We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catina Saigon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Catina Saigon Hotel to your Saves list
Catina Saigon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #55 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I chose Catina Saigon after reading the reviews at Tripadvisor and I am happy to have chosen to stay there for five nights with my family. The beds were comfortable and room was clean and spacious. The location of the hotel was ideal with good shopping places and good restaurants all within walking distance. The staff was attentive and when I had a problem with our room door, it was immediately fixed. The buffet breakfast changed daily and had many choices. I would definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to my family and friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear travellingbetty9,

Your kind words are very encouraging for all of us, which we greatly appreciate and will attempt to always improve.

It will be pleasant to welcome you and your family to our hotel again.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    101
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
85
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds - england
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

On the plus side the location of the hotel is great, bang in the centre about 200 yards from the Caravell hotel, the rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed.

The breakfast could do with some work, it just seemed a bit tired and low quality.

For the price I'd say this is a good place to stay and apart from the breakfast caveat I'd be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear mdstephenson,

Thank you for your comments, both the positive and the negative.
Regarding the breakfast, we understand that we should make the beginning of the day more lively and with higher quality.
We look forward to seeing you again for an improved stay at our hotel.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Catina. The location was convenient, and the rooms very clean and spacious. The extra little things like slippers and dressing gowns were a nice touch, and the beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. I agree that the English of the staff was not the best, however they managed to understand us and get us what we needed. Checkout was however a little slow but overall I think that for a small hotel, their service is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Kiwichicks,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.com.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will train our staffs to be more better in service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on next trip in HCMC.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dickson, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Catina for 2 nights during Xmas eve. The hotel location was great, I have no trouble getting Halal food and finding Mosque. They are just 70 meters way. 3 Halal restaurants are D'Nyonya, Halal@Saigon and Bombay.. Thus, highly recommend this hotel to my Muslim brothers & sisters. The staff was very friendly and always with a great smile. I will return to this hotel should I re-visit Saigon in near future.

Room Tip: Choose non-window room if you don't like the noise form vehicle and honking. You may ask hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear PUF-176,

Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor.com.

It is our pleasure to hear that you had good experience during your staying with us. Happy New Year 2013 to you and your family.

We are hoping to welcome you and your family in next trip in HCMC.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore,
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Highly recommend Catina Saigon hotel as a great place to stay in HCMC. The quality of the room is higher than I expected. The location is very convenient. Walkable to nearby attraction and Parkson shopping center. Plenty of nice restaurants around the hotel. Breakfast served at the hotel has a decent selection and good. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back again.

Room Tip: Room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Clara C,

Thank you for your valuable comments.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on next trip in HCMC.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The location of the hotel is great, it could not be better. I found the staff had a poor understanding of English and thre was a bit of an argument between two members of staff when we checked in, not sure what this was about as I don't speak Vietnemese but it was not exactly a warm welcome. When we asked about a surcharge if we paid on a creidt card we got a very strange answer. We got a newspaper every day which was good and a nice bowl of fruit on our arrival. Breakfast was ok but there was no explanation about what you could have cooked ie eggs, waffles etc.
The room was big and clean as was the bathroom. The main door to the room was very heavy and a lot of people banged the doors in the morning hence not good for sleeping past 7am. The tea and coffee was not renewed on day twoand my husband got a snotty note from the head housekeeper as he had taken the face cloth on an outing. You think we had made off with the crown jewels!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear EnglandMoses,

Thank you for your remarks about our services, especially the front office staffs. I have talked to them to improve their attitude as well as to provide suitable explanation and full information on our guests' inquiries. Regarding the cloth, the head housekeeper might have just wanted to ask (again, not politely) if you had put it somewhere so that she could retrieve. Actually, we did not request compensation.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future, that time certainly with more amiable attitude from all our staffs.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Traveling in Asia can be difficult to find western amenities such as soft bed and comfy pillows with spacious rooms and bathrooms. Rest assured that Catina fits the bill and is in a great location to walk to many sites. The staff was great in getting cabs and booking dinner reservations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Saigon Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Tricia F,

Thank you for your nice experience about Catina Saigon hote.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our bed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on the next trip in HCMC.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catina Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catina Saigon Hotel

Address: 109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catina Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique Catina Saigon Hotel offers our patrons a cozy and pleasant accommodation, with all the luxurious facilities of a high class business hotel. Located in the very centre of Ho Chi Minh city, near Ben Thanh Market, Notre-Dame Cathedral, City Theatre, Municipal Government offices, Parson shopping center, office buildings, shops, bars and restaurants, Catina Saigon Hotel is an ideal place for both businessmen and tourists. Catina Saigon Hotel assures you a comfortable and memorable stay at an unbeatable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catina Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catina Saigon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.