We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel - exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ma Maison Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 389 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming boutique hotel - exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a last minute booking made for me from a colleague in Danang, as I had a few hours before an international flight. It is the perfect stopover for me. A quaint charming French villa turned into a boutique hotel... Location is also great as you get to experience the alleys before this welcome surprise. I loved it this is where I will come to in Siagon:-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    97
    29
    11
    9
See reviews for
39
266
35
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My Wife and I Loved this little gem of a hotel.

Upon our late arrival (around 9pm due to flights), we were greeted by two lovely people, who served us a refreshing welcoming drink, which was most needed by us!

We were shown to our room which was very plush and homely. The facilities provided were spotless, and the bed very comfortable.

The included breakfast in our room rate was one of the best we enjoyed while in Vietnam, we definatley recommend the Beef Pho that they make up in their little kitchen.

While the location is a little outside of District 1, we felt that this place was a little oasis away from all the action.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

From the moment you arrive (at any hour of the day) you are wrapped in warmth, genuine care and hospitality. Small room but clean and air conditioned, standard toiletries provided also has hot water. Our room was cleaned well by the staff daily as they mopped the floors daily. The buffet breakfast spread was generous and the food was changed variety daily which was a plus point since we ate there 3 mornings in a row. Booking tours through this hotel was very easy and for a decent price. I recommend the Cu Chi Tunnels half-day tour. We also did the dinner cruise which was just alright. All can be booked at the front desk. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We loved this hotel. The owners, Mr. Ha and Natasha, and entire staff are so attentive and caring. We highly recommend it and will definitively stay on our next visit to HCM City.

It is located in a very interesting, local neighborhood. DO NOT let the reviews about the alley way deter you from staying here. You will really be missing out if you do. Yes, you go down an unusual alleyway to get to the hotel, but we found it to be fascinating. You truly get to see how the locals live. It is next to a school and the local students are friendly and try to practice their English with you. We enjoyed the neighborhood around the hotel more than the downtown areas we visited. You get a much more authentic experience of HCM, and you won’t be harassed to buy trinkets in this district. In fact, it is a great neighborhood to visit if you are staying elsewhere.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and very bright both during the day and at night. We had a heart made of rose petals on our bed when we arrived. And yes you take your shoes off at the door but this is part of why it stays so clean. And you ARE in Asia where taking your shoes off at the door is common practice. We liked that we got to walk round the hotel barefooted!

They remodeled the family home and turned it into a beautiful hotel, really more like a B&B. It took them three years to remodel it and it shows. The decor is done in country French and is to the highest standard. They paid attention to so many little details in the rooms and the breakfast area.

We also enjoyed our breakfasts – a nice selection with three options. Pho from around the country, a healthy option of yogurt and cereal, or bacon eggs and toast. We were there for 4 nights so we got to try a little of everything. And you must have a cup or two of the Vietnamese coffee – hot or iced. Both are delicious! And they serve you complementary coffee, tea, or juice any time of the day.

This is a very special hotel that you must see for yourself!

Room Tip: We had a suite which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is one of the finest hotels that we stayed in in all of our trip to Viet Nam and Cambodia. Natasha and the two gentlemen on staff were extremely polite and helpful. Breakfasts were excellent particularly the Vietnamese choice. The only downside is the distance from the city centre. We actually walked there when we went to check it out but took taxis later (about US$5 to the city centre).

This hotel is a bit more expensive than some other hotels in HCMC but the personal touch that Natasha and her staff provide is second to none.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for only one night for a business trip.

Pros:
The entire hotel experience exceeded all my expectations given the cost of the room (US$60 per night via agoda). Everything was beyond first class, from the welcome drink to the spotless floor and room, rain shower to the choice of delicious English and Vietnamese breakfast with authentic Vietnamese coffee and free WiFi all included in the price.

The management truly extends a personalized service that exceeds even the service standards of 5-stars hotel. The receptionist provided a map of the vicinity and clearly indicted the locations of the hotel and various important landmarks (airport, Ben Thanh market), recommended reputable taxi companies plus the estimated cost from hotel to destinations.

Cons:
My only gripe was the actual location of the hotel. The address of the hotel is not the actual location of the hotel. The actual hotel is a short walk in one of the small dark alleys. I arrived at the hotel at 10 pm and was lost in the alley for a frightening 5-10 mins. There was no hotel name on the gate of the hotel. Fortunately, the porter opened the gates and the receptionist welcomed me by name even before I identified myself.

