We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vy Khanh Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Vy Khanh Guesthouse to your Saves list
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a great low budget guest house - great for back packing. Nothing fancy but it is in a great location and despite being so central it is still quiet (away from the noise of the mopeds).
Staff were very friendly and were very helpful.

Great value and would definitley return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    57
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
180
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mannheim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Vy Kanh Guesthouse was our first Guesthouse when we start our trip (Vietnam, Cambodia). and for us it was perfect.

For the first time it was not easy to find. It is located in a small street next to the famous backpacker street and perhaps 15 walking minutes away from the ben thran market. after some questions and looking around we find it. We are lucky, because we get a room immediately. without booking in advance. we stay one night and choose a room in the 3rd floor. And it was really quiet. Although the big noise of HMC is only some meters away: we heard nothing in our room! and that was great.

the room was small, but ok for us. one king size bed + one wardrobe and a small restroom. The shower was at the same time the whole room. but this is typical.

The stuff was really friendly: we got a lot of advices for the town and for our next days in Vietnam (Mekong...).

The price was a little bit to high- but we payed it because of the clean room and the silence!

Thanks a lot. You can stay here if you do not need so much luxury and love a simple comfortable room and bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The VY Kahn guesthouse is tucked away down a side street in the heart of District 1. We were not expecting much as it was a guesthouse and not a hotel.
When we were trying to find the hotel a man stopped us asking if he could help/where were we looking for? He then showed us the way as a gesture of kindness...lovely.
We were warmly welcomed by a young lady who kindly asked us to remove our shoes on entry and then showed us to our rooms.
Our room was simple but very nice and the lady seemed genuinely proud when I complimented her guesthouse. It had a flat screen tv, a fridge, shower gel etc. and a wet room style ensuite. All very clean and enough space for the 2 of us.
If you get back late then you ring the bell to be let in and walk through the kitchen to see the owner sleeping in the kitchen where I saw her cooking for large family earlier.
I would stay here again, especially for the location.

Room Tip: There is no lift and a lot of stairs if you are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very warm welcome by Ms Vy who was helpful and gave us a colour coded map to help us find our way around. The room was smallish with a wet room type bathroom but comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed our stay here and slept well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe double for $20 a night which we thought was great value. Good location, quiet at night, great staff and a nice room. It had the first bathroom in a long time to seperate the shower from the rest of the bathroom! It was a nice touch to be offered coffee and bananas any time you were passing reception.
We also booked a Mekong Delta 2 day/1 night trip through them and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I chose the Vy Khan based on its TripAdvisor rating and found that it fully deserves its reputation. I had the third-floor front room, which faces onto the narrow lane outside, but is entirely quiet at night. The room was compact -- remember this is a guest house that costs about $20 a night -- but spotlessly clean and maintained. The airconditioning kept it nice and cool, making it a pleasure to return to after a hot, sultry Saigon day. There is a bar fridge, a wardrobe and a small but functional bathroom with a toilet that works and a nice hot shower. The room has a plasma TV mounted on the wall and free Wi-Fi access.

The great attraction here is the family who own and run the place, which is named after their two daughters Vy and Khan. The greeting and service couldn't have been more helpful and friendly: they provide maps with all the best local cafes and Pho soup shops marked. Their business card includes Ms Vy's mobile phone number -- she speaks English and French -- so that if you get completely lost or need any kind of help, you can just call.

The location in a little lane off Pham Ngu Lao street is wonderfully exotic yet very central. Don't try to find this place by yourself the first time you visit ... ring the Ms Vy and ask her to meet you on the street or, do what we did, and have them send their car to meet you at the airport (cost about $15). This is literally a hidden gem in the heart of Saigon and I would stay here again with pleasure.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the front rooms because they get more light; but others might prefer a back ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is just to confirm all the good stuff everyone has been saying about this guesthouse.
Very accommodating family though they are not as fluent in English.

Love the location, love the room even though it was smaller than expected.
Cold drinks were served upon arrival, nice Vietnamese coffee were served in the morning.

Do tryout the "stalls" along the alley of the guesthouse, for supper and for breakfast, you will not regret it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vy Khanh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vy Khanh Guesthouse

Address: 241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's located (safe place)at pack backer's area (district 1) walking distance to all activities,( walking 7 minutes to Ben Thanh market), near bank, park,museums, zoo, coffee shops yet it's quiet enough since it situated in an alley. All rooms are equipped with air conditioners, portable fan, private bath with heated water, mini fridge, cable TV, wifi internet (free). Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, and home stay at a reasonable price. You will be comfortable and safe staying at our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Vy Khanh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vy Khanh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vy Khanh Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.