We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mekong cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SinhBalo Adventure

SinhBalo Adventure
283/20 Pham Ngu Lao Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
++84 8 38376766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 293 Activities in Ho Chi Minh City
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get out of the city to discover the Mekong Delta on a bicycle tour.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mekong cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went on a 2 day, 1 night Mekong cruise with homestay - best experience of 3 week trip in Vietnam. We were picked up from our hotel in a van with air conditioning AND seatbelts! Our guide Xuan was fantastic, incredibly friendly and full of information about local food and the area. This tour included the opportunity to try lots of delicious food (especially tropical fruits), and to learn to cook some local specialties. The homestay was simple but very clean with a nice outdoor eating area and pretty surroundings and the family we stayed with were lovely as were the people we met on the boats. Cruising down the Mekong was a definite highlight, as were the floating markets. I enjoyed every moment of this trip and would highly recommend SinhBalo and especially our guide Xuan Le who was so much fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    16
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mekong Delta experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Limited time in HCMC but heard we had to go to the Mekong delta. Found lonely planet & trip advisor reviews to use sinhbalo. So glad we did. Email responsiveness & service was great. Set up tour for 2 to mekong delta / Cai Be but they found a 3rd tourist and lowered our price. Picked us up promptly at our hotel in A/C van and greeted by our lovely guide "Lot." She was personable, knowledgeable and professional sharing interesting stories and facts while making us feel welcome. She made sure to answer all our questions and that we were having a great time. Despite the heat, enjoyed the puffed rice & coconut candy workshops, cruising the Mekong, seeing floating market boats, and taking canal small boat tour. Experience was worth it. Thank you, Lot & Sinhbalo!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joetsu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Mekong Cycle Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just returned from SinhBalo's 3-day Mekong cycle tour. It was great.

The tour was extremely well organised and the itinerary was great. We especially enjoyed the tea party in the morning on the first day and cruising the canals in a sampan. Biking was good fun and the breaks were brilliant. We visited a coconut candy factory, tried snake wine, a palm sugar drink and battered bananas. Opted for the homestay on the second night and enjoyed it. Didn't have too much interaction but the cooking class was fun and it was much more interesting than just staying in a hotel. Also, our guide, Ut, was awesome. A genuinely nice and friendly guy who was very informative. Thanks Ut! The only downside was that they kept serving us way to much food!

With so many tour operators offering trips to the Mekong, we found it pretty difficult to choose who to go with. I was especially worried about some disappointing experiences which were cropping up in reviews of other tour operators. SinhBalo however were great. I whole-heatedly recommend them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good travel agency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went on five day trip to the Mekong Delta with two children, age 3 and 7. We were pricked up at our hotel in a very nice minivan. Our guide Nghi, was super. He was very good at English and we learned a lot about Vietnam, culture, history, cooking, and fruits and vegetables. It was a very good planed itinirary with a good mixture of activitys. The accomendations were good, with a lot of space for a family.

One night was spent at a homestay, BaDuc home, and that was a highlight with a very nice roundtrip in a marvellous garden, filled with fruit trees and other plants and in the surronding areas. The dinner in the evening on the patio was also outstanding.

We went on a lot of different boats and saw a lot of floating markets, we went to a crocodilefarm,to a bird sanctuary and saw some pagodas in different citys. We ate a lot of good food, some that we had never eaten before. All in all it was a very, very good tour and we would definately use SinhBalo again and then we hope we get Nghi as our guide.

Our 7 year old daughter uses a wheelchair for longer distances but can walk shorter distances. As a former soldier Nghi was the Ohly guide seeing this trip possible for us. The Driver also enertained our 3 year old son a lot. We are very grateful for all their efforts and we recommend SinhBalo very highly and especially our guide Mr Le Van Nghi.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“really great tour operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were looking for a day tour to the "cu chi" tunnels and found "Sinhbalo" in a small courtyard area at 283/20 Pham Ngu Lao. They were really helpful and spoke great English. They weren't pushy like many others, but very professional and matter of fact and friendly.
We booked a day trip to the cu chi tunnels and since there were already 3 people booked for that day we got a better price than if just 2.
We had a brilliant day with our guide, who was himself an ex-soldier and able to talk from first hand experience. Thankyou! Sinhbalo, definitely recommend you!!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SinhBalo Adventure also viewed

 

Been to SinhBalo Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SinhBalo Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.