We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort away from the hectic streets of Saigon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Long Hostel to your Saves list
Long Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   373/10 Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfort away from the hectic streets of Saigon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arranged via the hostel for a car & driver to collect us at the airport. We were met and whisked across town through the mental traffic, to a waiting member of staff, who assisted us in crossing the street with our luggage! We were given green tea and bananas while we filled in the paperwork. Our room was on the 3rd floor and we were again helped with our luggage. Room was very comfortable, with 1 double bed and a large single bed. Huge mirrors make it look bigger too. We had a balcony that overlooked the alley below. Room 301. AC, fridge, tv and hot water, along with a lockable wardrobe, and lots of hanging space!

We organised a trip via Tiger Tours within a couple of hours of arriving .... This is a wonderfully exciting way to get a view of the city ... If you can afford to do it .... Well worth $30.

We were given maps and details written in for us. .... Very personal touches.

Breakfast was fresh bread & jam, Asian noodles or omelet depending on who was on duty ... All good. Coffee is also excellent.

Bit disappointed with the laundry as a white shirt came back splodged with pink spots, but that was not the fault of the hostel.

All in all, good central location, helpful, informed staff, comfortable and pretty quiet rooms (given the location).

Room Tip: 301 .... AC 1 x double & 1 x single beds. Fridge, tv and hot shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    82
    16
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
146
83
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marcoola, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few budget hotels in HCMC. Long Hostel is the best. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotless (a rarity anywhere in HCMC - especially in the budget end). Breakfast every morning was delicious and always served with a smile. I was made to feel like one of the family during my stay. I would definitely recommend and wouldn't stay anywhere else in HCMC. One hint - book well in advance - this place is going to be permanently booked out it's so good! Thank you Mrs Long, Mr Lee & Ngoc - I miss you all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lovely family runs this place! Great location! Breakfast was ok and they made us food to go when we had to catch an early flight. The rooms are totally fine, and they clean them daily. They have a fridge and AC which is key in this city! When you arrive they sit down with you and show you a map and write in all the places they recommend (including a blind massage school) and restaurants to meet your needs. We do not eat meat, so they showed us a bunch of cool places to try. The only warning I would give is that they do not have an elevator, so if you have difficulty with lots of stairs you might want to let them know ahead of time so they can accommodate you. Our room was on the top floor, so it was a bit of a hike each time we forgot something in the room. Overall, this place is very good and the Long family makes it fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Long hostel 2 nights and I cant recommend this hostel enough. The people are very friendly and they can give a map of the city with all the places to visit. they can also arrange to pick you up from the airport which is very convenient. I paid about $14 a night and there is a little breakfast included. Hostel is very clean and it has hot water.

The hostel is in a great location, right in the tourist area yet in a very quiet back alley to you don't have all the noises from the bars, and ere is a local market in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Friendly people and lots of love. A great little spot. A little mix-up with a "3 bed dorm" that only had 2 beds, but we worked something out. They can help you with tours and all sorts of stuff in this crazy city. A nice little spot, kinda hard to find down the alley, but worth it. Thanks for a great time Mrs. Long!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 nights in November and cant recommend this hostel enough.
The people we very friendly and even arranged an airport pickup for us.

The hostel is in a great location and right next to a local market so you can see real vietnamese life and not just the tourist area.
I think we paid arrange £11 a night great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at in a private room at the Long Hostel for 5 nights in total and was largely influenced by the numerous good reviews I had read. I was not disappointed. This is a family-run establishment and that is what underlies the atmosphere of the place.
My room was always clean and serviced daily. It was comfortable and truly functional and even had a bar fridge besides air conditioning and fan. When I first arrived I was greeted with warm hospitality - iced tea and bananas, which was a really nice touch after a long bus trip. A map was also provided depicting the most popular tourist sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Hostel

Address: 373/10 Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 211 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Long Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Long Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.