We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoa Tuc

Hoa Tuc
74/7 Hai Ba Trung, Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3825 1676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,523 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We totally enjoyed our dinning experience from the pomelo and squid salad to the Vietnamese brown rice every mouthful was totally enjoyable. The waiting staff excellent , the ambience was great in a small courtyard,totally recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for a fantastic meal at a good price dish's ranged from 70,000 to 180,000 dong, the ginger ice cream was to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    255
    78
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oooh, the best meal experience so far! (in HCM)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'm sure we haven't discovered anything new, the Intercontinental concierge suggest we go there for lunch but Hells Teeth it was so nice! We arrived at about 3pm, so it was emptying, we thought the restaurant next door looked livelier and had a drink but when we reviewed the Hua Tuc menu...it just looked so interesting. The meal came, so obviously freshly made...the chicken was so tender, same with the beef...not cooked a second too long...ah, so good. Sat outside, listened to some quiet jazz (well you can't have everything :-)). A fantastic moment in time....certainly gets my vote.

(it is in a small cul de sac...easy to miss the turn)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, nice place, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a delicious dinner here. I would recommend to sit outside for dinner as inside was very cooled down by AC (unless you prefer this). The courtyard is cosy, the food is amazing and the service is very good. We had spring rolls, RYO (roll your own) beef in rice paper and the softshell crabs with Mango sauce - all super delicious. We decided to sign up for their cooking class right after dinner, so we will be able to provide a review of that tomorrow.
I would really recommend this place for a nice night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food in a cool little courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went with friends and had a great meal, so much so that my wife and I went back for lunch the next day before we flew home! The go seems to do lunch indoors (air con) and dinner outside (for the atmosphere). We did both the wrong way round, doh but still enjoyed both visits. Soft shell crab with mango was lush.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Something must have gone wrong!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

After reading so many good reviews, we booked a table with high expectations, only to find we didn't agree with them. I don't know what went wrong. We sat in the courtyard - don't sit inside, it looks like a staff canteen. The welcome was OK but after that it all went slowly downhill. Our table had a sofa one side and a chair the other. Looked great but the sofa was much too low (they always are, aren't they?). Problem solved only by grabbing all the loose cushions.

Our waiter seemed to consider himself so cool that good service didn't really matter - we were lucky to have him. The food was no better than reasonable. I ordered an ice-cream, two scoops. When it arrived there was only one scoop left; the other had become a warm sauce in which it sat looking sad. You'd have thought they would be used to warm evenings by now. I also had to ask three times for the bill.

I don't wish to offend anyone, but I think this is one of those trendy places where you go to be seen and to say you have been there. It's hidden in a small courtyard half of which was occupied by a Bentley covertible the night we were there. Says it all, really.

To be fair, this was our third night in Saigon and we had been absolutely spoilt on our first two nights at La Fourchette and Ciao Bella, both in the same area (and both of which I've reviewed on Tripadvisor). In my book both of these leave Hoa Tuc standing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoa Tuc also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hoa Tuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoa Tuc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.