We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thanh Thuong Guesthouse to your Saves list
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 700 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here and the room was ridiculously hot and cramped.. Way too small for the amount of people to stay in there. Also paid for some laundry and almost all my clothes got completely ruined, covered in blue, and browny/orange stains. Not good at all.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    30
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
56
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Our overall stay was below average. While the rooms were clean and the bed was pretty comfortable, the bathroom was awful. Anytime you used the tap or had a shower the room smelled like backed up sewage. We had a double air com room with a TV and fridge amd no window and paid 15USD/night. You can defintely find better for less!

The staff were pretty helpful (one gentleman had exceptional English) and even exchanged money with no fee.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Our room was clean and decently sized, with an unexpected tiny balcony overlooking the street below. The staff was also really friendly and gave some good advice about where to go and what to see in our limited time in Ho Chi Minh City.

The location was fairly good, as it wasn't too far from Ben Thanh Market and was very close to a lot of good restaurants.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The location of this hostel is perfect, in the "backpacker area", with plenty of restaurants and bars.

The price is good, but as I have tried other hostels in the area, you can get better options for the same price.

Nothing to blame about this hostel, nothing was bad, but nothing was exceptional neither.

The family was very helpful, even if sometimes you feel that you really have to book an activity through them, which we did not.

However, if you end up in this place, you will have a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I liked the location down an alley with little restaurants and guesthouses,. The family were helpful as mentioned by other reviewers the enterance is their family room which wasnt a problem ( all the hotels in this alley were the same.) My only problem was the bed I had booked for two nights and tge bed was painful to sleep on. I kept waking with backache. After 2 nights we moved to another hotel in tge same alley the same price but a lot nicer with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

District 1 is a veritable hub of hostels, guesthouses and cheap b and b's and is the heart of the backpacker community in the bustling city of Ho Chi Minh. Finding a place to crash is very easy but finding a nice establishment which puts you instantly at ease in the second capital of Vietnam is more tricky.

This is where the Thanh Thuong guesthouse comes in. Located down an alleyway on the Pham Ngu Lao road (the road where all of the open buses terminate and where all the tour companies operate from) this family run guesthouse is open and eager to receive tired and weary travellers and prepare them for a stay in this magnificent city.

The staff are immensely polite and helpful in getting your room set up and orientating you with maps and ideas of where to go for all occasions. The team were especially great when they organised a new room after our stay in a triple room for just 2 of us to stay in for the same prices as our previous lodging per person.

The rooms themselves are clean and well maintained and come equiped with air con and a fan to help you escape the city heat. There is a laundry service that operates at a $1 per kilo rate and there is WiFi available in the rooms along with 2 communal computers in the main reception area.

Overall you couldn't ask for more in a cheap hostel in Ho chi Minh city that is only a 10 minute walk from the main market and I would definitely recommend a stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

we was recommended this hotel by our friends as a super friendly,comfortable hotel,and the recommending of our friends went right.we had a lovely stay here,room was comfortable,clean.it was great to stay in a place away from all the hustle and bustle of the city,yet onlly a short walk to the centre,
the family was so helpful to help us to book bus tickets and tour to the Mekong with a good service.the family and staff was smilling all the time when we were there..
thanks again for your kindness and we will come back soon to Viet nam and stay with you again...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thanh Thuong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Address: 241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 700 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned friendly hotel opened 2010; offering clean, comfortable and quiet rooms in the heart of Pham Ngu Lao at excellent rates. We offer a range of services to ensure your stay with us is a happy one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Thanh Thuong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.