We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and efficient service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lan Lan Hotel 1

Save Saved
You added Lan Lan Hotel 1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lan Lan Hotel 1
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 -75 Thu Khoa Huan St | Ward Ben Thanh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean rooms and efficient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Lan Lan 1 hotel is, at first sight, just a no-nonsense city hotel with not many facilities: no pool, no bar, no spa.
However, it more than makes up in terms of efficiency - rooms were clean, laundry was returned promptly, taxis were arranged immediately, questions were met with helpful answers.
The location is great - we were able to walk to most places.
And the Asian breakfast is delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    99
    28
    3
    7
See reviews for
41
91
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked for 2 nights ended up staying 4, excellent value and position made visiting Saigon easy. The room was clean a of good size, breakfast choice very good. This is the 2nd time I have stayed and will again when back in Saigon.

Room Tip: Front room better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lan Lan 1 is very close to all the main attractions and is accross from the Reunifacation Palace. Very clean and the staff was fantastic in helping me plan my stay in HCMC.
I booked Lan Lan1 on my first stop to HCMC and booked again for one more night before heading home.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It is a small little budget hotel that is located within walking distance to most of the main attractions in HCMC. The Reunification Palace is just next door, although you have to walk around the compound to get to the main entrance (5 to 10 mins walk). Ben Thanh is less than 5 mins away. The place is safe and there are plenty of cheap places to eat and drinks. The breakfast spread is very good and they change the some of the menu items every morning. The rooms are clean and the staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I really liked this hotel - it's in a good location in district 1, close to the market, staff are friendly and helpful, and the room was spacious, modern and super-clean. The breakfast buffet was the best we came across in Vietnam - maybe because they have quite a few Vietnamese guests, not just tourists, so they have quite a lot of Vietnamese options alongside the usual western ones. The coffee is good, but for the real Vietnamese coffee experience try the little cafe next door. And for food, try Ngon which is a short walk and is great, or the evening seafood stall (well, more of a restaurant) at the side of Ben Thanh market. I was a bit "oh if it's red snapper it must be frozen" but whatever fish it was was absolutely fresh from the market, grilled over charcoal and maybe the best thing I ate in Vietnam...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Lan Lan Hotel was super clean, staff was very good and location was great. If you want a 5 star hotel this is not the place to stay but for a 3 star hotel and for the value it was excellent. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Pretty poor experience overall. Maybe my wife and I were impatient and tired at this point in our travels, but this hotel's front desk staff needs to be replaced or, at the very least, extensively re-trained. Actually, it was one unpleasant, totally unaccommodating woman at the front desk in particular who kinda ruined it; she was just young and had no idea how to adeptly resolve guest issues. Why go to Saigon anyway? But if you absolutely must go, recommend you stay in a different hotel; there are many others around this hotel and it's a pretty decent area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lan Lan Hotel 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lan Lan Hotel 1

Address: 73 -75 Thu Khoa Huan St | Ward Ben Thanh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lan Lan Hotel 1 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lan Lan Hotel 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lan Lan Hotel 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.