We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, unbeatable service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Song Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Song Saigon to your Saves list
Villa Song Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   197/2 Nguyen Van Huong Street | District 2, Ho Chi Minh City +84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, unbeatable service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in Villa Song with my girlfriend for 2 nights after a 5 week trip travelling Vietnam. Our experience here was very comfortably the highlight of our holiday. On arrival, the manager Mr Yega was very sorry that the hotel would be going through it's last stage of renovation and they had not managed to get our details to warn us of this. To apologise, he very kindly sent us on a tour of the Mekong Delta, which ended up being one of our favourite days of the whole trip! We ate here on the first night and the food was brilliant, as were the drinks. Every day somebody would arrive at your room with small cakes which was a really nice touch. The rooms in the hotel are beautiful and the pool and fitness facilities are of the highest standard, whilst the staff are very friendly and always at your assistance. On our last day the hotel was actually supposed to be closed and we were not flying out of Saigon until the evening. Mr Yega set up a table by the pool for us to sit and have breakfast, which should be added is unbelievable, and came over once again to apologise for the work going on, whilst he also had no issues whatsoever with us staying in our room until 5pm when we had to depart. The work taking place in the hotel was nothing major and in no way made our stay any less enjoyable, yet he also informed us that they had covered all our food and drink bills, which we felt embarrassed to even accept, but again another example of the high quality experience created within Villa Song Saigon. Just 10 mins from the city centre by their complementary boat this hotel is not far away from the action, but when you're there it feels like you are in a completely different place as the atmosphere is perfect if you are looking for a relaxing trip. When I return to Saigon I will definitely revisit Villa Song, in my personal opinion it is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in and the perfect way to end my stay in Vietnam.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
52
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My spouse , myself and my in laws stayed for 3 nights at the Villa Song and loved every moment of it.
Hotel collection at the airport was very professional and polite. On arriving at the Villa Song we were led down the pathway from the drive to the hotel by attentive and friendly staff, beautiful gardens either side of us with a canopy of palms above lined our walk and it was a great first impression. Our suites were very well appointed, everything that a 5 star suite should have was provided, we especially loved the smart TV'S and coffee machines ! Views over the Saigon river were to die for . Showers were spacious and piping hot, bath perfect for a couple , room wifi great and beds were very comfortable . On our final night we were so happy sitting on the waters edge with a bottle of wine ,soft music and our table candlelit that we were the last guests to leave ... we also had the most wonderful dinner . The menu is varied and caters for all , I had a pizza for lunch and it rivaled pizzas I have had in Italy! The wine cellar is amazing , ask Yega the GM for advice as he clearly knows what he is talking about. Our speed boat to District 1 took 15 minutes and it was great fun and an interesting way to see the river life. The walk from the jetty into the hub took only 5 minutes. Yega is passionate about hospitality and although he is constantly on the go he will always make time for his guests. He advised us on a days river cruise tour and it was simply wonderful.
We all came away refreshed and totally in love with Saigon and this was mostly due to being very happy with our choice of hotel . Yega is a charming man and was a wonderful host.

Room Tip: try get a balcony room that offers direct views over the Saigon river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning setting on saigon river this is a seriously smart boutique hotel with stunning artwork on the walls from some of vietnams best known artists. The access by speedboat is novel and very convenient BUT it is a very small boat so our party of four with luggage needed two trips. Each round trip took 30 minutes so meant for a slight delay in all arriving. The owner tells us that a larger boat is planned. The rooms are sublime; traveling as 2 couples we had 2 large rooms on the top floor overlooking the river with a connecting sitting room. Great for a quite drink before going out.
The only slight gripe was an issue with the aircon unit in the bedroom used by my wife and myself. I spoke to the owner who plans to alter the outflow so that it doesnt blow a gale directly over the bed. Also as wall mounted units (rather than ducted) they are not that quiet.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall this hotel is an excellent option if you like a French colonial-style building, time away from the hectic Saigon downtown, and more relaxing Saigon river side atmosphere. In other words, this place is not suitable for those who want to enjoy busy, happening Saigon streets and night life.

First of all, as all may immediately notice from the hotel pictures, this hotel has a great, beautiful, classical French colonial look (I do not know if it is a real colonial building or just an imitation, but it was magnificent especially at night). The interior of the hotel and rooms are well appointed and well-maintained. We loved the overall atmosphere of the hotel.

The hotel is located outside of the city of Saigon -- it is around 20 min taxi ride from the city, or the same with free boat shuttle between the hotel to the Bach Dang pier in Dist.1. Although free speed boats were free of charge at the hotel, you may want to know that it would not be available during a rain, or you might not be able to book it when the hotel is full (while we were there, the hotel rooms were fully booked, and we had difficulties in booking the boat for the time we wanted to move -- plus, our boat was cancelled due to rain).

Although the hotel exterior and interior (and rooms) were excellent, we got some problems at the hotel too. First was the room. We booked the room (sanctuary room) through Agoda, and it stated that all rooms came with a bathtub. It was not actually, and we realized that writer's room, sanctuary room, and sanctuary suite actually did not come with a bathtub. As one of the reasons for choosing that room type was the bathtub, we were a bit upset and contacted the reception immediately upon check-in. The hotel then told us that the rooms were nearly fully booked, and only a room available and came with a bathtub was of upper grade, so they would be able to provide that room with 30% discount for us. We felt strange to be asked to pay for extra as it was completely a mistake (misclaim on the Agoda) from the hotel. We were too tired on that night so we told them we would think and emailed Agoda. On the next morning, upon some communication between Agoda and the hotel, the hotel kindly offered us a art suit room, which had a bathtub, to us without any extra charges. The room was excellent, and we were happy about this.

