We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater

Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater
55B Nguyen Thi Minh Khai St. | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
84-88272653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 293 Activities in Ho Chi Minh City
Type: Performances
Attraction details
Southern California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Funny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Never seen anything quite like this before. It is a Vienamese tradition dating back almost 1000 years. Children would really get a kick out of this. The show was very entertaining

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    335
    143
    29
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Entertaining, unique insight to Vietnam culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theatre is unique to Vietnam and not something that you would normally find in any other city. Situated inside a quaint and original theatre, this could require some renovation. Singers and musicians sit either side of the stage and tell a story musically in Vietnam. Easy to understand in any language, sound effects and emphasis accompanies the lively stories. The puppets are skillfully manipulated in a water pond in the front of the stage. This is very popular with both locals and tourists and definetly worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A jolly hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Unusual by Western standards, and therefor interesting.
Very enthusiastic and lively performance by musicians/commentators. A bit incomprehensible in parts, but entertaining - recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Interesting place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I just happen to see this attraction in a map I bought. It's an unusual experience. I wish there was a close caption but nevertheless, it is a beautiful puppet show.

I suggest getting seats closest to the stage as much as possible.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interestin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Would be a lot better to go with a local so you understand what the story line is and get a feel of the whole play as its all done in Vietnamese

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Dragon Water Puppet Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.