We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and standard hotel with good service in an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kelly Hotel to your Saves list
Kelly Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Thu Khoa Huan | Dist 1, Viet Nam, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Jakarta Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Basic and standard hotel with good service in an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel and rooms were pretty basic and standard, but a few good points are worth noting. By the way our rooms had windows! Apparently it's a rarety for standard/budget hotels in Vietnam but I did request it when booking way in advance.

The front desk lady Linda (gosh I hope I remember her name correctly!) was very professional and helpful. Breakfast which was included in the room rate was strictly Vietnamese and tended to be the same every day but still, it was decent. The room was equipped with a desktop computer that actually worked with good internet access, and a nice-size LCD screen tv with good selection of English language and movie channels. The location of the hotel was very strategic and it's a huge plus point for this hotel. It's a very easy walk to many of the places of interest. From the hotel, turn left and within a few minutes you will get to the Ben Thanh Market. At night the area around here became a very lively night bazaar with lots of interesting food stalls. You have to try the sandwich at the street sandwich stall on the way to the bazaar. It's baquette with mayonnaise, pate and a selection of cold meats, cucumber, chilly peppers, and mint leaves and it was really tasty. From the hotel turn right and within a few minutes you will arrive at the Reunification Palace and the Thao Dien Village where you can watch an interesting water puppet show (all in Vietnamese but nonetheless still very interesting), or watch the locals take latin, ballroom and salsa lessons at the club there (literally dozens of couples all moving the same way in the same direction--quite a bit amusing).

On the last day we had to leave very early to the airport and was surprised to be given a pack of tasty breakfast sandwich, water and fruits to take with us. That was a very nice gesture.

We were very happy with our decision to give this hotel a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
8
13
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

staff were very professional & helpful, the rooms were clean & spacious. housekeeping were great & fast, my room was always immaculate. the hotel location is very central & it is easy to walk to shopping, restaurants & sight seeing. the tour desk staff were always available & very helpful. i would stay at this hotel again without hesitation & i would recommend it very highly to my family & friends, and anyone who is planning a trip to ho chi minh city. as a solo female traveler who does not want to stay at hostels, this hotel provided everything i needed for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel during our trip around Vietnam. We booked a superior room which was okay, however nothing special..The hotel simply need a makeover in order to get better reviews :) On the other hand, the reception staff was so nice and friendly.

Location: Excellent! You are in the middle of everything. The Ben T. market is 2 min away, we could actually se it from our room ( as it had windows). Note that lot of Vietnamese hotels don't have windows.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here for a night either side of my trip around Vietnam. The first night i had a VIP room which was excellent value for a very good room, nice little balcony, And my last night in HCMC i went for a standard room, quite comfortable, both rooms were very clean with a well stocked mini bar. Air con in both was excellent. The standard of the rooms was really very good. Would stay here again with no worries.

Room Tip: Go for a VIP room they are quite plush for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Last year I stayed in Kelly and was satisfied with the room, service, breakfast and location. I came back March 2012 and was not disappointed. The standard room I was given had a window, the room is well kept and tidy, the bedsheets and towel are clean. The hotel is well maintained. it looked like they have redone some of the rooms because the room I had looked newly renovated. Complimentary bottled water and toiletries. The breakfast buffet offers a wide choice of food and never runs out, food is replenished as needed. Will stay again here next time I come to Ho Cho Minh,

Room Tip: Some standard rooms are without windows, so make sure to ask for a room with a window. rate is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

We got the supperior room and it was tiny,the bathroom was not very clean and smelly from the sewer and if you want to have a hot shower you have to wait 5 min,the massage in the hotel was a waste of money and the front desk people was useless we stay for 1 night and got out of there ASAP

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I really have no complaints about my stay for 2 weeks here this time. Rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast is still the same since I last visited, in addition to some traditional Vietnamese food such as banh cuon. The staff are very nice, makes you feel welcome at the hotel. The bus boys have alot of interesting stories to tell, if you have down time you can always have a chat with them. They'll put a chair out for you to sit in front of the hotel and you can people watch.

My room this time had a stand up shower with multiple heads..which is quite interesting and refreshing.

Also the hair salon next to the hotel does an exceptional job on shaving my face and trimming my hair!

Room Tip: Make sure to get deluxe room, they are bigger in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Hotel

Address: 44 Thu Khoa Huan | Dist 1, Viet Nam, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kelly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.