We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cat Huy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cat Huy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cat Huy Hotel
353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for 4 days and it's really deserve the award. Although we have to walk again through small street but the place really beyond our expectation. It's clean, comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. And it's near ben tanh market, post office, saigon opera house and cathedral. Absolutely will be back if we travel to ho chi minh again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    109
    20
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
143
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My best friend and I booked this hotel for 6 nights after considering many other options and I am so glad that we did. Central location - walking distance to the eateries around the area and to the backpacker district. The hotel is in a little alley that becomes a lovely street market for the locals in the mornings - I loved waking up to seeing the locals get their fresh produce in the mornings. The room was excellent and had everything we needed, including a delightful balcony. The front end staff were very friendly as well - I was sick on one night and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help me out.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view on the street market - highlights your experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked this hotel for 4 nights after so many great reviews. It deserves it's awards! Service is so friendly, rooms were large, and the free breakfast was delicious! Loved waking up to an alleyway market outside the hotel. Easy to find and close enough to the sites without all the price gouging, noise, and tourists. I could stay for a month (and it would still be cheaper than my apartment in Chicago!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This place is awesome. Good location, GREAT rooms, and even better service. The breakfast was delicious in my opinion. I highly recommend getting the beef Pho! Could not ask for more in a hotel ESPECIALLY at such a great price!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt in Sachsen, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was a comfortable stay here, with clean and elegant rooms, although not much decors to see. The room was clean and organized, it smelled fresh and with peppermint tea to welcome us, it was a marvelous refreshment from the travels that we had. The bathroom was amazingly clean -- for the price that we paid, I was expecting less, but it was spick and span, and I truly felt that it was well-kept. I'm quite particular with bathrooms when splurging, but not when under budget. I would say this gave more value to our money. Our breakfast was fantastic, with Pho soup on the menu. The staff is amazing, from the doorman to the room service. Simple yet awesome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and it is everything you need in a hotel, central location, great service, clean, great price and even a lovely breakfast! I left my phone behind in the hotel with all my photos of our trip so far I emailed the hotel and they found my phone, kept it safe for me and dropped it up to a bus station to be delivered to me in Cambodia. Perfect hotel would definitely recommend it!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Lovely small hotel and a great location, down the alley where the locals sell their wares, a noisy but friendly atmosphere. In district 1 and in walking distance to great shopping, market and restaurants. The hotel is newish, very clean and we loved the layout of the rooms, with some extra touches that some other hotels don't have... table and chairs, little balcony, and extra roomy to store our luggage out of sight. It was safe and secure, and very quiet at night time. The staff were great, always very helpful, and went out of their way to assist us in any way that they could. Breakfast was good, fresh, but not much variety. If you have mobility problems, request a room on the lower floors (no elevator). We'd stay there anytime.

Room Tip: no elevator so if stairs are a problem request lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cat Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Huy Hotel

Address: 353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cat Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cat Huy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.