We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Show” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater

Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater
55B Nguyen Thi Minh Khai St. | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
84-88272653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 290 Activities in Ho Chi Minh City
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Awesome Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This show is a great way to learn a little more about Vietnamese culture.

Try and get a seat close to the front, so you can watch the incredible skill that the puppeters execute as they dance their puppets over the water in front of you.

Despite the fact it was in Vietnamese, it was easy to understand what was happening.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    335
    143
    29
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“An Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What is a visit to Vietnam if you don't watch a water puppet show. The ticket to the show is relatively cheap. The entire show lasted for less than an hour and it showcased about 20 different short stories. No subtitle nor translation. Still... it was interesting and funny.
The auditorium has very comfy seats and is air-conditioned if you worry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Although the narration was all in Vietnamese and we couldn't understand a word, we were genuinely entertained by this water puppet show. We had never seen anything like it and found it a unique experience. It wasn't expensive either. We would definitely recommend our friends to go and see it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An Authentic Vietnamese Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I decided to see the show after missing one in Hanoi. It costs about $7 USD to get in, cheap for how incredible the performance is. It is about 45 mins long and in a nice, A/C theater in the middle of District 1. There is water available for purchase at the door. Basically, the show consists of a small group of musicians on either side of the stage which is water. A small set is placed above the water and towards the back with a curtain separating the puppeteers which are standing in the water using poles to direct the puppets. It is very animated with some fireworks, loud bangs and splashes, and a humor. According to the announcer this particular show is world renowned and the best in Vietnam. Because it is an art form specific to Vietnamese this is probably the best place to visit it. We absolutely loved it and would recommend it to anyone visiting, both young and old.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“super fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

this ppupet show its unique! i have 24 years and i feel waching the show like a 5 years old having fun waching tje puppet in the water!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.