In the afternoon, it started raining heavily. Then the balcony started being flooded. We were watching the situation for a while, but eventually the water level got too high, and the water started getting into our room, so we called the reception. The staff came immediately to fix the problem (all three technicians in the rain on the balcony!) -- it seemed that too many leaves were stuck in the drainage pipe on the balcony. OK, then the problem solved after 15-20 mins of struggle. It was ok, but as it was right after our struggle for a bathtub, so it was not really relaxing at all...

Then we booked a taxi to go downtown to meet up with our friends as our boat had been cancelled due to the heavy rain. We called the reception more than one hour before our departure, but when we got to the hotel entrance, no taxis were waiting for us. We talked to the hotel staff there, but it seemed that they did not know that we booked the taxi in advance. They then just stopped a seven-seater in front of the hotel while we requested a four-seater to the reception, so we told them that we requested a four-seater. We came back to the reception to ask them where was our taxi, but they told us that it was taking time as it was raining. More than one hour from the downtown, really? We were very skeptical about the reason given by the reception. Then when we returned to the hotel gate, the staff there told us that seven-seaters and four-seaters are the same price, which was absolutely not true (we know this as we had been in Vietnam for nearly 10 years). We were disgusted by this lie told by the staff at the front gate, but as we did not have much time, we took a seven-seaters. We got an impression that probably they would be handling one-time tourists in the same way in similar cases.

So all in all, although it was a nice property, but we faced a lot of minor issues this time. Most of them were solved eventually, but some were not.

The people at the reception seemed that they were trying their best and did not have any bad intention or laziness to handle problems, but nonetheless, there are some things to improve at this hotel I would say.

Having all said, I would still say this hotel is still a lovely, beautiful hotel, that I would recommend to other friends. Hope we would not face the same issues in the future.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yega T, General Manager at Villa Song Saigon, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kenyalang,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your constructive, detailed review. We are glad that you liked our quiet location, away from the crazy traffic and noise of District 1, and yet just a short taxi or boat ride away from all the city attractions.

The Villa is indeed a mixture of classical French colonial design and modern elements and it does look stunning, especially at night.

Currently, we have a 4 seat speed boat which is used for the free river shuttle service and there is a bit of a jam when the hotel is running at high occupancy. Unfortunately, when it rains, we have to delay the service until the weather improves, to provide our guests with a safe and comfortable journey. We do recognize this inconvenience and have purchased a larger, more comfortable, 10 seat boat, and it will be delivered and operational by the first week of November 2014.

I am truly sorry for the wrong room description on the Agoda website. We have 23 rooms, and all of them are unique, no two rooms as the same. We have since resolved this issue with Agoda but I apologize for the way it was handled by our front office team, and they have been briefed on how to be more proactive in situations like this (which hopefully will never arise again). I am happy that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to an Art Suite.

The hotel has just been newly renovated and we actually just closed the hotel again from 18 to 21 September 2014 to complete the final leg of the renovation program. During this time, we have identified and fixed the problem with the flooding balcony and apologize for the discomfort which you experienced.

I have had a stern word with the bell service and have told them to give proper and correct information at all times to our guests. You are quite correct, there is a difference in charges for the larger taxis, and the bell service will inform this to guests correctly from now on. During heavy rain, there is a delay in getting a taxi sometimes, but the fact that you had ordered for one, way in advance, and still had to wait is inexcusable and I am truly sorry for this.

Thank you very much for your constructive comments and we will continue training our team here. Please know that what you experienced is not our usual standard of service and I have taken appropriate steps with all the departments concerned to ensure that these incidents are not repeated. I do hope that you will visit us again and please email me directly at yega.thiyagarajan@villasong.com if you have any other concerns. Please also drop me a line when you are next in HCMC as I would greatly appreciate an opportunity to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Yega Thiyagarajan
General Manager
Villa Song Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located on the banks of the Saigon river, going anywhere involves a pulse quickening speedboat that makes you feel ever so rakish, even if any resemblance to Daniel Craig is completely absent.

In today's glutted market, many hotels can offer you buckwheat pillows, sunset cocktails or fine denier Egyptian cotton sheets. This hotel offers more, one step outside blasting around on the river makes you flat out glad to be alive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here for my husbands birthday in June. When you are living in district 1 it's great to go here even just for one night, we truly felt like we were on a resort fare away from home. Rooms is beautiful decorated and service is top. We got free pick up service by boat from d1, super nice.
Recommending this to all of our friends.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Colonial villa with smart decor. Lovely big swimming pool. Located next to the river. Enjoyed the complimentary 10 minute boat ride to center of Ho Chi Minh. Excellent restaurant. A la carte extensive breakfast menu in a lovely setting. We had two adjoining rooms with a sitting room inbetween overlooking the river. Third floor no lifts so you needed to be able to manage stairs although I think there were rooms on ground floor. Lovely atmosphere and very attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Song Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Song Saigon

Address: 197/2 Nguyen Van Huong Street | District 2, Ho Chi Minh City +84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#3 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Song Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Song Saigon is a lovely boutique hotel with 23 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, located in District 2, along the banks of the Saigon River. Recently underwent a major renovation and total refurbishment exercise in December 2013. Suitable for romantic getaways as well as corporate board meetings. Rejuvenate in our in house Spa. Eclectic food and beverage options with all day dining at Bistro Song Vie, classic cocktails at our bar and a very good wine cellar; all coupled with a stunning view of the Saigon River. River transfers available from our private pier at the Villa itself, direct to the heart of District 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Song Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Song Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Song Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.