All said, I will definitely stay here again if I am around the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We came here based on great reviews and two different couples recommending it so we were expecting a lot. The hotel is lovely, quite close to the airport. Staff were welcoming. The signature room was small but lovely, with fab decor. We checked out the next day and asked if we could leave our bags for the day, which the co owner agreed too. As we weren't flying back to london until 9pm we were going shopping for the day. We asked if we could shower when we got back, before we went to the airport. The co owner said we could use a bathroom but it wasn't in a room and it would cost 10 dollars per person, we were very shocked at this prize, especially since we had paid £55 for the room which is a very very high price for Vietnam. We resolved to deal with the cost later and told the co owner we would be back at around 5pm. We arrived back later than expected (5.50pm) because of the awful traffic (do not stay here when you want to explore ho chi Minh, it's too far) and it took 40 minutes to get back. There was a lady on reception who said we could shower, but it was 10 dollars per person and we needed to go in one by one. I told her this was very expensive and could we pay 10 dollars for two people, she said no. Now considering that we paid £12 a night in a really nice hotel in district one when we arrived in ho chi Minh over two weeks earlier, we couldn't believe they were charging more than this for a five minute shower.
We asked if we could pay on card, when the girl called the owner (natasha I think) to ask her about paying on card, she told us that now we couldn't have a shower now as we said we would come back at five and it was now six!
As we were about to travel for 16 hours and really needed a shower, we asked to speak to the owner. She came and said all the rooms were occupied so we couldn't shower, I told her the co owner had said there was a bathroom we could use, she said there wasn't and his English wasn't good (his English was very good). Then I asked if the rooms were all occupied how could we have had a shower at 5pm but on 6pm, had a load of guests arrived in the last hour? She then went back on what she said and said they weren't occupied. She then said it was because the cleaner had gone home and there would be no one to clean up after us.
I told her this was unacceptable, we had been told we could shower and were even going to pay 20 dollars for it. I told her this was a ridiculous price anyway and she said all hotels charge the same to use the shower. When I told her we been in Vietnam for two and a half weeks and knew his wasn't the case, she went quiet.
My boyf asked if there was anywhere else we might be able to use a shower (a spa near by or something) she said there was absolutely not. As we were collecting our things to walk out I told her i'd be giving ma maison a bad review on trip advisor and guess what? She let us use a bathroom, which wasn't in a room but in their office (remember she had told me that there were no bathrooms in the hotels apart from the ones in the rooms)
She also didn't charge us. It's amazing that telling her we would give her a bad review meant that suddenly a shower that she said never existed appeared and she didn't charge us, although she said this is what all hotels do in Vietnam!
Basically I think as they didn't want the 20 dollars to go through the system ( which it would need to if we paid on card) they just decided to not let us shower. When I left I told her she was trying to rip travellers off, and get every last penny from them. She said the 20 dollars wasn't to use the shower but rent a room for the afternoon, why then I asked did they charge per person (if you were renting a room then surely it would be a set price?) and why did the receptionist say we had to use the shower 'one by one'? Basically she was trying anything to get us back on side, which didn't work. Stay somewhere else, for that price you could get something amazing in ho chi Minh that's in the centre.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaMaisonboutique, General Manager at Ma Maison Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us.

We trust that non of hotel will be responsible for letting the guests (who already check out the hotel for 06 hours ago) to use a new room for having shower after checking out at 12.00hrs

Our morning shift receptionist had offered you to book a single room with cost 20 USD to rest and shower but this offer was only valid until 4.00 pm as we would need this room for other guest to check in (since we have only 12 rooms). However you came back at 6.00 pm and the room was not available anymore. There is a bathroom in our office house and we had offered you to shower and change over there with free of charge. Our hotel team had been worked hard to contribute a good reputation for Ma Maison Boutique hotel in such 3 years so the concerning thing is absolutely not in 20 USD as your own consideration.

We only regret that you did not enjoy the art and beauty of our Ma Maison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ma Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Address: 656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 389 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ma Maison Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short alley from the main Cach Mang Thang Tam Street, Ma Maison Boutique Hotel caters to demanding clients of long-term expats and French art aficionados. Located in a local labor area where Vietnamese daily real life can be reflected in its most truthful way, this boutique house is brought out to be such an extraordinary in every possible way. Leaving behind the bustling daily routines, first impression would be like straying into a totally different world. Sensation of art, peacefulness and nature-friendliness may balance to fulfill its charming. Ma Maison features Provence style in which bright sunshine and decoration theme have been embraced to create a relaxed look in this guesthouse. Antique design, refinement and sumptuous materials combined with standard services and its harmony in decoration would make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ma Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Maison Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.