We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but not wowed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Asiana Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Asiana Saigon to your Saves list
InterContinental Asiana Saigon
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Hai Ba Trung St. & | Le Duan Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Esplanade
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great but not wowed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here on a 3d/2n business trip.

There were 2 groups having their annual conference in the hotel. This resulted in the entrance area being blocked and crowded at certain hours though it didn’t affect the check-in/check out counters which were fortunately located further inside the hotel.

Although, the hotel lived up to most of my expectations with their friendly and helpful staff, I didn’t get a sense of wow during my stay.

What I Liked:
Clean, spacious room
Generous buffet breakfast spread with fresh coconuts - first time I’ve seen in a hotel !
Helpful and informative concierge and bell hops.

What Could be Improved:
The pillows were way too soft for me even though I slept on 2 pillows. Although, the hotel has a pillow menu, I didn’t find the time to ask for a change due to my schedule and short stay.
Room curtains – not the black out types and I was awakened by the early rays of the 6am sun sneaking thru the curtains – Gooooood Morning Vietnam !!
Service at the lobby Bar was slow even though it wasn’t crowded and was surprised that they haven’t heard of a gin lime or vodka lime

Miscellaneous Info
Plenty of English and foreign TV channels.
Pool and gym was crowded in the mornings – popular with the keep-fit members of the conference group
About a 20-30 minute walk to Ben Thanh Market – walking in Ho Chi Minh’s heat and humidity , it felt like 45 minutes
Located next / outside the hotel, there’s Hard Rock Café, Brotzeit Microbrewery, a 24-hours convenience store, a coffee café and other restaurants.
The average taxi fare around District 1 is about 30VND to 40VND based on my actual fares.

Word of Caution
Although, I felt generally safe even when i walked the streets alone, I'd like to relate an unfortunate incident that befell a colleague. She had her handbag snatched from her at night after returning from a nightspot even though she was with a group of friends. She did every thing recommended by a local guide - walked with a group, kept her handbag towards the pavement side of the road. Unfortunately, the snatch thief was on a bike travelling on the pavement itself when he committed his dastardly deed.
Fortunately, she didnt carry her passport and loads of money in her bag; just an old handphone, her key room card and some cash.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    318
    48
    8
    4
See reviews for
201
553
98
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Overall I would rate my 2 night experience at the hotel as a 4.5/5. The room was beautiful and had a wonderfully comfortable bed and a nice view (at sunset) over Hai Ba Trung and the pool. The front desk was efficient, the buffet breakfast ($25) was well laid out and had a lot of offers but I would have liked slightly bigger glasses for the juices because I kept having to go back and forth and we were sitting pretty far away. The waiters were very efficient and helpful, though - we walked past the Sunday brunch set up and that looked amazing with fresh seafood, chocolate fountain and even a Peking duck station. The room service was prompt and delicious, even at 3.30am. The pool was nice and had clear glass windows so you can take photos underwater if you want to be a bit silly. The location is quite good and about a 10 min walk to the Dong Khoi area. My small dislike was a lack of amenities in the bathroom (expected more and better produced shampoos etc) but really that was the only thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had an extended stay here so the Intercontinental Asiana Saigon was my home for quite awhile and I utilized most aspects of the hotel quite thoroughly. While every single hotel staff member---bell hop, concierge, front desk, housekeeping, room service, laundry, gym, et al)---I encountered was friendly and helpful, the staff in the Club Lounge were especially great. I was also very impressed by the attention to detail in every aspect of customer service. The building itself is beautiful, tastefully decorated, and well-maintained. The room was very modern and comfortable. The gym is pretty good by hotel standards. The hotel is in a great location with ample things to eat, do, and see nearby. This is my go-to Saigon hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Never mind the fact that they upgraded me to a suite, but the entire hotel is just plain beautiful! From the lobby to the rooms, I think this hotel rivals and ever beats many/most of the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton I've stayed at. The design and ambiance of the lobby and common areas was a beauty. And the suite was more plush than other suites I've stayed in at five star hotels around the world. Spectacular views of the city. I was only there for 2 days, but I didn't want to check out! Pure pampered luxury!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Was assigned to find a good hotel in HCM and apparently streamlined and decided on this one. It was never a wrong choice definitely!

