We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vy Khanh Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Vy Khanh Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vy Khanh Guesthouse
241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was our first time to stay in a guesthouse. We were hesistant at first but after reading all the good reviews we decided to give it a try. I was impressed at how quick Vy replied to all my emails and it was nice of her to answer all my queries even prior to making the reservations. The guesthouse is located in an alley not too far from the main street, 10min walk to Banh Thanh Market/Pho 2000/Pho 24. We usually went home late at night and always felt safe. Auntie (Vy's mom) was always at the living room, ready to open the gate for their guests who come in late and always with a smile. It felt just like home.

If you want to tour Mekong and Cu chi etc. there's no need to go elsewhere. The tours that Vy offers are not only cheap but are very reliable as well. No need to worry about being scammed at. The room may be small but it is always immaculately clean. The towels though not brand new alwasy smell new. They also sell drinks that are reasonably priced if not cheap. No need to go to the supermarket. Bakery, convenience store, coffee shop, banks/money changers are all within 5min walking distance.

Vy and Auntie are alwasy accommodating. Staying at Vy Khan's guesthouse was the best decision we made for our Vietnam Trip. Simply the best! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    53
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
165
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed with Vy in Feb this year. We arrived at the hostel to be told that we had no booking and that we had cancelled our booking stright after making it. I had booked through a hotel website and something must have gone wrong after I had booked it (i know I didn't cancel it as i don't even know how to). ANYWAY. although there was no booking for us Vy could not have been more accommodating. Even though the guest house was fully booked a group of people who only had one more night were happy to all squeeze into 1 room. Vy gave us a spare room for a few hours to get ourselves freshened up while she got the other room ready. Vy brought us cold drinks and provided us with a range of information about the city and city tours.
Throughout our stay Vy bent over backwards to help us and made us both feel extremely welcome! I would recommend this guest house to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Vy Khanh was a very clean, cozy, and comfortable guesthouse/hostel/hotel. Vy was very honest with helping us in booking tours. Tours with a good tour company that is. Vietnam is notorious for bad tour companies. The rooms were exceptionally clean and everything was in great working order. Even my clean freak gf was happy with it. Also, the price of the water/soda/beer was very good as well.

The place is also in a quieter area of the backpacker district. So it's great for sleeping but you're also really close to everything.

Overall a great stay! If we are ever back in Sai Gon we will for sure stay here!

Room Tip: Great! nice and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

What sets this guesthouse apart from every other is the warm, helpful hospitality of the the young woman running this guesthouse. She speaks wonderful English and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. When you first arrive, she gives you a nice detailed map of the city, showing you where everything is before you set off. She also hands you a delicious fruity drink. I stayed in a single room ($15/night), which was tiny but very clean and well-appointed. The family is always downstairs in the reception area, so I always felt safe. The guesthouse is located in the middle of small alleys, but it's a 2-min walk to the main street where all the foreigners' bars/restaurants are located.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This was a great end to our stay in Vietnam, and we wished we could have stayed for more than one night. We arrived early in the morning and they welcomed us in despite the early hour. I spoke to the young owner on the phone as her parents tried to help us as much as possible. The room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. What set this apart was the excellent service. Our host made sure we had everything we needed, and booked us a bus ticket on the Mekong Express for less than what they were charging at the Mekong Express Office! The location was excellent, down a lane off of the main tourist street.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Such a lovely place! Small but clean and comfortable rooms, quiet at night, the loveliest owners (Ms Khanh, her husband and daughter). The daughter speaks great English and she can help you with anything, she will also have an introductory talk with you when you arrive, give you maps and explain where things are around the neighbourhood. We stayed here at the start of our trip and came back because it was so good at the end! Ms Khanh also makes the YUMMIEST fruit drink for you whenever you hang around in the lobby on the computer long enough. I could never figure out what kind of fruit it was but it was one of the tastiest things I have ever drunk.

The hostel is a little hard to find if you arrive at night, its in an alley between two main streets, just ask the locals.

The ABC bakery around the corner is good for breakfast.

Book early, there aren't many rooms and they fill up quick!

Room Tip: The rooms higher up are better - less noise and light at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Four friends and I stayed here in April and this was our first night in Vietnam but it started us off well. Ms Vy was very helpful both before our trip and while we were there. In particular she arranged a driver for the five of us so that we could do our own itinerary to the Mekong Delta rather than joining an organized tour. The rooms are basic but clean and have air con and mini refrigerators (and the drinks aren't extortionately priced). The reception area has a couple of PCs that can be used by the guests for free.

It's very easy to reach most of the sites from here and is well served for bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vy Khanh Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vy Khanh Guesthouse

Address: 241/11/6 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's located (safe place)at pack backer's area (district 1) walking distance to all activities,( walking 7 minutes to Ben Thanh market), near bank, park,museums, zoo, coffee shops yet it's quiet enough since it situated in an alley. All rooms are equipped with air conditioners, portable fan, private bath with heated water, mini fridge, cable TV, wifi internet (free). Friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere, and home stay at a reasonable price. You will be comfortable and safe staying at our place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Vy Khanh Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vy Khanh Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vy Khanh Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.