We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ma Maison Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at Ma Maison, the hotel is spotless, air conditioning cold and bed very comfy - what more does anyone need! the breakfast, both the french and vietnamese versions, were great. I would have no hesitation on recommending this hotel to friends or family, indeed, I would insist that they spend some time here to escape the non-stop bussle of the city. Finding the hotel within district 3 is a bit tricky, and the taxi drivers very keen to take the long way round. It should cost around 80 dong from district one (depending on traffic and honesty of the driver we found it cost anything from 64 dong to 91 dong ). The staff, particularly Ha, were very helpful with booking taxis, giving recommendations etc.
One slight niggle was that not all the tv channels worked, and the complimentary soft drinks are kept downstairs and not in the room fridge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    84
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
32
236
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel gives a very good overall appearance. The owner was trained in Germany therefore is service-minded and has a great sense for details of the interieur. The breakfast was excellent, we tried the english breakfast as well as the vietnamese breakfast. Our room was well designed and cosy. No noise from the streets could be heard.
The hotel is a little far away from the city centre. in the nearer area one can hardly find a good place for having dinner or a snack unless one does not fear trying the food stalls along the main road. Unfortunately the hotel did not offer any lunch or dinner menu.
Though, we enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Took TripAdvisor recommendations and stayed here on an unexpected layover. Lovely hotel; professional, warm and caring staff; spotless, good breakfast. Location not far from airport, so great for my short stay. (Paid $50 incl. tax - figure $4 taxi each way to downtown, so $58 effectively.) excellent value. An oasis in a less-than-scenic neighborhood. Will stay again if back in town. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our stay in this little gem was all to short, just two nights. The host and staff are extremely professional, which came as quite a surprise in such a small place in the back streets of District 3 . Nothing was too much trouble for them. While the hotel is a short distance from the centre of town, the taxi ride is inexpensive, and the relative peace and calm makes up for any inconvenience. It is a shorter ride to the airport than from the centre of Saigon.
All in all a very elegant and sophisticated hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's a small quaint hotel. Kind of hard to find, but surely away from the tourist crowd. It is very local, and to go in and out of the hotel, you have to pass by a safe alley where you can find local people going about their daily lives.

Inside the hotel though, you are transported to a different world. It's very quiet, old-world charming. The rooms are quite small but with nonetheless the same amenities as a regular hotel. Breakfast was superb. If you are the buffet kind of person, then this is not for you. But, they serve very good Pho, a delicious baguette after the pho, coffee and juice, then they end it with the sweetest watermelon ever. On the first day, we had watermelon and dragon fruit, the second was watermelon and papaya, and the last breakfast, we had watermelon, papaya and pineapple. Mind you, the portions are not small!!

It might be far from where the tourists eat, shop and sight-see, but the staff was most helpful in getting you a taxi. They were always there to serve you!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, which was good cause there were no elevators. No complaints though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

You forget you're in Vietnam when staying at Ma Maison. The hotel is beautifully decorated with many nice details. The rooms were small but intimate. The staff were very professional and everyone knew our names which made us feel at home. The only negative comment is the location. It is not close to city centre, and when traveling during rush hour in the morning and evening - it can take up to 30minutes to reach the destination. So the best plan is to go out for the entire day because it is too time consuming to go back and forth. Otherwise, we very much enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The host has extensive hospitality experience with major hotels in Vietnam and it shows in his own venture. His advice to ensure you get the best from each and every day was spot on.
The staff also share the host's enthusiasm to assist.
The property is neat and tidy with the rooms having comfortable poroprtions.
The location is in a genuine / authentic neighbourhood around USD4 taxi ride from Saigon downtown. Felt safe at all times.

Room Tip: Worth paying a few dollars more for the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ma Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Address: 656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short alley from the main Cach Mang Thang Tam Street, Ma Maison Boutique Hotel caters to demanding clients of long-term expats and French art aficionados. Located in a local labor area where Vietnamese daily real life can be reflected in its most truthful way, this boutique house is brought out to be such an extraordinary in every possible way. Leaving behind the bustling daily routines, first impression would be like straying into a totally different world. Sensation of art, peacefulness and nature-friendliness may balance to fulfill its charming. Ma Maison features Provence style in which bright sunshine and decoration theme have been embraced to create a relaxed look in this guesthouse. Antique design, refinement and sumptuous materials combined with standard services and its harmony in decoration would make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Ma Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Maison Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.