We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant, perct service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Asiana Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Asiana Saigon to your Saves list
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Hai Ba Trung St. & | Le Duan Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant, perct service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We didnt stay here at the hotel. We came here for Yuchu restaurant, 1st floor, Intercontinental Hotel. We chose the Dmsum buffet on a weekday. The server was so nice and friendly, he offered us a variety of choices instead of buffet if we didnt eat alot. But we still decided to have the buffet to experience everything. The food was well cooked, service is extremely fast and perfect. The servers were so helpful and knew what we needed before we did order.
The hotel met the standard of a 5-star one.
A good place to come if you are staying at the hotel. The price is affordable and everything meet the hygience standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela S, Director of Sales & Marketing at InterContinental Asiana Saigon, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your very positive review of our Yu Chu Restaurant.

I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. I have passed your feedback to F&B Director and our Chef, they will for sure give the feedback to the team.

I must agree with you, I also love the food in Yu Chu, the selection of Dim Sum is fantastic.

Thank you once again and we very much hope we will welcome you back to our hotel in the very near future.

Best regards,


Michaela


Michaela Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    342
    55
    10
    5
See reviews for
230
633
108
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We didn't get an upgrade to the executive floor; I suppose because it wasn't exactly off-peak season. The hotel overall was new and the interior was sufficiently modern. The lobby however was a bit small and suffocating. The location on the other hand is very good; you could walk to most of the attractions in the CBD provided you can withstand the hot and humid tropical climate.

I never understood why some 5-star hotels like this one don't simply offer free wifi. You could say that since most patrons are well-off they wouldn't mind paying extra for the free wifi service, but I'd rather the hotel offers me free wifi and include that in the room charge so it doesn't feel like I need to pay extra for a service that almost everyone needs and all budget hotels provide for free.

The gym was alright, though the swimming pool was a bit small. Breakfast spread was nice. Room was clean though somewhat small, and bathroom lacks counter space. Toiletries were unexpectedly unbranded. Staff was courteous and helpful, though not very fluent in English.

In conclusion, I wasn't exactly impressed because I don't feel there is much added benefits staying in this 5-star hotel compared to other 4-star hotels I've stayed at elsewhere. I am not sure if 5-star standard in Ho Chi Minh city is lower, or this Intercontinental is at the lower end of the 5-stars. In any case, if you can afford it and like the location, or have membership, Intercontinental is a good choice. Otherwise, check out other 5-star hotels in the city, or opt for cheaper options.

Room Tip: Higher floors for nicer view that isn't obstructed by that broadcasting tower behind the Post Of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela S, Director of Sales & Marketing at InterContinental Asiana Saigon, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, we very much appreciate you taking time and writing to us.

In general, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In regards to the Internet, all our loyalty members, as of 1st January 2014, are entitled to free Internet across all our 9 brands globally. It means that everybody who is an IHG Rewards Club member, regardless whether they are staying in InterContinental Hotel or Holiday Inn, will automatically receive free Internet. This is our thank you to our members and we are the only international hotel chain that offers this kind of benefit at the moment. To become a member is extremely easy, you can register either on line or ask to be enrolled upon check in. It takes a few minutes and you start collecting the points immediately.

As you said, our hotel is new, we are the newest 5* hotel in the city center and we are very proud of our property.

We try to mix the international brand with the local touch and I would like to thank you for your positive feedback on friendliness of our colleagues. I will definitely pass the message.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I am sending the best regards from Saigon.

Michaela


Michaela Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Arriving at 9.00am after a long journey we were correct in our assumption that our room would not be ready. However we were immediately shown an alternative which we chose to accept. It was on the 18th floor with great views over the Cathedral and across the city. Lovely, impeccably clean room with a large bathroom with a shower and separate bath. Excellent quiet aircon, well stocked mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished daily and an excellent range of toiletries.

An excellent choice of food at breakfast. One day we had room service breakfast and that was also very good, arriving exactly on time.

The swimming pool on the 3rd floor was a lovely oasis to cool down, although the glass side was a little intimidating to those with a less than athletic figure!! The staff were very attentive, greeting you with towels and always on hand to order poolside food and drinks.

The location was perfect with all the highlights of Ho Chi Minh City within easy walking distance.

My final comment must be about the very professional staff who are always on hand to help and advise.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela S, Director of Sales & Marketing at InterContinental Asiana Saigon, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
A big thank you for that lovely review. We are extremely happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is good to hear that you enjoyed various facilities of the hotel, I agree, the pool is a bit funky, certainly different from other regular pools.

We very much hope we will have the chance to see you again. If you need any help with your future bookings, please do not hesitate to contact me on Michaela.Smith@ihg.com, I will be very happy to help.

Best regards to the UK and we hope to see you soon again.


Michaela


Michaela Smith
Director of Sale & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Make sure you upgrade to the executive floor!
The lounge is wonderful
And the staff Super attentive. They actually took a photo of is the first day and then presented it to is in a frame when we left ( a little much but still )
It is a comfortable and beautiful hotel with a really cool glass pool and great gym. Co
For table beds and spacious rooms.
We did not book our tours from the hotels however as they are ( as always) much more expensive. There are many reliable your companies just down the street.
We enjoy exploring the cultures but as shallow as it may sound it is really nice being able to return at night to the comforts of a hotel such as this. Thank you for a great stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela S, Director of Sales & Marketing at InterContinental Asiana Saigon, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you so much for the great feedback. Very proud to hear the feedback like this.

