We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Imperial room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Song Saigon

Save Saved
You added Villa Song Saigon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Song Saigon
197/2 Nguyen Van Huong Street | District 2, Ho Chi Minh City +84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 353 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious Imperial room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked Art room n requested for early check in. We were surprised to have an upgrade to Imperial room when we arrived as we were told the Art room is not available, i guess maybe due to our early check in request. The Imperial room is luxurious, spacious n cozy. The bathroom is huge with a nice tub. A/cs are powerful .There are 2 balconies; the balcony facing pool is v small, not much privacy, but windy whereas the other balcony facing the river is bigger but quite hot sitting there. During our last day stay, we have requested for a fan in the bigger balcony n enjoyed more in the bigger balcony n we should have done that earlier. We have checked out the Art room too n the balcony is enormous (suitable for balcony lovers) but the room space is small.

Breakfast is fresh, delicious and proper. Its ala-carte style. We enjoyed sitting by the river n have breakfast every morning during our stay. Fyi- breakfast ends at 12pm.

All the staffs were friendly n helpful, they always greet us with a smile, especially the front office Supervisor- Nhu Pham. She can speak fluent English n good recommendation on places to go n iniatives to help us book dinner at other restaurants outside the hotel. There's another nice lady, Ngoc, she remembered my birthday n helped us to find air tickets to Danang n we appreciate that. On top of that, the hotel even paid for us the air tickets in advance n charged to the hotel bill, thumbs up! We felt the hotel has got many personal touches unlike those commercial hotels n felt very comfortable staying here.

The hotel is in a remote area n most of the time the taxi drivers can't find their way there maybe the hotel is new. However once we managed to get the old hotel name from the staff, we have no problem getting back.

There was once we were not able to go in to the hotel when we came back late coz the guard wasn't around n the hotel door is closed, there's no light at the front door, n we knocked many times at the front door, then walked to the back door- door is also closed, knocked again n no one there n we walked back to the front door again n kept knocking, finally a guard (looking sleepy n no apology) came out to open the door for us. When we informed the hotel about this the next day, they apologised n we were told to call the hotel if we can't go in as the guard may be taking a break to the restroom. So we informed the staff the next day we will be back late n to make sure the door is opened for us when we come back. This was the only disappointment we had during our stay there. Hope that the hotel will look into this n although its a boutique hotel but its quite a horrifying experience not knowing whether anyone around to open the door for us, for a moment unsure we are able to get into our room that night n its dark n quiet outside.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yega T, General Manager at Villa Song Saigon, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Holidayqueen682,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the upgrade and that our front office team was helpful and able to provide you with good recommendations.

Breakfast for our hotel guests is actually available throughout the day (anytime at all that you feel like having it) as we believe that you are on holiday and should not be bound by strict timelines. Anytime is a good time for breakfast in our book!

We have business cards available for our guests, which has a location map of our hotel on it, but we are in the process of producing an even more detailed location map, which will make it clearer and easier for the taxi drivers to find us.

I am so sorry that you had an unpleasant experience with our security staff at night and I view this matter with the utmost concern. Even though we are located in a quiet and safe neighborhood, we do keep our doors locked after midnight for added safety and security. I have had a briefing with the security team and they will be more vigilant and alert for our guests who are returning to the hotel after enjoying a night out in town. We have also installed a door bell which will alert the night supervisor at the Front Desk in case the security guard is away on a rest room break.

Please accept my sincere apologies for this and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back when you are next in Saigon.

Best Regards,

Yega Thiyagarajan
General Manager
Villa Song Saigon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
34
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

the pictures on the website do not give justice to this lovely small hotel nestled in a quiet and residential area of the city yet a stone throw away with its boat shuttle from the bustling center and all the activities. What a treat, the rooms were very comfortable, every detail thought through (thank you for the many power plugs and the free mini-bar as well as the apple TV! felt like at home!). We especially liked sitting along the river enjoying the many wines their Asian - European restaurant had on offer. The prices were reasonable for such a place and the service friendly and relaxed unlike the big chain hotels. I just had the best sleep ever thanks to the ceiling fan and the very comfortable bedding as well as the very laid back and quiet atmosphere of the hotel.

Room Tip: For sure take the suites with the river views. They also have free Nespresso machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Villa Song at the start of our Vietnam Holiday with our two young children. The hotel was perfectly located for us. There is a free speedboat that is available to get into district 1. (Which the kids loved)
We stayed in the, “Sanctuary suite” this was spacious and luxurious.
We ate at the restaurant every night (easier with young children) and the food and service of the restaurant was exceptional. Breakfast was amazing with a choice of traditional Vietnamese food.
Nice touch that the GM came and said hello every morning and asked if there is anything he could do. (Definitely was not intrusive)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stay at Villa Song after a 6 night Motobike Tour through the Central Highlands with our 3 daughters, & we finished off our Visit to Vietnam at Villa Song, it was more than we could have asked for, staff were, extremely friendly, helpful, accommodation excellent, beautiful peace & relaxing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've never stayed in a better hotel. Everything in the room was perfect from the Nespresso coffee machine, to the location of the plugs...no detail was missing.

Staff was excellent.

It's a bit out of town, but the river-taxi makes downtown accessible. One time a thunderstorm meant the river-taxi couldn't pick us up. They told us to jump in a regular taxi and they'd pay the fare.

Can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: Go for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's hard to find the words to express how beautiful this Villa is. The artwork is stunning. The bed fluffy and divine. It's quiet. Great pool. The riverside dining just gorgeous. Then there's the complimentary speed boat to district 1. The best hotel I've stayed in.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in HCMC for a weekend break and Villa Song Saigon made all the difference. Just 10-15 min from District 1 and its noise and bustle, yet a world away in tranquility. The beds were amazingly comfortable, the meals at the restaurant delicious, and the service lovely. We took the Cu Chi tunnels tour and it was great to be picked up and dropped off by boat right at the hotel. Yes the internet was patchy and the rooms cozy rather than spacious but these were a minor inconvenience. Oh yes, the pool and spa were lovely too. Would love to return again soon!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Song Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Song Saigon

Address: 197/2 Nguyen Van Huong Street | District 2, Ho Chi Minh City +84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#3 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#3 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Song Saigon is a lovely boutique hotel with 23 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, located in District 2, along the banks of the Saigon River. Recently underwent a major renovation and total refurbishment exercise in December 2013. Suitable for romantic getaways as well as corporate board meetings. Rejuvenate in our in house Spa. Eclectic food and beverage options with all day dining at Bistro Song Vie, classic cocktails at our bar and a very good wine cellar; all coupled with a stunning view of the Saigon River. River transfers available from our private pier at the Villa itself, direct to the heart of District 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Song Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Song Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Song Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.