We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Breakfast in HCMC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
19-21 Dong Khoi Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly ZanZBar)
862913686
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Vietnamese, International, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Western Breakfast in HCMC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Finally reopened in new location and worth the wait. Great food and drinks and a wonderful place to while away the hours in the heat of the day. Eclectic soundtrack, cold AC, good wifi, and impeccable service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    47
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
martin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Whilst it is more expensive that your average restaurant - it is for a good reason: the quality and service is second to none! Brilliant food, amazing cocktails and excellent coffee make it a must-visit for everyone coming to Saigon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi and many thanks for your kind post.

Please accept my apologies for our tardiness in responding to your post. The last few months has been hectic – we had to close down the previous location which was our home for 5 years due to the building being completely renovated; then we had to find a new location, design, construct, fit-out, revamp menus, find new staff, training. Etc. (the list goes on). We were lucky enough to retain some of the key crew from our previous location, and we have also kept some of the iconic visual ingredients that helped us to gain recognition around town (e.g. the glowing rock columns).

Importantly this move has allowed us the opportunity to critically assess all areas of the restaurant/bar services. While we won’t be operating at 100% on our first day in the new location at 19-21 Dong Khoi Street, several improvement initiatives have been put in place so that the new (and improved) ZanZBar can continue to be a Saigon symbol for many years to come.

We look forward to welcoming everyone back in the new location after September 5th, as well as to reading some updated reader comments.

Our food menu in particular will be undergoing some major changes (not initially, but certainly over the course of a month or so), and we are hoping our regulars will enjoy these improvements.

Best,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORBES
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really good food, fantastic friendly service, really helpful with tips on places to go and very accommodating with special requests for food and drinks

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi and I'm very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We do try to only recruit the friendliest staff we can find, and hopefully that shines through with each and every guest interraction.

Please accept my apologies for our tardiness in responding to your post. The last few months has been hectic – we had to close down the previous location which was our home for 5 years due to the building being completely renovated; then we had to find a new location, design, construct, fit-out, revamp menus, find new staff, training. Etc. (the list goes on). We were lucky enough to retain some of the key crew from our previous location, and we have also kept some of the iconic visual ingredients that helped us to gain recognition around town (e.g. the glowing rock columns).

Importantly this move has allowed us the opportunity to critically assess all areas of the restaurant/bar services. While we won’t be operating at 100% on our first day in the new location at 19-21 Dong Khoi Street, several improvement initiatives have been put in place so that the new (and improved) ZanZBar can continue to be a Saigon symbol for many years to come.

We look forward to welcoming everyone back in the new location after September 5th, as well as to reading some updated reader comments.

Best,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“CLOSED DOWN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Perhaps they've moved to another location but we didn't get to try this resto on 9-June-2012 because the place is closed. 41 dong du street is now a construction site.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks very much for notifying everyone that our site has indeed closed at that site. Please be advised that we are opening very shortly in a couple of weeks, around the corner from the site that we enjoyed for 5 years.

Once everything is confirmed, we will be updating all of our TripAdvisor contact details.

We hope to welcome guests to our new improved venue very soon.

Kind Regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good lunch at great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The menu here is so unVietnamese but the food was delicious. Following pumpkin soup for starters, He had bangers and mash (yes, we really were in Saigon) and I had a vegetarian crêpe. As well as this, two desserts, two glasses of wine and the first sparkling water we'd had in a fortnight all came to the heady price of 900,000 dong (ish), i.e. 28 quid. Excellent service and the all-important air-conditioning made for a very pleasant meal. I'd heartily recommend this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony S, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi and many thanks for your recommendation to readers.

While we have recently moved location, our kitchen crew remains the same and we are again offering many of the items that you mentioned in your post.

Apologies for not responding sooner - we were in the process of closing down, redesigning a new location, moving, and re-opening. We now have a dedicated restaurant on our mezzanine floor, which allows staff on each floor to focus on the different areas - drinks in the street-level cafe/bar, and food in the mezzanine restaurant.

With kind regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.