We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent low price hotel but with a little sting in the tail at the end of our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nguyen Khang Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nguyen Khang Hotel to your Saves list
Nguyen Khang Hotel
283/25 Pham Ngu Lao street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent low price hotel but with a little sting in the tail at the end of our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel was great value for money. It's clean and comfortable and the staff are all friendly and helpful. It's situated down a quiet alley so it's an oasis within the hustle and bustle of Ho Chi Minh. The rooms are small, which is what you'd expected from a hotel of this price, but the twin bedded rooms are more spacious than the double rooms, which are cramped and have a window looking out onto the corridor. The reason that I have given it four stars rather than five is that the very friendly and helpful lady on reception tried to charge us double when we paid the bill. This might have been an error, but I felt that it's worth mentioning.

Room Tip: Double rooms are cramped and have no natural light. Try not to stay on the fifth floor because ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    145
    36
    9
    15
See reviews for
52
119
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Nguyen Khang hotel for 3 weeks! And we were so happy with our choice of hotel. The people working at the hotel (especially Huong) are all so welcoming and gracious.
We arrived very late for our first night. Our flight was about 1.5hrs late and we did not get to the hotel till about 3am...But they had a receptionist waiting to greet us with drinks.
The free breakfast was also great and makes your day so much better because you do not have to rush out hungry trying to find food.
The hotel is located in a very nice alley so it helps to block the loudness of the city. The alley connects to a great area of the city. Very close to Ben Thanh Market, near a lot of great restaurants and great for just sitting and taking in the busy city.
They did everything possible to make our stay the best it could be. When we first arrived we were in a room on the fourth floor. The next day Huong (the main receptionist) moved us to the second floor once there was a room available so we did not have to go up the extra stairs.
One of the best things about this hotel really is Huong! Everything she recommended to us was great! Great restaurant recommendations and great sight-seeing recommendations. I was sad to leave at the end of our 3 week stay. I will miss Ho Chi Minh city, the Nguyen Khang hotel and Huong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

It's a small family run hotel located in a small alley packed with similar size hotels in Pham Ngu Lao area, experiencing local Vietnamese' lives. About 20minutes walk to Ben Thanh Market. Rooms are reasonably sized and clean and staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in a room on 1st floor without much view. Almost can shake hands with the neighbor across the alley! However, on the second day of our stay they 'forgot' to make up our room until we reminded the staff. But they finally got it done after dinner! Good value for money though! One of the beauty of staying in an alley is that you can avoid the busy motorcycles' revving engines early in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First of all I apologize for the lateness of this review - I tried to post from my IPhone whilst on the road but it didn't go. This hotel is lovely, immaculate, and very well situated in a quiet street. The owners and staff members are gracious and helpful for ANYthing you might need. We stayed with them for 5 days on our month long trip through Vietnam and they couldn't do enough to help us with any of our requests. A last minute request to arrange a private tour of the Mekong River Delta was actioned immediately and we had a wonderful overnight tour of this region and returning the next day to our 'home' in HCM. Truly a wonderful stay in Ho Chi Minh city. Thank you again so much for such a lovely dinner on our final night with you. It is a treasured memory.

Room Tip: As is quite standard for Vietnam, please ensure you request a room with an outside window if that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat Lam R, Manager at Nguyen Khang Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Nancy,

Thank you so much for the great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's great to hear we're your hotel in Sai Gon. we are looking forward to serving you again .

With warm regards,


Cat Lam(Rosie)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The customer service at this hotel was amazing, they went out of their way to help us. All the staff were extremely friendly and always presented a smile. Similarly, the location was excellent and it seemed much safer being away from the main road. The rooms were also very clean, the bathrooms were in need of a little re-grouting and there was a dull smell of stale smoke in the rooms and corridors, but I think that's pretty standard across all the basic accommodations in Vietnam.

However, there were some major downsides of this hotel for us. First, they are currently renovating their laundry room on the ground floor (while they usually offer a laundry service, it is currently unavailable). This involved loud drilling and banging from 8am through to around 7.30pm (on and off throughout the day) - if you're an early riser, it's fine, and as we were out exploring the city most of the days, it didn't bother us too much. I was just a little put out that we weren't fore-warned about it prior to our stay.

The next downside is probably our own fault actually; we had asked for a quite room and therefore were placed in a middle room with no window. The lack of window was no problem but the size of the room was definitely a big problem. There was no more than a foot of floor on each side of the bed to move around. You couldn't open the wardrobe doors fully without them hitting the end of the bed. Similarly, the bathroom was so small you had to sit sideways on the toilet and also climb over it to get to the shower! During our stay, we peeked into the front and back rooms of the hotel and these seemed far more spacious and comfortable. So, when booking, I'd advise that you ask for a room at the front or back of the hotel and put up with any outdoor noise for the luxury of space to move!

The breakfast was as you'd expect from any basic hotel in Vietnam, offering only bread accompanied with eggs (cooked to your preferred style) and a few bananas.

As a result, I felt that this hotel wasn't really value for money. I'm certain we could've found a hotel with bigger rooms and no construction for a much cheaper price. I don't think I'd stay in this hotel again, but I genuinely can't praise the staff enough for their friendliness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room at either the front or back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Ms. Huong and the guy in night shift take good care of us. They booked our tickets to Mui Ne and Mekong bus express to Siem Reap. She even showed me where the mekong express bus office. Clean rooms and toilet. We always request for our breakfast to be take out.
Will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We found this hotel using some booking website and went for it because of good price they offred and location was also handy for us. After booking we contacted them regarding some tips how to get around buying tickets for HCMC - Hanoi train. We had quite a tight schedule for two week trip so it was very important to have some things sorted before. Their reply to my e-mail was too good to be true at first, because I haven't expected they'd sort everything for us so conviniently. We stayed there also on our last night of the trip and used pick up and drop off service for the airport. Good value, very helpful, I recommend!

Room Tip: They have some rooms with no windows for the outside, so don't be surprised... It's a common...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nguyen Khang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nguyen Khang Hotel

Address: 283/25 Pham Ngu Lao street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nguyen Khang Hotel! We are located in the heart of all of the following: restaurants, shopping, markets, banks, parks, history Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, Municipal Theatre, Reunification Palace, Mekong Express bus station and Ben Thanh Market... Everything is within walking distance and our friendly staff will be waiting here to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Nguyen Khang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nguyen Khang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.