We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hostel in HCMC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ngoc Thao Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ngoc Thao Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse
241/4 PhamNguLao.st, PhamNguLao.Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Hostel in HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had 3 nights here, went away on a trip, and came back for 1 more night before leaving Vietnam for home. Couldn't have wished for more.

I stayed in a private double room (201) with ensuite bathroom. Clean, spacious, great a/c and fan, wifi, tv and mini-fridge. Cleaned daily and fresh towels provided.

Nice common area on the ground floor (shoes/flip flops left at the front door, never went missing!) with seating, library with plenty of guide books, internet computers. Free tea/coffee and drinking water.

I booked a 2 day/1 night Mekong Delta tour and a 1 day Cu Chi Tunnels trip through the hostel (I think the tour company was TNK Travel). Both did exactly what I wanted and were excellent value.

Airport pick-up and drop-off worked perfectly. Maybe a touch pricier than a standard cab but worth it for peace of mind.

Location is superb. Up alley 241 off Pham Ngu Lao at the heart of the backpacker district. The alleyway is really interesting being full of locals and their small businesses. Completely safe. The alley leads out to busy streets lined with bars, shops, restaurants and tour offices.

I'll finish on the biggest positive - the staff. The friendliest and most helpful people you could ever wish to come across. Its family run (and lived in) and you can see how hard they work but they're always smiling and asking how you are. No hard sell, just good advice.

If I'm back in HCMC I will definitely be back to Ngoc Thao!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    87
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
64
71
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at ngoc thao in a double room. The room was on the small side, but contained all the necessary objects. The staff is very friendly and we decided to book two tours. Both tours were a bit touristy, but overall fun and very cheap.

We enjoyed our stay at ngoc thao and would recommend it to others.
Tip: If you go by your own transportation than look at the street numers on the big tourist street Pham Ngu Lao and go in the small alley near 241. At first it looks a bit shady, but it is a very safe and crowded alley.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Ngoc Thao GuestHouse for 3 nights. The staff were really helpful and friendly, family like. The room was incredibly clean. The Wifi was good also. Coffee and milk chocolate free for all day. It was good, it was fun.

The location is not too far from the main street. There are 3 computers in the lobby and it was really convenient since there weren't that many room in the guesthouse.

Thank you so much for giving us a great time.

PS: The baby is sooo cute ^^

Room Tip: the twin room is really nice and has a good wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights as our previous accommodation didn't have room for us. Glad we did as it was great value and the service was excellent.

Our double room was nice and clean. Comfortable beds (well, hard, but that's standard for SE Asia). Great facilities including a minibar with drinks cheaper than nearby convenience stores. We had no problems getting wifi in the room despite being on the top floor. There were also computers downstairs free for guest use. No lift, which was the one slight downside, as we did have to carry our backpacks up the stairs to the 5th storey, but that was okay by us; something to be aware of if this would be an issue for you.

While the guesthouse is down an alleyway, we always felt perfectly safe; in fact, we felt safer than we did on the main roads, particularly as there weren't any touts. We had no street noise in our room. In our previous accommodation just down the road we were also on the 5th floor and found it very loud and noisy, so this was a big plus for us.

The major reason we chose this place from the reviews was that people spoke highly of the staff, and we were not disappointed. They were always smiling and happy to help. While the guesthouse doesn't supply breakfast, they did give a great recommendation for a nearby pho place. We had our laundry done through the guesthouse and it all came back to us clean and dry.

Overall, we can recommend this guesthouse as being great value. Book in advance if you can; we booked one day in advance and they only had the one room available, so we got lucky.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The guesthouse is situated on a good spot (a nice little alley) from which you can discover the city. The family who runs it is very very helpful and speaks very well English. The rooms are very clean and the beds are great! There is ac and a fan. In the lobby three computers with fast internet. We stayed three nights here and I would recommend it everyone going HCMC!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Room was a bit warm, think aircon was not really working and there was plaster leaking from the 5th floor into room 403 which landed straight on my bed.
Other than that I had a very good stay here. Met loads of friendly travelers.
The communal area is small but good enough for a quick chat. Very close to all the nice bars etc. And still very quiet at night.
Can recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid 403-2b, leaking above the bed, try to take a low level floor since there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalat, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This guesthouse is one of the best guesthouses I stayed in during my 3 month trip.
The rooms were clean and smelled fresh every day. No complaints about that, but I think there are more guesthouses that provide good rooms.
What made the difference for me was the very pleasant "common area" where you could hang out. There are 3 computers with internet free to use. There is tea/coffee/chocolate milk which you can drink.
And above all the very friendly and good-english speaking staff makes you really feel home.
They are very helpful and can provide you with information on almost everything.
Next time I will definitely come back here!
They are pretty full most of the time, so it pays to make a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ngoc Thao Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Thao Guesthouse

Address: 241/4 PhamNguLao.st, PhamNguLao.Ward | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 679 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOCTHAO Guesthouse was opened in Nowember 2006. It is friendly, bright, clean and hospitable family run.Located in a quiet alley off Pham Ngu Lao street, in the heart of Backpacker area in District 1.We have different kinds of room according to your budget. Every room has air conditioning, ceiling fan, double bed and cable TV with more than 70 channels. Most of the room have a fridge. Our rooms are cleaned and fresh towels is provided daily.Breakfast is included in the price bettwen 6:30 and 10:00 daily. In addition we provide free internet and WiFi in every room is also provided fast internet with cable personal computer.Besides, we're ready to provide many services such as pick up and drop off at the airport by taxi, information about the city and tour, money exchange, laundry, baggage store.Pick up service!Tours desk!We are looking forward to serving you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ngoc Thao Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngoc Thao Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngoc Thao Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.