A 3 year old hotel smacked in a superbly location. Within walks to Notre Dam Cathedral, General Post Office and many more. Next to it is the Hard Rock Cafe and also a range of malls and cafes.
New hotel, good service, excellent food and friendly staff! Concierge service was first class, trust me!
They even have a pillow menu which allows you to choose the pillow of your choice, The pillows were to die for and i was almost on the verge of buying them if not for the thought of carrying them back!
Will definitely recommend to friends and family members.

Room Tip: Higher floors to have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Ho Chi Minh City or for the nostalgics, Saigon is one of my favorite cities to visit, but selecting a hotel was often akin to receiving a hand at the blackjack table- sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. It is gratifying to see that the influx of tourism over the years has steadily improved the variety of great accommodation in Saigon and today, we have some great choices available. Take the example of the Intercontinental Asiana - superbly situated in the corner of Hai Ba Trung and Le Duan Avenue, it is smack in the middle of District 1 and all the attractions you want to see. 2 - 5 mins from attractions such as the Notre Dame Cathedral, Reunification Palace, The Hotel de Ville, Cenral Post office and all the shopping along Rue Catinat (Dong Khoi). We spent a few days on a stopover to Hoi An and decided to give this hotel a try and what a great surprise it has been. Booking a deluxe suite which automatically offers access to the Club International Lounge on the 19th floor, we were kindly upgraded to a corner suite which was a nice size and offered a fantastic view of the city.
The rooms are fantastically maintained and well equipped with a huge bathroom and some lovely amenities. The decor is modern and well thought of with lots of plug points which are universal so you don't need to bother with adapters. Wi Fi is free throughout the hotel and your room, but we did find some patchy and slow connections throughout the day. The lounge is fairly decent, but would have been better with a wider selection of food during the tea and cocktail hours but there is a great selection of drinks. Do try the Vietnamese iced coffee...excellent as always. Breakfast is best in the lobby at Market 39 with some fantastic Vietnamese delicacies such as Pho and Ban Cuon and do try their fresh juices and fresh chilled coconut juice to charge you up for the day of sightseeing.
Service is spectacular throughout the hotel and everyone is out to provide the best they can to you. It is great that the hotel has done so well in the training department. An outstanding member is Van who check us in at the Club Lounge - very helpful and knowledgable.
All in all a great hotel and certainly one that will become a favorite of many.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First of all the pillows are the beat anywhere.Guaranteed a great nights sleep.does anyone know how you can buy bedding of such good quality and get it shipped back to England?
Anyway enough of that the hotel was fantastic,when we arrived they had made a cake for celebrating our anniversary,what a lovely touch.
We upgraded to Club rooms and well worth the extra as it includes breakfast,afternoon tea ,drinks and canapés at night.Definitely recommend this to anyone.
We have eaten both nights in their Italian which was superb both nights great value.
Staff so friendly and obliging.we were going to stay at Park Hyatt ,but this was a lot cheaper,good location and everything is perfect.Pity we are leaving tomorrow

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Asiana Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Asiana Saigon

Address: Corner Hai Ba Trung St. & | Le Duan Blvd, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#4 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Asiana Saigon 5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Asiana Saigon is an exciting new landmark in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam s commercial centre. The hotel is close to the colonial sights of Notre Dame Cathedral and the Old Saigon Post Office, a few minutes from famous landmarks like the Reunification Palace, City Hall and the beautiful Opera House. Guests can enjoy some of the city s premier shopping in the same complex. The InterContinental Asiana Saigon Residences with 260 luxurious apartments is next door. Personalized service awaits guests in each of the 305 elegantly-appointed rooms, including 19 suites and a stylish Presidential Suite. Pillow-top bedding and floor-to-ceiling windows will create unparalleled grandeur and an inviting space for a relaxing stay. Tan Son Nhat International Airport is a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Asiana Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Asiana Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Asiana Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.