We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sophia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sophia Hotel to your Saves list
Sophia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   36 - 38 Thai Van Lung, Ben Nghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 678 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Brockdish
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Central location.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Functional hotel with comfortable beds and good hot showers....good location for exploring the city. Very helpful staff and clean presentable rooms. Buffet breakfast was ok though not substantial. Sadly no view to speak of with one very small window.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    158
    61
    9
    1
See reviews for
6
18
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was ok. It was clean enough and was fine to spend a few nights, but probably wouldn't go back. When we checked out they tried to charge us for washing and water that we hadn't used however we just told them that we didn't use either of the services and they quickly figured out we didn't so was easily dealt with. It may be suitable for what others are looking for but being backpackers the area was a little bit expensive compared to others and out of the way of where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We expected a high standard after experiencing another good hotel in HCMC earlier in our trip but considering what we paid this was a disappointing hotel. The room was very small and the both the room and bathroom need updating. The worst thing was that there was only a tiny window which you couldn't see out of or even raise the blinds.

Breakfast was revolting - I wouldn't recommend eating it as my boyfriend got food poisoning shortly after eating it.

Avoid this hotel, you'll find much better bargains! Try the Cap Town hotel instead!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great value for money. 3 of us stayed in a Family Room. Comfortable and clean. Everything a good hotel is. Yes, it is in a great location - District 1. Within walking distance to Parkson and Vincom Centre (for Mango Zara fans). And to Cho Ben Thanh market it is a comfortable 10-20min straight walk. We enjoyed out stay very much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here four days in a row and were very happy. The breakfast buffet we did not get once as we ate outside and I am not a big fan of these types of breakfasts. The location is right next to some good eateries such as Pho 2000 (great cheap Beef pho 55dongs), Pizza Hut (much better than the sheat they sell in UK) and Le Jardin, which is highly rated restaurant both in Tripadvisor and Lonely Planet.

The beds springs were a bit of the hard side, but the staff were nice to change rooms. The wifi worked fine. The lobby staff were great and even helped me to get a football match that had worked the night before, working again. The staff speak good english. It is a 3 star hotel but easily feels like 4-5 with the great location. Vincom center is 3 blocks away, Diamond Plaza 4 blocks away. Ben Thanm market is around 10-12 mins walk away.

I had originally stayed at the Alcove Library Hotel and when we moved here we were a lot better off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Sophia hotel has been a pleasure to stay here. The staff are very professional and so helpful.
The young man who I think is the manager (if he isn't he should be) has made our stay so easy.
The location is central to everything in district 1 and has nice restaurants close by also an Aussie rules pub ( grand final )
Around the corner. Would recommend this hotel for an easy stay in HCMC

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Spacious rooms and very clean.

Breakfast simple but nice.

Great location...within walking distance to most attractions

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sophia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophia Hotel

Address: 36 - 38 Thai Van Lung, Ben Nghe Ward, Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sophia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sophia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.