We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed it, but my boys got bored.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater

Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater
55B Nguyen Thi Minh Khai St. | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
84-88272653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 289 Activities in Ho Chi Minh City
Type: Performances
Attraction details
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it, but my boys got bored.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

It was culturally interesting, but as it was all in Vietnamese my boys who are 5 and 8 lost interest after 20 minutes.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    335
    143
    29
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
if1918
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Culturally interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I found this show quite bizarre, but definitely a must when visiting Vietnam. Suitably for, and enjoyable by, adults and children alike.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Although I did not understand the singing as it was in Vietnamese, the show was simple enough to understand. Very beautiful puppets and entertaining.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spend the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

It's about $5. It's niches. It's kitschy. It's touristy. But it's a show you won't see anywhere else on the planet. Just do it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“If you are over 5ft tall, you will need an isle seat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

There is no leg room for normal legs at all. Otherwise we really enjoyed the puppet show. It was a little bit like a pantomime, but with singing and amazing costumes. The show is not very long, but it is a great insight to Vietnamese culture and so artistically executed. I still haven't worked out how they do it!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.