We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Diamond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 - 50 Thu Khoa Huan, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 391 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Mackay Qld
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Nice little boutique hotel in District 1 Saigon. Only 5 minutes from Ben Thanh Markets, not far from the Renunification Palace.

Staff friendly throughout my stay, helped me to organise a tour and gave me a city map with a few walking suggestions.

My room was very small, it was what I ordered, if you like a view, order a larger room, as the small rooms dont have windows.

Breakfast has a varied selection and very fresh.
I really enjoyed my time in HCMC, and the Blue Diamond didnt let me down. Comfortable beds, friendly staff, next door on both sides of the hotel you can get a foot massage for around $7. Great after a long day of walking around the city.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room, no windows in the small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    259
    99
    25
    11
See reviews for
98
219
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

our deluxe room was spacious, hardwood floors were nice, bed was comfy. Bathroom was roomy, but it seemed that the floors didn't dry well even several hours after we showered. One thing was there was a damp smell when we first arrived, but after turning on the air con it disappeared. The power went out for 30 minutes early one day. Those are a few downsides, dont let it turn you away because overall we were very comfortable in our room and enjoyed our stay very much. Breakfast was fantastic, lots of authentic viet food that take time to make, so I really enjoyed their selection. They also had western dishes as well. Staff was very helpful. Location excellent. Taxi from airport was 140,000. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

The room we had, facing the front street, was pretty massive, even by North American standards. The Blue Diamond is clean and modern, even the lobby is air conditioned (never underrate instantaneous relief from the oppressive heat of Saigon) and there were a good variety of items at the breakfast buffet. The location is convenient as well - just down the road from Ben Thanh market. One caveat: it's about a fifteen minute walk to the posh area (Rex hotel, Gucci and Chanel) which also happens to be where most of the Western restaurants are; fifteen minutes ends up feeling a lot longer when it's forty degrees. After over a week of just Vietnamese food we were craving something different, and there aren't really any non-Vietnamese restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Checked out of the premium deluxe room yesterday.

Pros:
Bathroom - Love the spacious and modern bathroom. Seems that there was careful consideration put in the layout of the bathroom and positioning of the accessories for the easy convenience of guests.

Internet Access - Free wifi available in the rooms.

Location - Landmarks, shopping centres, nice restaurants all within walking distance

Breakfast venue - Swanky restaurant. Not quite thrilled by the spread though, then again could be just a matter of personal preference. Only omelettes available in the buffet section, you've to order your scramble and sunny side up at the 'cashier' counter.

Staff - Friendly, helpful and responsive pple!

Con:
Hot shower wasn't consistent. Either became too hot or cold and had to keep adjusting the tap.


Overall a lovely peaceful haven from the chaotic streets.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

What a great value hotel!
We stayed here only 1 night before we went to Mekong Delta and then stayed in a 5 star hotel for a few nights. I was worried about staying in a 3 star hotel in Ho Chi Minh City as I thought it might not be of a very good standard - I needn't have worried. I thought it was much more like a 4 star hotel.

The room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. There was free wireless internet, excellent buffet breakfast included and very friendly staff. It is in a great location in district 1, walking distance to most things you would want to see.

We would definately recommend anyone to stay here at such great value. The only thing it needs is a pool as Ho Chi Minh is VERY hot! Other than that, it has everything you need!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night during our trip to SE Asia.

We booked the cheapest room, which means no view, or even window, to speak of. Also the room was rather small, albeit clean and pretty nicely decorated. Facilities were pretty standard as such, WiFi everywhere, TV, coffee facilicities, etc.

The location of the hotel is pretty good, just on the edge of District 1, so most of the sights are within walking distance. It may be due to us not liking HCMC much, but we felt the staff wasn't quite as extremely attentative as elsewhere in Vietnam.

For instance, We booked a tour to the Cu Chi tunnels through the hotel reception but were told that we'd have to get a taxi in addition to paying for the tour as they wouldn't come to pick us up from the hotel, everywhere else this wasn't the case.

The breakfest buffet included in the price was really rather good, plenty of choice and tasty, also the restaurant and lounge are stylishly decorated, albeit rather empty.

Overall it was pretty good value for money, but we'd probably try a different hotel next time we'd go to HCMC

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I stayed here based on reviews and was not disappointed. The staff were polite and friendly, the hotel clean and clean smelling, modern amenities, breakfast selection adequate. Could not fault this place. Someone mentioned threadbare towels but we had nice fluffy towels. Good central location near Ben Thanh markets.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.6 mi away
Blue Diamond Signature Hotel
Blue Diamond Signature Hotel
#91 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#62 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
#50 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#28 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#185 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lan Lan Hotel 1
Lan Lan Hotel 1
#58 of 391 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Diamond Hotel

Address: 48 - 50 Thu Khoa Huan, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 391 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Ho Chi Minh City has to offer with Blue Diamond Hotel as a base. This 3-star property offers 84 well-furnished rooms and attentive service. Each guestroom is tastefully appointed with air conditioning, bathrobes, desk, hair dryer, in room safe, television. This Ho Chi Minh City accommodation features on-site facilities such as room service 24hr, elevator, bar/pub, laundry service/dry cleaning, meeting facilities, restaurant, safety deposit boxes. Hotel's guests can experience on-site latest leisure and sports facilities such as massage. With elegant facilities and hospitality, guests at this hotel will surely have an impressive stay. Make your reservation at the Blue Diamond Hotel Ho Chi Minh City now by selecting your chosen dates of stay and submitting our secure online booking form. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Blue Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.