We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the right part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nguyen Khang Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nguyen Khang Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nguyen Khang Hotel
283/25 Pham Ngu Lao street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location in the right part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Location is awesome, the super friendly staff were happy to arrange tours and give advice, breakfast was included which was pleasant enough but no Full English !

Room had no window but was super cheap for the location, my only gripe is that all the early rising normal tourists could be heard banging doors and scraping chairs around first thing! Not being an early bird I'd recommend ear plugs as a precaution!

Hotel near to bar street with loadsa great value eateries nearby :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    118
    30
    6
    9
See reviews for
46
103
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The main draw of this hotel is the budget-friendly backpacker price. It's located in a small alley in Pham Ngu Lao, the backpacker district of Ho Chi Minh, so it's pretty accessible and there are lots of tourists in the area. The rooms are clean and basic (A/C, TV and shower), and you get what you pay for. Breakfast's standard (bread, jam, juice and coffee) but yummy.

The main reason I like this hotel is their service. We arrived late in the evening but the hotel arranged our pick-up from the airport. They also arranged our tours (Cu Chi Tunnels and Mekong Delta tours) for the next couple of days. In addition, they helped us get bus tickets to Cambodia. The receptionists (and caretakers?), Miss Thu and Chi, are very friendly and they also gave us advice on where to go around the city. You can also use the computer in the lobby for internet.

It is customary in Vietnam to take off footwear when entering the house. You can leave your shoes on the shoerack at the lobby or take them with you in your room.

Overall, our stay in the Nguyen Khang Hotel was pleasant and really value-for-money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

after booking the hotel, i started sending email to the hotel staff and they were very prompt in replying to me. that alone impressed me as that says about how much they value their customers. hotel staff chi and thu answered all my email questions on different things (itineraries, hotel transfers, travelling to siem reap, etc). when we arrived at the airport past mid-night, the van was already waiting, as promised. upon arrival, the hotel staff assisted us to carry our lugagge. the following day, they prepared breakfast and helped us book our day tours to the cuchi tunnels and mekong river. they gave us a map when we opted to do our own walking tour of the city. they also helped us book our bus to siem reap. the rooms are also clean, with good hot and cold shower. walls are clean and there is cable tv and good working aircon. the hotel is located in an alley along with other hotels. this is good because even if we were in a backpackers area, we get a really quiet good night's sleep. just a few steps outside the alley, a lot of restaurants and shops can be found. i highly recommend this hotel because of the exceptional staff, good location, complete basic amenities and over-all good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first or second floor and with windows. (no elevators and the actual "fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeju, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here in January of 2012. They arranged pick up for us at the airport, even though we arrived around 2 AM. One thing that stands out about this hotel is that the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is also clean and comfortable enough. There is not much in the rooms besides a TV, bed and bathroom, but you shouldn't be in your hotel room except to sleep if you are on vacation in Vietnam. It is located right in the tourist district, but located on a street that is quiet and away from the loud bars and restaurants. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nguyen Khang Hotel is a very small hotel but their room is clean, has its own cable tv..the receptionist Mr. Chen is very friendly, upon seeing us arrived he volunteers to carry our bags and we were grateful as our room is on the 3rd floor. He arranged our trip in cu chi tunnel, our bus going to Phom Phen, Cambodia and always reminded us to wake up early. me and my friend were the early riser among the guests in the hotel so the cook also woke up early to prepare our breakfast but they didn't complain. the place is also near the restaurants that offers local and international cuisines, expensive and cheap. so its a good place for a traveler who isn't afraid to try new dishes and is on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

The staff is simply amazing and the location as a backpacker does not get much better. Breakfast in the morning is good based on the low rates. Rooms are clean with great showers and cable tv. Great for backpackers on a budget - amazing value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Looking for a place to stay in Vietnam, I was more picky than usual. All the reviews for this hotel seemed positive, and I agree with them all!

Both receptionists were exceptional - always smiling, very helpful, and great English! Wouldn't have been the same trip without their suggestions and kind words.

The location is to die for! It's in a little alley, but I never felt in danger in it due to the amount of backpackers in it. The water pressure is great and the shower hot! Also, the Internet signal was strong in the rooms! Breakfast was simple - bread, jam, butter, scrambled eggs, pineapple juice and tea or coffee. Rooms were super clea and cleaned daily!

Only downside I can think of is our room didn't have a window, but we also had the cheapest room!

Great place to stay, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nguyen Khang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nguyen Khang Hotel

Address: 283/25 Pham Ngu Lao street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nguyen Khang Hotel! We are located in the heart of all of the following: restaurants, shopping, markets, banks, parks, history Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, Municipal Theatre, Reunification Palace, Mekong Express bus station and Ben Thanh Market... Everything is within walking distance and our friendly staff will be waiting here to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Nguyen Khang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nguyen Khang Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.