We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and kind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue River II Hotel

Blue River II Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue River II Hotel to your Saves list
Blue River II Hotel
54/13 Ky Con St | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 678 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and kind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Very nice staff, none smoking hotel (tho I smoke) which I liked. Watch that tje budget rooms dont have windows but have AC.Staff is realy kind and with good english which helped a ton gettin around Ho Chi Minh. I booked 1day to Mekong and they arranged free taxi pickup (realy nice from them). My next stop is in Cambodia Sihanoukville. And they will arenga those tickets 2. At first sceptical I went looking trough other agencys and the prices were higher, only found 1 for same price (checked 5). Maybe I could get a 1-3$ cheaper directly at the bus company but I dont think so. If your looking for budget stay in HCMC I highly recomend that.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I reserved two rooms by phone a couple of days before. On the phone they told us the rooms were 20 $ each, and I said we would arrive around 7 with the night bus.
We actually arrived a bit earlier and apologized for that. They told us that they could give us two rooms to shower and get ready for the day for just 10 $ more for each room, for the "early check in". This made us very angry, since we said by phone that we would check in early and none told us anything about paying 30 instead of 20. We settled for one room only, and once we went upstairs we found a dirty bed, with black shoeprints on the linen, a smelly bathroom and there were even long blond hair on the towels. Not to mention the small friendly gecko who jumped from the wall to one of the dirty pillows.
We decided to go look for another hotel. Once we decided to check out they told us they wanted us to pay 20 $: 10 for the room we used, plus 10 more for the late cancellation. We shouted a bit that the late cancellation made no sense since we were already paying for the early check in. They told us they wouldn't give us our passports back, so we called the police - a perfectly useless move since the police wouldn't speak English and just laughed on the phone.
In the end the only way to have our passports back was to give away those 20 $. I am outraged because we have been travelling for days and none ever treated us like this, none ever mentioned any price for an early check in (though travelling by night bus is very common in the country) and hotel staff in other cities always did everything to make our stay perfect.
I am very sad that this got ruined on our last days in Saigon. The area is full of hotels and guest houses, so just stay away from this one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiedam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I really didn't expect much of this hotel as it was this cheap. Especially when we arrived and I saw the little alley I wasn't too happy. But really, this is an amazing hotel! The receptionist is really friendly. When you ask him anything (like how much you should bargain, he really gives honest answers and try to help you wherever he can). We stayed here 2 times. The first time our room was very clean. Small, but that's not really a problem. The second time the room was a bit dusty. But still much cleaner than most hotels in Vietnam. It's easily to reach this hotel by public transport from the airport (bus 152, and from the stop it's a 10 minute walk). The location in general is also very good. Very quiet and within 10 minute walk you can be at the market or the backpackersdistrict. Also the breakfast is included. You get 3 options for drinks (coffee, coffee with milk or green tea) and 3 options for food (baquette with fried egg, baquette with ommelette or instant noodles). It comes with a banana also. So it's simple, but good. Really for this price you shoudn't look any further in HCMC!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The alley to the hotel was quite small and when i arrived from the airport it was midnight already. I have to walk around 30 meters down the alley before reaching the hotel. Rooms were much, much better than i expected it to be since the hotel is classified as a backpacker type accomodation. I was welcomed by a warm smile of their receptionist, i forgot her name but she was really very warm and smilling. Their room boy was also very attending to my needs. Overall, their staff were perfect and rooms were more than a backpacker type room. There are plenty of hostel around the area but i would still go to this same hotel if given the chance because of their warm and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked via Agoda and stayed in this Hotel pretty cheap. The first night we had cold water and bugs in the bathroom, but at least it was clean. The breakfast was okay for the price, we didn't expect too much after a long travel threw Vietnam.
The receptionist seemed very busy, although, he was very very helpful. Thanks to him our stay in Ho Chi Minh was really comfortable (good advice about tours and so on).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was the 2nd hotel in the chain we booked so maybe not this specific hotel. However looked up on a website, looked great at a good price. Arrived there after travelling 6 hours on a train. Got into hotel, took to our room and couldnt believe it.Dont know what they were showing on website but clearly not the same place. Walls were filthy,bed sheets damp and dirty (found a hair and other dirty marks on sheets) and behind the bed was crawling with ants. We left immediatly even though we had paid online for 3 nights. To be fair the women at the desk was going to give us an upgrade to a "BETTER" room. Didnt even bother to look and left as i doubt it would have been uo to much!The way this place is advertised is a complete joke on booking websites as it is clearly not what you are paying for!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Central to everything. Max. half an hour walk... nice and helpful staff, you will get fair prices for sightseeing tours and tips for public transportion. The brekkie is simple and consist of bread, omlet and banana. Nothing special ;-)

Its a good place to visit the city and staying there for few days.

Its really hot in ho chi minh if you plan there staying longer book a hotel with swimming pool ;-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue River II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River II Hotel

Address: 54/13 Ky Con St | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 678 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Blue River II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue River II Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.