We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location with basic rooms, but great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sen Viet Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sen Viet Hotel to your Saves list
Sen Viet Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Cao Thang Street, | Ward 2, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 409 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient location with basic rooms, but great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a standard style business hotel. Rooms aren't large or very stylish, but are very functional, with clean bathrooms, good AC, fridge, plenty of channels on cable etc. There is a spa on the 2nd floor, which offers reasonable massages - hot stone massage for 90 minutes was $12 USD including tip. The location is very convenient to the attractions in Q1 and the streets surrounding the hotel have plenty of dining and shopping options. The thing that sets this hotel apart is the staff. They were exceptionally pleasant, always greeting us with a smile, very helpful in every way, and seemed truly pleased to have us. We extended our stay from 2 to 4 nights based solely on this factor. Offers quite good value for money also.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank premjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

As this was my first trip to Vietnam I wasn't sure what to expect with regard to the standard of hotels but was pleasantly surprised when our tour bus pulled up outside the Sen Viet Hotel.
Our room was spacious, clean and well appointed with what you would expect from a 3 * hotel. King size bed, flat screen TV, safe, quiet aircon etc.
Breakfast was fine with reasonable choice for both the adventurous and the not so.
Plus sides were the friendly courteous staff and the good free wifi, downside was noisy location and thin dividing walls, my best tip would be to pack a load of the disposable foam earplugs which I always carry. Mind you these were still not enough to block out the amorous efforts of the couple in the adjoining room at 1.30 am, luckily for me and maybe not so luckily for her it only lasted 5 minutes!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stephen0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senviethotel, General Manager at Sen Viet Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Stephen G !

Warmest greeting from Sen Viet Hotel.
Thank you for your value comment. You had contributed the great value for our improving services.
By the way, our hotel had changed new manegerment system and upgrade all our facilities.
We hope to welcome you again at sen viet hotel in the near future and enjoy the best services at our hotel.

Thanks and best regards.

Ngueyn Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Really not much experience by just one night stay in Sen Viet Hotel, but feel a bit disappointed for the first arriving after the reception staff gave us the wrong room type after many many mails confirming them about the room type (because we travelling by 3 men), we do want to have the separate beds for our triple room, later on, the staff just make the new room for us,

I would recommend their massage at least 1 time,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimleang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Sen Viet is a very modern hotel. The rooms are very clean, well appointed and quiet. Bathroom was clean and there were windows. The staff are friendly and the concierge and reception staff speak English very well. The food is good, and breakfast in particular was lovely. The only problem we encountered is that it is right next to a school, which holds a parade via loud speaker every weekday morning at 7am. Overall it's good. If you want to feel like you are in Vietnam stay here, I highly recommend the hotel and will definately stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Faizal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My partner and I were rebooked into the Sen Viet Hotel after our original hotel was suffering from broken air conditioning. We stayed two night in a standard room, tried the breakfast, did not have massage or any other services.

Sen Viet has possibly the worst set of staff I have come across in Vietnam (I have lived here 9 months and was amazed how unfriendly and unhelpful they were). When we arrived there was not even an acknowledgement of us as the receptionist was busy on their personal phone. Over 5 minutes of waiting later we were checked in with no 'please', 'thanks', or even smile from the receptionist. Even using the lift we had to wait for 2 lifts to go past as the hotel maintenance workers and cleaners decided to jump ahead of us and fill up the lift with their supplies, laughing and again on personal phones, not even caring that paying hotel guests had been waiting. I walked in one day and saw house keeping sitting on my bed watching tv and having a bottle of water. I really struggled to see what I was paying for staying here.

We also asked if we could have a late checkout at 5pm as we had a late flight. First time I asked and the receptionist laughed (yep, really) and said 'only if you pay'. Is it really a funny request? I then asked my Vietnamese friend to phone and help me, but while they were on the phone with the reception my friend could hear the receptionist complaining and joking with one of their colleagues about the request. Desperately unprofessional and gives bad impression of the country to visitors.

The hotel is not convenient compared to district 1 hotels. You have a long walk to get to district 1 and most of the sights and attractions (>30 min walk). We had a motorbike with us, which was fortunate otherwise we would have needed a taxi to go anywhere. In the local area is a busy traffic street with a few small shops and karaokes. Right opposite the hotel is a clothes shop which has electronic music playing at full volume from 8am to 11pm each day. I am not a light sleeper but was woken up by the music both days.

