We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warmful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanouva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sanouva Hotel to your Saves list
Sanouva Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175-177 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Very warmful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This one was our first hotel for our honeymoon in Asia. We knew that it would be a bit expensive than other options but it was a great choice! They decorated the room and offered a special breakfast in the room for no extra cost. Also good located!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    507
    83
    15
    7
See reviews for
78
286
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located by Ben Thanh market and close to the main attractions. The building is new and clean. Breakfast is very good.

The room is nice, clean and has a very good bathroom with rainforest shower-heads. Bed was a little too soft and we woke up with aching backs every morning. Our final night was totally ruined by construction work on the street outside at 1am-4am but the hotel couldn't really do much about this. They did offer to put us in another room (after some insistent arguing) but the walls of the hotel are so thin that the sound permeated the whole building and it wasn't worth changing.

What we did not like was the service. The hotel is very distrusting, insisting on a 600,000Dong cash deposit on entry (more than the entire contents of the minibar). This really put us off. We also found that the staff were not very eager to please. Whilst they were functional and could give decent information, if you came to them with a problem they did not really want to hear and would treat you rather curtly.

Overall, not bad. Given that there are lots of very poor hotels around for a similar price would probably consider staying here again... but it would be choosing to stick on a 17.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

From the friendly and efficient airport pickup, to the daily fresh and an extensive variety at breakfast and to the friendly and welcoming staff, the Sanouva gave us a wonderful welcome to Vietnam. We booked 2 tours through the reception and really enjoyed them - The CuChi tunnels and the Mekong delta trips.

The room was clean and met our needs. Would be happy to reccommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A great hotel for the price
Close to everything markets ,museums etc .
We had a " premium " room so on the 8 the floor at the back and was comfortable and quiet. Great shower and beds . The room is a little small.
Breakfast is a bit chaotic as it is a small area but there was plenty of good food and attentive staff.
It's a good way to meet other travellers.
What the staff lack in English they make up for in politeness and effort. Everything gets sorted in the end and I couldn't be happier.
Good 3 star hotel in excellent location with friendly helpful staff. I would stay again

Room Tip: High and at the back if noise is a concern. I'm not sure but I think the cheapest rooms may not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I will always think of go chi min city as Saigon. Iwill always think of Saigon for our stay in the Sanouva hotel. Our travel.arranger failed to produce the twin room we requested and the hotel had only a double to offer.n. After a lot of asking around these lovely people managed to change our room to a twin. This epitomises the staff here as they were always ready to help. Rooms are excellent, bathrooms amazing and location excellent. We would recommend Sanouva Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel met all my criteria, homely welcoming hotel, central location, walking distance to all the main sights and many superb restaurants. Hotel public areas and rooms at a very high standard. Staff obviously well trained, very efficient, and extremely attentive. Value for moneywise I doubt if you'll beat it. I have to say it was one of the best medium range hotel,I've stayed in. Most certainly stay there again and again! I had the 2nd floor looking onto the street, far better than the rear view.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff at Sanouva always greeted us with a smile, and for the £25 we paid through room was lovely with an amazing bathroom. Great central location, with some fab eateries and the market nearby. I can recommend Cyclo Resto for an eve meal and Cafe I.D in the day time, both walking distance.

The walls are a little thin, it didn't really bother us but I can see from other reviews that if you are a light sleeper or if there's some more raucous customers this may be an issue. I do however disagree on peoples negative comments on breakfast. Although you would struggle to make a full English, there were multiple hot and cold options available, both Western and Asian food and I never struggled to fill myself up. It isn't replenished late in the shift, but we ate after 9 both days and seating and availability of food was fine, maybe turning up at 9.45 would be pushing it, but I can support the hotels not wanting wasted food refilling the servery at that time.

We walked everywhere from there which was fab and stops the stress of rip off taxis, it was also a reasonable distance from the main tourist stretch on bui vien, which meant you got more of a feel for city life but could still dip in to the madness of the backpacker district if you wanted.

Totally recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanouva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanouva Hotel

Address: 175-177 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanouva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanouva is a newly established hotel, at the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, one block away from Ben Thanh market, the most famous traditional market in Saigon. Our 53 elegant rooms are all equipped with center air-conditioning system, cable LCD TV, IDD Telephone, and free Wireless Broadband Internet at your fingertips. Each room also has its own bathroom with shower and built in hair dryer, a well stocked mini-bar, safety box to guarantee comfort during guest’s stay. Our hotel provides our guests with a luxurious restaurant with professional chefs to deliver you the finest cuisine. We put our very best effort to ensure guest stay at our humble establishment, Sanouva, a pleasurable, comfortable and enjoyable one. We wish to make guest’s experience with us as mesmerizing as their visit to our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanouva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanouva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.