We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel run by the nicest family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ma Maison Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Manchester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel run by the nicest family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had such a fabulous time at this wonderful boutique hotel.
We had a friendly and warm welcome with delicious passionfruit juice to refresh us on arrival.
The room was beautiful, really elegantly decorated.
It's situated down a back street where you can see what real life is like in Saigon. Fantastic for the curious traveller. We walked around locally and sampled some yummy street food.
We had delicious noodles for breakfast but don't panic eggs and bacon are also available and wonderfully fresh fruit!
Our hosts were so helpful organising us transport, drawing maps for us, generally recommending all sorts of great things to us, as well as sharing with us about their country and cultures.
For a fabulous stay in a beautiful Vietnamese hotel, I cannot recommend Ma Maison highly enough.
We will definitely go back when we are next in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    84
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
237
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staying at Ma Maison is like an upmarket homestay. Mr Ha and his staff are welcoming and thoughtful and did everything they could to make our stay an absolute pleasure. The hotel is around 20 mins by taxi to the main city centre (around $5US) so you need to factor this in to your travel plans but for us, it was a blessing to come back at the end of each day. The alleyway leading to the hotel gives you a taste of the real HCMC which was something we loved.

We were given a map on our first day with suggestions of places to visit and staff were very happy to book restaurants and taxis for us.

Our room was beautifully appointed and very clean. Beds are firm, linen is good quality and we slept really well. In a city with lots of noise, we were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. Windows are double glazed which makes a big difference.

Breakfast was delicious. You have a choice of traditional Vietnamese pho, eggs and bacon or muesli and yoghurt (or you can choose more than one option). All are served with fresh baguettes, fruit, tea, coffee and juice.

Ma Maison is highly recommended for anyone who prefers a boutique hotel with a personal touch.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is one of the finest hotels that we stayed in in all of our trip to Viet Nam and Cambodia. Breakfasts were excellent particularly the Vietnamese choice. The only downside is the distance from the city centre. This hotel is a bit more expensive than some other hotels in HCMC but the personal touch that the staff provide is second to none

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is rare to find somewhere quiet in HCMC, but Ma Maison was a hidden gem. Rooms were nice and clean, breakfast was delicious, staff friendly and helpful, and the coffee was excellent (this surprised us which is why I'm pointing it out...our favourite coffee in Vietnam). Very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved our stay at Ma Maison because it was such a lovely authentic experience. The hotel excludes the old French charm but in a family run place. The management and staff could not have been more welcoming and kind. Like in all homes in Vietnam, when you arrive, you take off your shoes and are welcomed warmly. We got fresh juice and our bags were carried up to our room. There are stairs but if you do not like stairs take a room on lower floor. The rooms were lovely, clean and had all the amenities needed. They even called us a taxi so we could go into town and walked us to the taxi. It is a short 10 minute ride from District 1 which is the main touristy area. We also got a little card in Vietnamese and English with directions to give to the taxi driver when coming back. The hotel is located in District 3 which is not a touristy area but one where normal working and middle class Vietnamese people live. We walked around for an hour at night looking at the shops with no problems. You see life unfolding around you and experience how people live which was so nice. Also, nobody hassles you! The hotel is located off a lively main road with a recreational park with fairground, lots of shops, pagodas, street food but also restaurants like KFC. After you go off the main road you have to walk down an alley to reach the hotel but it is clearly signed - although remember the landmarks or shops near the road that goes off the main road. You can also ask people and they will show you the way if you get lost. If you are not used to Vietnam it may seem a little scary walking down an alley but there are families, businesses and people just sitting outside so you will not be alone and this is also so in the evening. You are a guest and will be treated accordingly. A smile usually helps. If you are a woman and worried about arriving in the evening, you can ask someone to meet you at the main street but we honestly had no problems and enjoyed our stay. We also recommend the healthy breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. We found the French influence in the old colonial to be quite charming. The beef pho was the best breakfast we had in Vietnam. The rooms are clean, spacious, and feel homey. The staff was very attentive and helpful. In fact, we had to check out very early to catch a bus north and the kitchen staff prepared breakfast for us an hour earlier than usual so that we could eat before departing. We didn't mind the location and found the bus to Ben Tanh Market to be easy to use and extremely cheap, and also used taxis in the evenings. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

To be honest I expected more from this stay after reading TA reviews. It is definitely overpriced, we paid $120US a night when it is little more than a good B&B.
I hated every minute of HCMC and the poor location of this hotel was a contributing factor to this experience.
When you step outside of the alleyway, you have pretty much stepped into an absolute nightmare. It's best to call a taxi and go into District 1 for sightseeing etc. This is a shame as we love to walk everywhere and you really could not do that here.
The owners were incredibly lovely and helpful.Their local restaurant recommendations are much to be desired though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ma Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Address: 656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short alley from the main Cach Mang Thang Tam Street, Ma Maison Boutique Hotel caters to demanding clients of long-term expats and French art aficionados. Located in a local labor area where Vietnamese daily real life can be reflected in its most truthful way, this boutique house is brought out to be such an extraordinary in every possible way. Leaving behind the bustling daily routines, first impression would be like straying into a totally different world. Sensation of art, peacefulness and nature-friendliness may balance to fulfill its charming. Ma Maison features Provence style in which bright sunshine and decoration theme have been embraced to create a relaxed look in this guesthouse. Antique design, refinement and sumptuous materials combined with standard services and its harmony in decoration would make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ma Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Maison Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.