We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuc Gach Quan

Cuc Gach Quan
10 Dang Tat | Ward Tan Dinh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0084838480144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 1,603 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Noodle, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Authentic and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were taken to Cuc Gach Quan by our friend a Viet Kieu. He promised food that his mother cooked when he was a child. It was delicious. The caramelised fish outstanding, as was the courgette flower dish. Beef and pork dishes, and the Vietnamese rolls excellent. Freshly made fruit juices, try the pomelo. Good wine list too. The restored building is lovely. Make sure you come to this address as there are other restaurants similarily named nearby.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    371
    120
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

a great setting in what is a quiet and colonial style building. The service is great and the menu is huge. 5 dishes between 2 people i splenty and the food is spectacular. So much flavour and very well prepared...all fresh ingredients. Good selection of wine too. Expect to pay usd20 per ahead but def worth it for this great meal

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor Right Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It pays to do your Trip Advisor restaurant research before travelling to Asia, I listed all the restaurants in each place we would be staying, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. We ate in all 11 restaurants I had listed, all except 1 was exceptional, at the top was Cuc Gach Quan 10 Dang Tat District 1. We were staying at the Caravelle in Ho Chi Minh and even the food and beverage manager there said that it was his favorite restaurant. It didn't disappoint, we had vegetable spring rolls followed by fried Sea Bass covered with a passionfruit sauce. Fried rice with shrimp and egg topped it off. The service was attentive and the beer cold. We ate at the old house which arriving in the dark can be a little off-putting. I wish we had this restaurant back in Melbourne, it is also cheap. We would rightly give this little restaurant top marks for excellence.
Russell and Kerryn Barnes Australia

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ordered 7 different dishes for dinner - caramel fish, eggrolls, fried tofu,dish that has meat and wrap in some sort of herbs, chicken, pork wrapped in rice paper, and a veggie dish. I have the picture of all the food together but forgot all of the names. The food was very good. The decor is unique. Make sure you check out the upstairs. It has a 4 poster bed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Authentic and delicious Vietnamese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Huge menu with a very do it your way style. Cool ambience. Good service. Best to do family style. Be forewarned, no forks and knives and limited boneless chicken options. Family style is ideal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuc Gach Quan also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cuc Gach Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuc Gach Quan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.