We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness at it's best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family Inn Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Family Inn Saigon to your Saves list
Family Inn Saigon
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   84A Bui Thi Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 678 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Frederick, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendliness at it's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff here go out of there way to ensure you are well taken care of and satisfied. We got a room without a window, so asked to be moved. They took care of it immediately.
The location is excellent. You can walk all over district 1 from here. If you don't want to walk taxi's are readily available.
The beds and pillows are comfortable. The AC works ok. Both hot and cold water works in the bath.
Breakfast is provided. It is very good. We were also satisfied with the dinners we had here one evening.
Because Saigon is so very hot, we really missed having a pool. Most of the motels do allow you to use their pools for a fee which we did one afternoon.
The staff who work here are #1. Each and every one of them had excellent customer service skills, great attitudes and spoke decent English.
The only shortcoming is there is only one small elevator serving 12 floors. This was a problem at times. BUT We would use this motel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    129
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
77
35
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I loved the bed! Soft! And the front desk staff were lovely! There's where my love ended!

There are precarious stairs to the front door with no handrail; the WiFi didn't work in our room - just said "out of range" on the 9th floor; the breakfast was disgusting, all 3 mornings I had to ask for coffee, forks, milk, and fruit, the dining room staff were unfriendly and unhelpful and there were ants crawling all over the walls and some tables; our room looked directly into the building next door - I mean maybe 3 feet between windows and we could see other people, and some rooms actually don't have windows! From start to finish it was a shambles really... What a sad way to leave Saigon.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My first time in Saigon, the Family Inn is an affordable hotel with everything you need close to all the sights. There is an excellent restaurant on the 12th floor with views of the city. Breakfast is served here also. A tour desk in the lobby opens late for bookings as I found out due to my late arrival and so was able to book 2 tours for the following days. I was part of an Intrepid tour who also use this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here at the end of a two week tour in Vietnam.

Steps leading up to the entrance made getting in slightly more challenging to get in, and the lift was very small, so getting up and down floors at busy times was frustrating.

That said, the rooms were nice, beds comfortable, good sized bathrooms with good showers plus bath and nice products. The type of rooms most of our group were all windowless. That does guarantee a lack of noise from the street, but I find it disconcerting not being able to see outside, it feels like a cell and detracts from the rooms general comfort.

Breakfast was pretty nice with a good selection of western and Asian food, staff were reasonably friendly and the public areas were quite well presented.

Location wise, it wasn't too far to walk to the market area and shopping. It was almost in the area we were warned wasn't a good idea to stray into, but felt safe enough. There is a busy road at the end of the street which is a challenge to cross, but a nice park is positioned there if you wanted to find a bit of calm.

Nice enough hotel, not amazing, but would recommend if the price is right.

Room Tip: ask for a window if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Location is very good for nightlife.
Rooms are big, equipped with all necessary things, comfortable beds. Furniture, bathrooms and bedlinen are a little bit tired.

Breakfast is OK and panorama is lively.
Free wifi very good over the entire hotel.

Friendly and helpfully staff.

One thing: the staff from the hotel recommended us a traditional Vietnamese restaurant, I think the same owner of the hotel. The restaurant is far away, you have to go by taxi. It is expensive and the food was not very good, especially the duck which was very tough, impossible to eat it. So, we had the most expensive and worst dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our first trip to Viet Nam and the hotel was exactly as advertised. Front office was extremely helpful answering our many questions and even made calls for us to find out the time of Catholic church services. Clean room, AC works only when the room key is inserted, but it worked perfectly. Ate dinner at hotel all three nights and excellent food. I would highly recommend this hotel. Walked to the Palace, Water Puppet Show, and War Remnants Museum. Only down side was there was only one elevator and had to wait at times. Free internet in the lobby, which was not very busy when we used it. Spa next door was good as well.

Room Tip: We were several floors up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. Staff were very pleasant, and considerate, always ensured that when we stepped out our bags were secured and we were ok. Walking distance from everything. They were very helpful with taxi's. Room was clean and well air conditioned. Internet was available in the foyer however the wifi in the rooms dropped in and out constantly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Family Inn S, Guest Relations Manager at Family Inn Saigon, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with FAMILY INN SAIGON and taking thetime to share your valuable experience online.

We greatly appreciate your honest comments regarding to the hotel, its products and serivices that you have received as our guest. Your review on the site is not only make our team feel positively great,but inspire us to improve ourselves better to provide guests the most satisfactory.

We are thankful that you did have a wonderful time in Vietnam and FAMILY INN SAIGON.

As new year is coming, on behalf of the staffs, we wish a good health,happiness and success and a wonderful time with your friends and family at this holiday season.

We look forward to welcoming you again at FAMILY INN SAIGON.

Merry Xmas and Happy New Year !

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Family Inn Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Inn Saigon

Address: 84A Bui Thi Xuan Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Family Inn Saigon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Family Inn Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Inn Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Inn Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.