We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanouva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sanouva Hotel to your Saves list
Sanouva Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175-177 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean with good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Upon arrival, we found the staff to be extremely un helpful as many of them struggled with English and simply could not be bothered to give advice or assist us. The only staff member at the reception desk was a trainee at one point.

However, in saying this the room itself and hotel facilities were as advertised on the website. Everything was clean and modern. Particularly pleasing was the shower. The range of cable TV channels and the large display was great at night to relax.

The gym did not provide adequate equipment as advertised, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    513
    83
    15
    7
See reviews for
80
290
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nis, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Nice hotel with great location.
Room is not big, but clean, with very good aircon and free internet.
The breakfast is with very limited food choices. Pretty much the same stuff every morning and after 9 am it was really hard to find a place to sit.
Staff were friendly, polite and helpful throughout my 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nice lil hotel close to everything.
Rooms were clean and breakfast was basic , for the price we paid it was great value for money...
I would recommend this hotel as it has everything you need for a short stay

Room Tip: Two blocks from market Walking distance to city attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The location of the Sanouva is great. It is within walking distance of ben thanh, war museum and independence palace, backpackers area…..almost everything.
Our rooms was spacious and very clean. The air conditioning was excellent.

Buffet breakfast was great. There is an alley beside the hotel that has some really great food at night. The fruit with yogurt and ice was amazing.

The staff members were super helpful with us when we asked questions.

The gym was not good. The treadmill slipped and was unusable.
That being said, I walked soooo much it really didn't matter.

I would definitely stay here again. The price was right. The room was great!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Close to Ben Tanh markets and war museum bathrooms facilities were excellent recently room was very clean and well presented, renovated beds were comfortable ,breakfast was very good plenty of variety for western society tastes ,most of the guests where English speaking majority from Australia ,staff were both polite and very helpful,I was on the 7th floor at the back of the hotel so it was very quite no road whatsoever,very well priced for a major city will defiantly go back

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back of the hotel very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very clean small nice looking rooms, , with nice big bath room with big shower. Big windows and rather big TV. Surpricingly good experience.
Quick and kind handeling at the reception, and kind and carefull young doormann, that made sure we did not get stolen our things in the streets.
As mentioned small breakfast room in the lobby, no problem if you get there eraly. Rather dull breakfask though. " free computers in the lobby with fast internet
Perfect locationed as other have said, 5 mins from market ect

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. Firstly the location is great as the Ben Tanh markets, Saigon skydeck and the war remnants musuem were all within walking distance. The hotel is very affordable and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room was right next to the street on the first floor and there was absolutely no noise that bothered us coming from the traffic or anything outside. The breakfast is great with a huge selection and tasted brilliant. Being a smaller hotel you may have to wait maybe 5 minutes for people to finish their breakfast, obviously not the hotel's fault, its just a smaller hotel so their space is somewhat restricted, however we mostly got a table straight away when we came down for breakfast. One of the best things about this hotel is also the room service! You can eat a delicious meal here for cheaper than what you pay at the restaurants. We found ourselves eating in a couple of nights throughout our stay. The staff were very helpful and always happy to help and greeted you constantly with a smile. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanouva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanouva Hotel

Address: 175-177 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanouva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanouva is a newly established hotel, at the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, one block away from Ben Thanh market, the most famous traditional market in Saigon. Our 53 elegant rooms are all equipped with center air-conditioning system, cable LCD TV, IDD Telephone, and free Wireless Broadband Internet at your fingertips. Each room also has its own bathroom with shower and built in hair dryer, a well stocked mini-bar, safety box to guarantee comfort during guest’s stay. Our hotel provides our guests with a luxurious restaurant with professional chefs to deliver you the finest cuisine. We put our very best effort to ensure guest stay at our humble establishment, Sanouva, a pleasurable, comfortable and enjoyable one. We wish to make guest’s experience with us as mesmerizing as their visit to our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sanouva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanouva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.