I don't think it is shallow at all, everybody who had been to Ho Chi Minh City knows, that it is extremely nice to get back to peaceful environment after spending the day on busy Saigon streets. And we are very happy that you chose to seek that tranquility in our hotel.

Once again, thank you for being with us, I am sending the best regards from the whole team.


Michaela


Michaela Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

As a regular business traveler to Vietnam, I have tried many hotels in Ho Chi Minh City. The Intercontinental Saigon is a wonderful oasis in this exciting and rapidly changing city. The hotel is centrally located in middle of HCM and is easy walking distance to the entire core of the city. However, since it is 3 blocks away from the busy area around the opera house, the hotel sits in a little quieter area. The rooms are beautiful, clean and well appointed, with beds that you will not want to leave behind each morning. The hotel is fully equipped with meetings/business center, club lounge, several good restaurants, trendy (place to be) bar on the second floor, extensive fitness center, rooftop pool and sun deck, and exceptional spa to rejuvenate your tired body.

In regards to food, try to the breakfast on the first floor. It is one the best breakfasts in all of Asia and internationally. Wonderful.

Most importantly the staff and service at the Intercontinental is everything and more that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. It is now the only hotel that I stay in HCM. I travel more than 225 days per year and I look for location, service, comfort and ambience. The Intercontinental Saigon in HCM will not disappoint.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. The corner junior suites are excellent and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela S, Director of Sales & Marketing at InterContinental Asiana Saigon, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
So good to read your review, thank you so much. Really appreciated.

I would absolutely love to meet you during your next stay. Could you please contact me on Michaela.Smtih@ihg.com? I would be grateful if you could send me your contact details.

I really hope we will have the chance to welcome you back very soon and I look forward to hearing from you.

The very best regards from all of us.


Michaela


Michaela Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

It's 5 start for sure. It's the security of booking here and not having to worry about a terrible stay elsewhere. This holiday inn premium brand hotel was great. Price wise it was high. But as said for the security of comfort I was happy to pay more. The food offered was great. I extended my stay around midnight of departing and it worked out fine. Late check out was also welcomed. Food in hotel was fantastic and you know you eating good food. The hotel is connected to a medium sized mall. Just adds small activity in case you want something different. I would not walk around too much. Risk of motorbikes is too high. Just use the local meter taxi. The room was huge with great shower. Just a perfect relaxing stay on holiday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela S, Director of Sales & Marketing at InterContinental Asiana Saigon, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are extremely happy to hear that you liked the hotel.

It certainly is one of our aims to provide our guests with the feeling of security and safety and as an international brand, it is the top of our list.

I must agree with you in regards to our food. I personally think the food in our hotel is excellent. Our Executive Chef is Italian (we have an Italian restaurant) but the most popular is obviously Asian food and in particular local Vietnamese offerings.

Thank you once again and please do come and stay with us again.


Michaela


Michaela Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night as the room we had booked in the intercontinental residences had an issue and the hotel rang us about this on the way to our hotel. They swiftly moved us to a club suite on the 18th floor and while it was more expensive it was just fantastic and what we needed after a hard couple of days in Hanoi. We don't usually use the intercontinental in New Zealand as the hotel numbers are a bit limited but after staying at IC HCM and Hanoi we are total converts. The club lounge is magnificent as you would expect and the staff faultless. The hotel booked us on a very good tour (Le Rives) of the Cu Chi tunnels. I'm sure it's a bit more expensive than some budget tours but we'll worth it. We took the boat option. Can't recommend the hotel or the residences ( see other review) highly enough. We have gone on to book IC Nha Trang as we have been so impressed with the chain in Vietnam

He location of this hotel in HCM couldn't be better and it is an easy walk to the malls and restaurants

Room Tip: Go as high as you can afford for a truly memorable experience. Ps the beds are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela S, Director of Sales & Marketing at InterContinental Asiana Saigon, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We could not be happier reading your review. Thank you so much and it feels really good to hear that you enjoyed our InterContinental hotels in Saigon and in Hanoi as well.

In total we have four InterContinental hotels in Vietnam: in Hanoi, Danang, Nha Trang and Saigon. They are all fantastic hotels and resorts and we cooperate with each other very closely. If you do need any help with the booking in Nha Trang, please just let me know on Michaela.Smith@ihg.com and I will be happy to talk to my colleagues.

Thank you once again, have a safe trip back home and please come back soon.


Best regards from all of us here in Vietnam.


Michaela


Michaela Smith
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Asiana Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Asiana Saigon

Address: Corner Hai Ba Trung St. & | Le Duan Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Asiana Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Asiana Saigon is an exciting new landmark in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam s commercial centre. The hotel is close to the colonial sights of Notre Dame Cathedral and the Old Saigon Post Office, a few minutes from famous landmarks like the Reunification Palace, City Hall and the beautiful Opera House. Guests can enjoy some of the city s premier shopping in the same complex. The InterContinental Asiana Saigon Residences with 260 luxurious apartments is next door. Personalized service awaits guests in each of the 305 elegantly-appointed rooms, including 19 suites and a stylish Presidential Suite. Pillow-top bedding and floor-to-ceiling windows will create unparalleled grandeur and an inviting space for a relaxing stay. Tan Son Nhat International Airport is a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Asiana Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Asiana Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Asiana Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.