We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water puppet show at Thao Dien Village

Water puppet show at Thao Dien Village
195 Nguyen Van Huong | Thao Dien Ward, District 2, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam
+84 8 37446457
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 293 Activities in Ho Chi Minh City
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come and enjoy Vietnamese food at Ngon restaurant Thao Dien Village, visitors can entertain themselves with water puppet show here. The show upholds the culture, the traditions of this country and is acted like normal human beings by the well-trained artists. It highlights the creative bent of mind of the inhabitants of the city. Weekly one show is held from 19:30 to 20:00 every Saturday at Ngon restaurant in Thao Dien Village.
Hanoi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very traditional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed it but found it difficult to follow the storyline. We would have liked to have seen how the musical instruments worked and how they made the puppets work.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    100
    51
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carns
1 review
“Puppet show and dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Show lasts 30 mins - very clever. 30 mins long enough. Dinner food was great very nice food staff welcoming to my 18 month old staff were very accommodating good night out for family

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went to have dinner at Ngon restaurant in Ho Chi Minh City, and we also had the pleasure to enjoy their weekly water puppet show. This show is highly entertaining, but it also reflects Vietnamese culture and history. Even though it`s not translated, the humor can still come across, and the realism of the show is very impressive. I believe this is a must see for everyone visiting this area because it`s a great way to spend your time, have a nice dinner, and enjoy a fun, yet educational show. So do yourself a favor and check it out!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A truly cultural experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I lived it so much, I'll go back to see the show over and over again. The story telling was fantastic, and it's very easy to get a ticket. Nip rebooking required. We walked there and bought a ticket just before the show. I laughed so much it was a really good evening out and most enjoyable. The children especially will love this but so will everyone. It's for all aged really. It did not disappoint.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good humor :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Watched the Water Puppet Show last September 18, 2013.

My major concern would be the language - I know it'll feel more authentic in Viet language, but perhaps they could attach a small LCD somewhere for the English subtitle...

They have this unique sense of humor. Sporadic funny scenes that will really make the audience laugh. :p

The Water Puppet Show is for all ages, but I think kids will enjoy it more. My mother who is 48 years old kinda got bored and sleepy while watching. But still says she enjoyed it. Good thing it is only 150,000 VND (About $7) :)

There aren't so many things to do in Ho Chi Minh city, so a short visit to watch this show would be worth it especially if with children ! :)

Yuko.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water puppet show at Thao Dien Village also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Water puppet show at Thao Dien Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water puppet show at Thao Dien Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.