We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Ruby Park View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Asian Ruby Park View Hotel to your Saves list
Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Le Lai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Asian Ruby 3 Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 379 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Handy location and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I was a bit concerned when we arrived at Asia Ruby 3 as we thought we were booked in at another in this chain. We had been upgraded to a room overlooking the park, which was appreciated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My initial concerns were allayed when we walked around for the first time and I realised just how central the location was. We were able to walk anywhere and everywhere we wanted, even though there are plenty of taxis available. We found the breakfasts monotonous as we stayed for about a week, but there are so many cafes close by it was not difficult to find an alternative every so often. The housekeeping staff do a great job!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    97
    48
    11
    13
See reviews for
20
72
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise during our trip to Viet Nam. The hotel is well appointed, excellent food and a wide variety of choices, and a wonderful breakfast buffet. And it is reasonably well situated near various attractions. We enjoyed it and found it a bit of a safe haven in an otherwise hurly burly city... Cant go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We reached Ho Chi Min and checked-in to Asian ruby 3 Hotel on 9 January 2013 for one night. The staff at the reception were very helpful and assisted us in facilating our travel arrangement. This includes assisting in our booking for Cu Chi Tunnel trip, airport transfer to changing money into Dong and answering any enquires that we had.

We had booked a superior room and we really enjoyed it. The room that we stayed offered a great view and we find it clean and spacious. We also enjoyed our breakfast which offers a buffet selection.

One aspect would be the location. it does requires abit of walking to locations like Ben Thiam market, unification palace, etc. But this allow us to explore more of the lovely HCM city.

All in all, i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If don't mind abit of noise, choosing a room on the higher floor with window offers a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent location, nice spacious and newly renovated rooms, very friendly staff, free stable wifi connection. Very good value for money, will definitively stay here again if i go back to ho chi minh. Attractions are within walking distance, taxi fare from airport should not be more than 150 000 dong max.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was with a tour group--most people here seemed to be. The food was probably the best we've had in two weeks of SE Asia. Hot and fresh. Breakfast was the standard buffet. Rooms are small but lovely. Great A/C. Bring earplugs and a sound machine to block street noise. Ten million people and 5.7 million small motorcycles! Lovely city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Asia Ruby was our first experience of a hotel in Vietnam. We got a taxi from the airport for $10 USD and he got us to the hotel, no problems.
We stayed there for a total of five nights in December / January 2013 with our two children aged 10 and 13. We booked (through expedia.com.au) two separate rooms a double and a twin, with a connecting door. Cost was $97 AUD per night for the two rooms.

The hotel is situated across the road from a huge park, the 23rd September Park. When we stayed there it was full of activity for the Christmas to New Year period. Market stalls, eating places, entertainment etc. It was a bit noisy but the noise stopped at 10pm. Unless you are travelling at Christmas / New year, this probably won't worry you.

Staff were friendly and courteous.

The hotel laundry was a bit expensive (eg $1 per shirt, $2 trousers) so we found a laundry a couple of doors away from the hotel that did it for us for 25000VND per kilo (and in fact there were a couple of more laundries in the vicinity).

The rooms were nice, and it was great to be able to have a connecting family room. Some of the finish, particularly in the bathroom, left a bit to be desired (eg badly measured/cut tiles with the gap filled with filler, loose fittings). We also had problems with a tap that wouldn't turn off (not just dripping, full-on running), which they fixed on the first night, but the problem recurred a couple of times. This didn't have a major impact on our stay, it just took the shine off what appeared initially to be a well built and decorated room.

There were the usual complimentary bottles of water, and also an electric jug and mugs for coffee tea etc, but there was no coffee or tea to put in them!

The hotel was in easy walking distance of most of the points we wanted to see in Ho Chi Minh City - markets, Reunification Palace, War Remnants Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, shopping areas etc. There are also many ATMs close by but beware that they charge anything from $1 to $4 per withdrawal. HSBC I think was the most expensive one we found.

Breakfast was very nice and plentiful with a selection of Asian and western dishes. The coffee was hot but the juices were only just cool (unchilled or at least not continually chilled).

The hotel had free wi-fi, with a strong signal to the foyer and rooms.

We went on a day tour to the Cu Chi Tunnels and Cau Dai temple, arranged through the hotel. [BTW, when on the bus the tour guide asked us (and several others on the list) to pay the 90000VND admission to the tunnels to him. I am not sure if this was a scam or not but I would imagine that anyone on the bus would have paid for the entire tour which included admission. We told him that we had paid for the tour at the hotel and everything was fine].

It was a nice hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed one night at Asian Ruby 3 and the room was nice and clean. But be careful when you reserve since even if you reserve a double rooms it doesn't come automatically for 2 persons... I had the bad surprised whe I arrived and I had to pay more money for my wife to stay with me.
For the rest it was good and breakfast too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asian Ruby Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Ruby Park View Hotel

Address: 100 Le Lai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Asian Ruby 3 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 379 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Ruby Park View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Asian Ruby Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Ruby Park View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.