We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuc Gach Quan

Cuc Gach Quan
9, 10 Dang Tat | Ward Tan Dinh, Ho Chi Minh City District 1, Vietnam
0084838480144
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 1,239 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

a great setting in what is a quiet and colonial style building. The service is great and the menu is huge. 5 dishes between 2 people i splenty and the food is spectacular. So much flavour and very well prepared...all fresh ingredients. Good selection of wine too. Expect to pay usd20 per ahead but def worth it for this great meal

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    556
    240
    75
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor Right Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

It pays to do your Trip Advisor restaurant research before travelling to Asia, I listed all the restaurants in each place we would be staying, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam. We ate in all 11 restaurants I had listed, all except 1 was exceptional, at the top was Cuc Gach Quan 10 Dang Tat District 1. We were staying at the Caravelle in Ho Chi Minh and even the food and beverage manager there said that it was his favorite restaurant. It didn't disappoint, we had vegetable spring rolls followed by fried Sea Bass covered with a passionfruit sauce. Fried rice with shrimp and egg topped it off. The service was attentive and the beer cold. We ate at the old house which arriving in the dark can be a little off-putting. I wish we had this restaurant back in Melbourne, it is also cheap. We would rightly give this little restaurant top marks for excellence.
Russell and Kerryn Barnes Australia

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ordered 7 different dishes for dinner - caramel fish, eggrolls, fried tofu,dish that has meat and wrap in some sort of herbs, chicken, pork wrapped in rice paper, and a veggie dish. I have the picture of all the food together but forgot all of the names. The food was very good. The decor is unique. Make sure you check out the upstairs. It has a 4 poster bed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Authentic and delicious Vietnamese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Huge menu with a very do it your way style. Cool ambience. Good service. Best to do family style. Be forewarned, no forks and knives and limited boneless chicken options. Family style is ideal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good place good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

pretty trendy setup for Vietnam and good food too. lots of locals dining. Menu a bit overwhelming as you can mix and match what you order,so the waiter helped us order and that was very good , a few things we would not have tried .
food was good local Vietnamese. only compliant would be that the food all came out really fast, all in one hit , which did seem a bit strange, as just was too much all at once

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuc Gach Quan also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cuc Gach Quan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuc Gach Quan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.