We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "Homestay" Type Experience In HCMC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Long Hostel to your Saves list
Long Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   373/10 Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Marcoola, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best "Homestay" Type Experience In HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed in quite a few budget hotels in HCMC. Long Hostel is the best. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotless (a rarity anywhere in HCMC - especially in the budget end). Breakfast every morning was delicious and always served with a smile. I was made to feel like one of the family during my stay. I would definitely recommend and wouldn't stay anywhere else in HCMC. One hint - book well in advance - this place is going to be permanently booked out it's so good! Thank you Mrs Long, Mr Lee & Ngoc - I miss you all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    106
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
172
110
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lovely family runs this place! Great location! Breakfast was ok and they made us food to go when we had to catch an early flight. The rooms are totally fine, and they clean them daily. They have a fridge and AC which is key in this city! When you arrive they sit down with you and show you a map and write in all the places they recommend (including a blind massage school) and restaurants to meet your needs. We do not eat meat, so they showed us a bunch of cool places to try. The only warning I would give is that they do not have an elevator, so if you have difficulty with lots of stairs you might want to let them know ahead of time so they can accommodate you. Our room was on the top floor, so it was a bit of a hike each time we forgot something in the room. Overall, this place is very good and the Long family makes it fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Long hostel 2 nights and I cant recommend this hostel enough. The people are very friendly and they can give a map of the city with all the places to visit. they can also arrange to pick you up from the airport which is very convenient. I paid about $14 a night and there is a little breakfast included. Hostel is very clean and it has hot water.

The hostel is in a great location, right in the tourist area yet in a very quiet back alley to you don't have all the noises from the bars, and ere is a local market in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Friendly people and lots of love. A great little spot. A little mix-up with a "3 bed dorm" that only had 2 beds, but we worked something out. They can help you with tours and all sorts of stuff in this crazy city. A nice little spot, kinda hard to find down the alley, but worth it. Thanks for a great time Mrs. Long!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 nights in November and cant recommend this hostel enough.
The people we very friendly and even arranged an airport pickup for us.

The hostel is in a great location and right next to a local market so you can see real vietnamese life and not just the tourist area.
I think we paid arrange £11 a night great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at in a private room at the Long Hostel for 5 nights in total and was largely influenced by the numerous good reviews I had read. I was not disappointed. This is a family-run establishment and that is what underlies the atmosphere of the place.
My room was always clean and serviced daily. It was comfortable and truly functional and even had a bar fridge besides air conditioning and fan. When I first arrived I was greeted with warm hospitality - iced tea and bananas, which was a really nice touch after a long bus trip. A map was also provided depicting the most popular tourist sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. For the price you pay you get a good standard hostel. Long family helpful and cared for all our needs! Slightly tricky to find, but head for Market and you should be able to find it. Rooms clean but basic and good location for back packer area. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#21 of 396 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 396 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#1 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Town House 23 Saigon
Town House 23 Saigon
#3 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#7 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
#30 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Hostel

Address: 373/10 Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 298 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Long Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Long Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.