We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asian Ruby Park View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Asian Ruby Park View Hotel to your Saves list
Asian Ruby Park View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Le Lai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Asian Ruby 3 Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 392 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
241 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Small hotel with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was with a tour group--most people here seemed to be. The food was probably the best we've had in two weeks of SE Asia. Hot and fresh. Breakfast was the standard buffet. Rooms are small but lovely. Great A/C. Bring earplugs and a sound machine to block street noise. Ten million people and 5.7 million small motorcycles! Lovely city

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    106
    56
    14
    15
See reviews for
22
80
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Asia Ruby was our first experience of a hotel in Vietnam. We got a taxi from the airport for $10 USD and he got us to the hotel, no problems.
We stayed there for a total of five nights in December / January 2013 with our two children aged 10 and 13. We booked (through expedia.com.au) two separate rooms a double and a twin, with a connecting door. Cost was $97 AUD per night for the two rooms.

The hotel is situated across the road from a huge park, the 23rd September Park. When we stayed there it was full of activity for the Christmas to New Year period. Market stalls, eating places, entertainment etc. It was a bit noisy but the noise stopped at 10pm. Unless you are travelling at Christmas / New year, this probably won't worry you.

Staff were friendly and courteous.

The hotel laundry was a bit expensive (eg $1 per shirt, $2 trousers) so we found a laundry a couple of doors away from the hotel that did it for us for 25000VND per kilo (and in fact there were a couple of more laundries in the vicinity).

The rooms were nice, and it was great to be able to have a connecting family room. Some of the finish, particularly in the bathroom, left a bit to be desired (eg badly measured/cut tiles with the gap filled with filler, loose fittings). We also had problems with a tap that wouldn't turn off (not just dripping, full-on running), which they fixed on the first night, but the problem recurred a couple of times. This didn't have a major impact on our stay, it just took the shine off what appeared initially to be a well built and decorated room.

There were the usual complimentary bottles of water, and also an electric jug and mugs for coffee tea etc, but there was no coffee or tea to put in them!

The hotel was in easy walking distance of most of the points we wanted to see in Ho Chi Minh City - markets, Reunification Palace, War Remnants Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, shopping areas etc. There are also many ATMs close by but beware that they charge anything from $1 to $4 per withdrawal. HSBC I think was the most expensive one we found.

Breakfast was very nice and plentiful with a selection of Asian and western dishes. The coffee was hot but the juices were only just cool (unchilled or at least not continually chilled).

The hotel had free wi-fi, with a strong signal to the foyer and rooms.

We went on a day tour to the Cu Chi Tunnels and Cau Dai temple, arranged through the hotel. [BTW, when on the bus the tour guide asked us (and several others on the list) to pay the 90000VND admission to the tunnels to him. I am not sure if this was a scam or not but I would imagine that anyone on the bus would have paid for the entire tour which included admission. We told him that we had paid for the tour at the hotel and everything was fine].

It was a nice hotel and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed one night at Asian Ruby 3 and the room was nice and clean. But be careful when you reserve since even if you reserve a double rooms it doesn't come automatically for 2 persons... I had the bad surprised whe I arrived and I had to pay more money for my wife to stay with me.
For the rest it was good and breakfast too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel is incredibly nice compared to other hotels in the vicinity. We booked a luxury room and it really was luxury. Very modern and up to date and very clean. Breakfast in the morning was very good and fresh with a wide variety of food. The location is incredible and would definitely recommend staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I got a pretty cheap deal on this hotel, my expectations weren't that high... how wrong!
I arrived early in the day, was able to access a room immediately. Service was prompt and friendly, the staff here helped regarding an incident which I had had in Hanoi (theft) where they really did go the extra mile. Rooms were clean, serene decor, in room safes (huge plus+), nice selection toiletries. Breakfast buffet was sufficient and catered for all nationalities. Great location for exploring the city. Free internet access in the lobby. Hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights when visiting HCMC. I found the Hotel to be of a pretty good standard, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice. The Hotel is situated in a very good location close to everything you need. The rooms are nice and comfy with all the amenities you would expect. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because we were on a tour. I would not have picked it since it is not in a particularly great area, the room was extremely small (had to find a place for our two bags) and the bathroom had a sewage odor. The breakfast was minimal. Its only saving grace was the friendliness of the staff and the fairly good WiFi throughout.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#137 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
#123 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
Alagon City Point Hotel & Spa
#130 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Hotel Saigon
Aston Hotel Saigon
#131 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blue Diamond Signature Hotel
Blue Diamond Signature Hotel
#89 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Epoch Hotel
New Epoch Hotel
#168 of 392 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Ruby Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Ruby Park View Hotel

Address: 100 Le Lai Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Asian Ruby 3 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 392 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Ruby Park View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Asian Ruby Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asian Ruby Park View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.