We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great introduction to Vietnamese life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Long Hostel to your Saves list
Long Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   373/10 Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Vietnamese life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Long Guest House has an excellent location in a quiet alley right in the heart of the backpackers district of Ho Chi Minh City. It is therefore walking distance from most of the tourist attractions in the centre of the city.

When booking our stay, we received very clear and helpful instructions from Mr Long on how to get from the airport to the guest house. On arrival, after serving us iced tea and sesame biscuits, Mrs Long took time to give us a brief orientation of where to go and what to see in the city, which proved to be very helpful. Overall the staff was always friendly and eager to help with anything we might need.

Our room had an ensuite bathroom with toilet and shower and everything was very clean. Additionally the room had an aircon, fan, wardrobe and desk. No safety deposit box, but the wardrobe could be locked so we stored our valuables in there. The room was cleaned daily.

Laundry could be handed in at reception and washed, dried and folded at 1 USD per kg.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and each day there was a choice between Vietnamese or Western breakfast. Mrs Long's homemade preserves are really good!

The Long Guest House is a good family run, value for money place to stay at, and the service is excellent. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    100
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
166
97
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My family of 4 spent 3 nights at Longs' Guesthouse. The service and tips from Mrs Long and her family members helped to make our stay easy and enjoyable. On booking we received an e-mail explaining which taxi service to use, instructions to give to the driver in both English and Vietnamese and how much to pay for the trip (US$8). Two family members were waiting to help us across the road on our arrival. On our first evening Mrs Long took the time to sit with us and offer advice on restaurants, markets, tours, etc. We are so glad we took her advice. Would recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for clean, affordable accommodation in a central location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

You will not find a friendlier host than Mrs Long. Her english is good, and she is full of tips about where to go, where no to go, and how to avoid getting ripped off in Ho Chi Minh. She serves simple welcoming food on your arrival and at breakfast. The rooms are basic but also clean, and more than adequate - remember it's a not really a hotel.
Her place is well situated (albeit down a narrow alley) on the edge of the tourist area, near the bustling Thai Bin Market and the park. You can escape the tourists within a couple of minutes, and there are loads of good street food places nearby. Would I stay there again? Yes, no question.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We only had 1 night in HCM City, but we are so glad to have spent it at Long Guesthouse. Owned and run by the charming Mrs Long and her family, we found that they treated us not as mere guests but almost part of the family! When we arrived Mrs Long sat us down offered us cups of tea with sesame snaps and ran us through her numerous tips of survival in the big city. She was also wonderful in helping us plan our short time in HCM so as to get the most out of it. Though the room was small and simple, it was absolutely fine for our stay. One small issue for us was that there was nothing to separate the shower from the toilet but given we were only there for 1 night, it was easily tolerable. The breakfast of freshly baked baguettes with butter and home made spreads plus lovely vietnamese coffee was very tasty. Thank you Mrs Long and family for an enjoyable stay in HCM!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here four nights and were very satisfied. We agree with the rest that the hospitality was exceptional! Madame Long and her family was very helpful in every way, listen to everything she says, all her recomendations in restaurants, tours, buses etc was impecable. The breakfast great, the room clean, good wifi, very central, in the middle to the backpacker area. When we tried to book another night she was fullbooked but arranged a room for us at an another great hostel nearby. Truly recommend this hostel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Exceptional hospitality. Lovely madame who owns the guesthouse and her family recieve guests as their friends, and it's sincerely. The rooms are very simple but clean. Maybe the price for the room is little big more than the room with such interior may cost, but if you're not crazy about décor, you might feel comfortable here.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the harder to climb the staircase... Try to take a room at the 1st or 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Most of the great reviews on TA come from when this place was at a smaller establishment. It is still good value for money, but I don’t really buy in to the “home away from home” image. I was lucky in that I stayed on the first floor, because there is no lift. The room had no window, but what scared me was the lack of fire escapes or any kind of alternative exit – at least on the first floor. So I was in a window-less room at the end of a narrow corridor with no exit except back down the stairs to the front door. So if there was a fire you would be toast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Hostel

Address: 373/10 Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 275 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Long Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Long Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.