29 of 293 Activities in Ho Chi Minh City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let us take you on a journey to some of the world's most significant sites. Visit the historical Cu Chi tunnels, the laidback backwaters of the lush Mekong Delta and the UNESCO-listed Can Gio Biosphere Reserve. We offer authentic experiences in areas that can only be accessed via the region's scenic waterways. Cruise between verdant rice paddies and mirror-like pools along the tributaries and canals of the river of nine dragons - the Mekong Delta. Step back into Vietnam's not-too-distant past at the Cu Chi Tunnels to experience wartime life. Cruise mangrove forests off Vietnam's southern coastline and learn about the diverse flora and fauna of captivating Can Gio. Fall into the local rhythm and take time to enjoy the here and now. Connect with Vietnam's landscapes, warm people and perhaps, even yourself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Fabulous Morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just got back from Cu Chi Tunnels. What a fabulous and informative trip this was.

We booked online direct, picked up by our hostess, Them, at 7am and paid by Visa at the pier.

Our guide on the boat was called Diem - she was lovely and nothing was a bother for her.

We were served croissants filled with ham and tomato, fresh fruit, drinks and Vietnamese cold coffee.

After a scenic speedboat trip we reached the Cu Chi Tunnels. It was fascinating to see the traps that they made and how well organised the making of the tunnels were. You get the chance to crawl through the tunnels for about 100 meters and there are several points where you can exit if you want to get out before the end. It is very very cramped and hot, but well worth doing if you are able.

After the tunnels we were served tapioca with a peanut salt dip and green tea.

On returning to the boat lunch was served - fish, chicken, rice, pork salad, fresh spring rolls and an assortment of fruit and again plenty of cold soft drinks.

Everything about this trip was perfect and well worth the extra money compared to going by bus. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    188
    42
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“First Class Operation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I did both the Cu Chi Tunnels and Mekong Delta trips. This is a very well run company with superb employees. The pick up was prompt. The engines on the boats (I was on two different boats for the two trips) are high end and well maintained, not an insignificant fact in a Third World Country. In addition to the driver, they had a guide and two or three assistants. The food was prepared well and of good restaurant quality and the guides were excellent. The Mekong tour takes you to local markets , a small village and we went into two different homes to see how the people live. It also gives you fantastic views of life on the river, both commercial and individuals and families. At some points the river is pretty smelly but it didn't bother me.I highly recommend both of these tours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Public Relations Manager at Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear BigdawgChicago,

Thanks for spending (2) days of your vacation with Saigon River Express; we sincerely appreciate your comments and support.
I’m glad to note your comments re: the maintenance of our engines. Despite the costs we ensure every boat is thoroughly maintained so our guests can relax and enjoy their holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best way to see Mekong Delta without melting in the heat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Saigon River Express provides a luxury excursion to the Mekong Delta. Although it costs more than the other tour providers, it's completely made up in the amount of attention to detail you receive.

First as others mentioned, communication was quick and easy. Booking is simple and they pick you up from your hotel or apartment if you are in District 1.

Second the speedboat is the best way to cool off! Saigon is H O T and so is the delta so every time you got back in the boat, you just couldn't wait to get it going and feel the breeze.

We were given a continental Asian breakfast and had a variety of drinks. We had fruit to snack on throughout the day, before and after lunch.

We always had water and wet naps available, even when we were off the boat, walking around. The guides carried stuff with them so you could always cool off or wipe your hands.

The best was the market, truly authentic, with fish flopping around, chickens in cages and motorbikes zipping down narrow alleys.

Guides are funny, honest and sincere. We could ask anything and we got real answers, but we could also appreciate the people we visited in the villages and the children we played with a lot more.

This is worth the cost to visit some beautiful places in a comfortable and educational manner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Public Relations Manager at Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Rei A,

Thanks for your very detailed account of your Mekong trip, I’m very happy to hear your expectations were met and that you found the day comfortable and educational.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Kah is a great guide for a wonderful day trip on the Mekong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

From the pick up at our hotel to the drop off in the afternoon Kah made sure we were comfortable and fully informed of the days activities and the sights. The food and drink were ampul and we were able to try many new fruits fresh from the local market. Lunch was delicious and plentiful. We saw beautiful sights from pagodas to private homes and farms. The boat was comfortable and open with plenty of cool breeze on a hot day. Would highly recommend this trip for singles or families alike. Great guide and wonderful staff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Public Relations Manager at Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sukisj,

Thanks for your comments about our staff and the tour, we really are lucky to have some of the best guides working for us each with their own personality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Super day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We took Mekong delta tour and it was just fantastic. First off all, booking response was very fast: see sent request for next day tour at 9pm, and after 5 minutes booking was confirmed. Pickup in the morning was at 7:30 and we drove directly to port. There were only 8 tourists on our boat plus 2 captains and 2 tourguides. Tourguides told us a lot of facts about vietnamies fishing and farming life. We visited a market, where he showed different fruits, vegetables and fishes. We were served a breakfast, cold drinks, vietnamies coffee and various local fruits on board.
All food was very hygenically handled.
We visited buddist and caodao temples. Also local villidge, were we saw snakes, local house, different plant fields. We were served coconut juice from coconuts. We saw river bank villages and lifestile. We had a toilet stops in very decent places. Also we had a very tasty lunch, sweet and sour vegetable soup is now my favourite vietnamise dish!
I felt taken a good care of. I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverExpress, Public Relations Manager at Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Olga_lus,

It must have been quite an exotic experience for someone all the way from Estonia; thanks for taking the time to share your day. We appreciate the encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Rives by Saigon River Express - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.