We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location and Comfy Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catina Saigon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Catina Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Catina Saigon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #63 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Central Location and Comfy Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I travelled on business to Vietnam and stayed at the Catina Saigon Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City. A typical boutique hotel, my stay was comfortable and pleasant. My room was spacious enough but it did not have a window. The bed was soft and cosy and I could rest well after a long day of meetings and presentations! I had an extra day before getting back home and decided to explore the city a little. Thanks to the strategic location of the Catina Saigon Hotel, I was able to visit most tourist attractions by foot. It is just minutes away from the Opera House and City Hall. The breakfast options were plenty and I enjoyed my meals. The staff was cordial and warm and were very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    112
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
94
21
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Good price for a hotel in the heart of the city. We had a window room which was only a light well but was very quiet. Room was a good size, clean and comfortable with cable tv, free wifi and daily bottled water. There was a good choice of both Asian and Western food for breakfast with eggs cooked to order. Staff were friendly and helpful. We organised a hotel pickup from the airport and although more expensive it was great to arrive after a long flight and have no hassle. On leaving we had the cheaper taxi from outside of the hotel.
We had pre-arranged a tour guide (Bao Loc- privatevietnamtourguide.com) who was excellent.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Catina Saigon Hotel offered us exactly what they promised. The location is unbeatable. The room, new, clean and spacious, had everything we needed for our short stay in HCMC. The breakfast could have been better with more varieties, but was sufficient. The receptionists were always reliable and professional.

We had been worried about our arrival on the Christmas Eve. We asked Catina for an airport pickup, and despite the craziest traffic ever, the driver skillfully drove us to the hotel, providing us a lifetime experience in the mob of motorcycles! Upon departure, we had a slight problem with our driver (not arranged by Catina) but the bell staff was kind enough to ensure that we left for the next destination safely. We are very grateful for such attentiveness.

The lack of open-air spaces, such as swimming pools, cafes and terraces, initially disappointed us; however, given the air pollution so harsh outside, we found the enclosure rather relieving. We had a room with windows, which faced only shafts not the street. The room had enough sun in the morning and daytime, but not the noise, to our relief.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a pleasant surprise. This hotel is located in a great location. It is in the center of the city, in the shopping district. We got a decent size room for the price we paid. Compare to our last stay at the other hotel in Saigon (Signature Saigon), this one is way better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Kudos to the staff for providing excellent service. It's also centrally located, most tourist spots are just a few blocks away. Restaurants and shops are also right around the corner the moment you get out of the hotel. There's a money changer and a well-known cafe also right across, oh a convenience store as well. The food was also excellent and very filling. Public transportation also isn't a problem. Would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived almost at 2:00 am check in was fast and easy. Found the room clean and spacious with the usual complete room and bathroom amenities with complimentary drinks like water, coffee, tea , fruits and newspaper. Aircon can easily be adjusted to your liking, light control is within easy reach on night table. Buffet breakfast was good; liked the waffle and crepe, especially their croissants. Hotel location was great with walking distance to restaurants, city attractions , money changers and Vietnam's well known coffee shop is just in front of the hotel.The staff was friendly, helpful, accommodating and service was fast. Overall had a wonderful stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed in Catina for 3 days 2 nights just before Christmas. Booked this hotel based on TA reviews, and give it a try.
No regret as the hotel itself is wonderful, only 5 floors with a restaurant at 1st floor.
Check-in was easy, just show the online confirmation number, and there comes the room keycard. NOTE: no proper reception hall/area, one must walk through a jewerly shop to reach the reception counter :-).
we had booked a Deluxe Room with window, facing the main street. At night, it might be a little noisy but fine for me. NOTE: most of the rooms are without windows due to the layout of the hotel.
Room is spacious, clean and complete with ammenities.
Breakfast was not too fancy, but plenty of eastern/western choices, will be fine as long as you are not staying there too long.

Overall, services are good. From the reception, bell boy even the cleaner. always greet us when they see us.

Definitely a good choice if I ever visit Saigon again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catina Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catina Saigon Hotel

Address: 109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catina Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique Catina Saigon Hotel offers our patrons a cozy and pleasant accommodation, with all the luxurious facilities of a high class business hotel. Located in the very centre of Ho Chi Minh city, near Ben Thanh Market, Notre-Dame Cathedral, City Theatre, Municipal Government offices, Parson shopping center, office buildings, shops, bars and restaurants, Catina Saigon Hotel is an ideal place for both businessmen and tourists. Catina Saigon Hotel assures you a comfortable and memorable stay at an unbeatable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Catina Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catina Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.