We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kingston Hotel to your Saves list
Kingston Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   52-54 Thu Khoa Huan | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I travelled with eight girlfriends on a shoppoing trip to HCMC. We booked this hotel over the net and it was a pleasant surprise, It is good walking distance to all the the markets as well as the night market. Althought not anything fancy, it is clean and the staff were most accommodating.
Our room was spacious, fresh fruit was provided which was an added plus. Breakfast was plentiful, but again dont expect anything too "exotic". Its the location of the hotel that suited our needs. The staff were friendly and that counts for a lot in my book. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    66
    34
    12
    1
See reviews for
24
45
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellarine Peninsula Vic Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here recently, very steep steps at the front but ever obliging young doormen always there to assist. Room was fairly basic but had everything you needed and the biggest bed I have ever slept in. Toiletries provided were good quality. Room kept spotless by little lady and her assistant who really were so happy and friendly. Restaurant fairly small but good menu, I lived on their spring rolls and noodle soup - excellent. Everyone friendly and professional, even to the young lady who brings out chilled water for you if you are in the foyer for awhile. Great position with Market 1 block away, great to stagger back with all your bargains. Certainly will return. Thank you Kingston and all the lovely staff. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The rooms are very basic, but clean and spacious. The staff are welcoming and friendly. No bar on site that we found so no drinks after dining out. Buffet breakfast was only basic, but plentiful. No slip mat in the shower - which seems to be the normal thing in vietnam, sadly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights at the Kingston. There's some good and bad aspects of the hotel. Staff at the front desk are very pleasant and welcoming.
Room was a let down. There's no windows and thus room is not fresh and had a bit of a damp feel to it. Sound proving is definitely an issue. You can practically have a conversation with the people living in the next room if you are in the toilets.
We had a very relaxing foot massage on the 1st Floor but unfortunately spoilt by the masseur demanding a bigger tip even though I already gave him Vnd50,000.
All in all it's situated in a very convenient position in the city centre. For the price, it has good value but I wouldn't like to stay any longer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggera Waters, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for one night, the rooms are clean but smell cigarettes. Staff are pleasant. Close to the Ben Thanh Markets, roughly a 5 minute walk. We're not fussy travellers but we were disappointed in the breakfast, a good range but the food was cold. If you stay make sure you ask for fresh eggs, that was you're guaranteed for hot food. There is a travel agent on the other side of the hotel but one street down. They were very helpful and the service was great, we booked a bus to Muine and it was a brand new sleeper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

It is situated quite near to Ben Than Market. went to the nite market every nite!
i got a room at the 7th floor. next to the elevator but we had a peaceful sleep (maybe september is not a peak season; not many people).
the day receptionists were nice but not for the nite shift. not friendly at all!
the best staff should go to the lady in the coffee shop. she will greet ALL with a warm smile and say Good Morning Sir / Madam.
will definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here a few nights. My daughter and I had an ok room, my son and Husband had a room with no window (not very pleasant). The hotel was certainly not sound proof and we could hear everything that went on outside our room. We arranged a trip to the Mekong Delta so we wanted to go there for a few nights then come back to the Kingston Hotel for 1 more night (we couldn't be bothered looking for another Hotel). Well we kept getting different answers - yes we can and no we cant!! We left there thinking they had booked a room for us. Hence when we arrived back they were fully booked and there was no room booked! Very confusing. We were lucky though and found another Hotel (Lan Lan 2) a couple of doors down which I definitely recommend. The staff there were very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't book a room with no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingston Hotel

Address: 52-54 Thu Khoa Huan | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingston Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.