You can spot the hotel from the street only from the sleazy-looking 'Massage' signs that they hotel puts up, as they advertise their massage more than their hotel services. The actual room is normal for what you pay. Would never recommend until they sort themselves out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JS_HCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senviethotel, General Manager at Sen Viet Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear our valued guest

Warmest greetings from Sen Viet Hotel

Thank you very much for your great review , our new management is well noted for your best contribution. We will take seriously action for the mentioned point and hope that we can well come you again with excellently service in the near future.

Best regards
Nguyen Vu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegal, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I loved to try local hotels when I'm traveling in order to support the local chains while also still booking the ordinary hotel chains to pertain my membership levels. I booked the Executive Room (triple) Sen Viet Hotel using hotelclub because it has jacuzzi and the room is spacious, 35 sq meters. When I arrived and check-into the room, I was surprised that the room is very small. I noticed it because I have been aware with the usual 30-32 sq meters in four or five stars hotel and I think it would be no more than 25-28 sq meters. When I checked the bathroom, I was surprised that there's no jacuzzi inside the bathroom as promised. I asked to the reception and she told me that the executive room is full because they only have two rooms on the executive and they downgraded us to Premium Deluxe WITHOUT INFORMING US when we check-in. The reception said that they would inform the hotelclub about the modification of the booking. The floor in the room is slippery and not good as the website.

Another disappointment that I experienced is I've already e-mailed the hotel manager about the open bus ticket to Phan Thiet and the manager replied in e-mail that would costs 8-10 USD. I got 7.21 USD from online booking but I prefer to use hotel's service in favor of my goodwill to support the hotel that I stayed. Unfortunately, when I asked to the reception, she said that the open bus ticket is 14 USD/person. I showed to her the e-mail from her manager that mentioned 8-10 USD and she said you cannot. Finally, I ended up looking around to the whole HCMC city in the midnight for open bus ticket to Phan Thiet the next morning !!! After two hours I got 110,000 VND/person to Phan Thiet.

When I was checked out, I chose another girl to the reception since I didn't want to remind myself for the whole unpleasant things on the previous night. But the another reception staff told me that I used the extra bed so I would be charged of it. WHAT??? Well, after they dishonored my booking and now they are trying to charge me for what I've already paid for. I told to her that my booking is for three person and actually my original booking is Executive and Premium Deluxe. She said that she's sorry and would like to negotiate to the hotelclub and refund the differences. Well, I think that's not the case. Even if they would refund all the money that I've paid, it won't give our unpleasant night back.

The only good thing in this hotel is the staff at the restaurant. We didn't eat pork, and she inform us which items that contain pork. When my father wrongly taken the food which contain pork, she said that she would cook fish for him. In 10 minutes, she comes again with the mackerel fish for my father. What a pleasant service, extremely different with the staffs in the receptions.

My tips would be: don't book executive room since there's a possibility and don't book any tickets or tour from the hotel since the price would be unreasonable.

Room Tip: Don't book the executive nor the suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank virtualaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel is a great value and has a great location. Not only this, but also the breakfast was good, the staff was nice, and the services were fantatic. Very nice computers in the lobby, comfortable beds. The first morning, we woke to a loud voice on an intercom but then found out it is played every morning throughout the whole city. A very special experience.

Room Tip: I would recomend getting the room at asiarooms.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh Cit...
#161 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Hotel
Blue Diamond Hotel
#96 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#35 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crown Diamond Hotel
Crown Diamond Hotel
#105 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#6 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#32 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sen Viet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sen Viet Hotel

Address: 33 Cao Thang Street, | Ward 2, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 409 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sen Viet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SenViet Hotel has been awarded with a Three Star rating. The Hotel is located in the centre of Ho chi minh City, 33 Cao Thang, District 3. The hotel has 90 rooms; all have been equipped with modern and luxurious facilities. The oriental design style is ensured to bring you a comfortable and welcoming feeling. All the rooms have a timber floor and large windows with City Skyline views.At the Hotel you can find all tourist information in your room, and in the Hotel itself you will find a gymnasium, massage service and spa. We also provide a professional conference room with a capacity for 80-300 people. We assure you that you will be enthusiastically served by our friendly and experienced staff.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sen Viet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing