We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, location not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Save Saved
You added Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #64 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good hotel, location not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we paid $40 a night to stay in a double room. clean and big. can be noisy at times due to other guests. staff are lovely, helpful and courteous. the 2 biggest downsides, their is a theatre opposite and between 4pm and 9pm the music is VERY loud, so get a room at the back of the hotel. the location isnt great, 30 mins walk across some very busy roads to the centre. overall, would recommend with those notes of caution above.

Room Tip: get a room at the back of the hotel ... youve geen warned :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    119
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
107
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked 3Night for My parents and Grand Mother
They are 1st travelers to Vietnam, They said this hotel has good breakfast, clean room,
very nice staff, and very helpful.
Easy to find local food.near hotel.
I also booked Mekong tour and city tour through this hotel, service is Good.

Room Tip: I booked Deluxe room which is more bigger than superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a Deluxe Room in February 2013.
Booking via email was easy and friendly. A car was waiting for us at the airport (free pick-up!) and brought us safely to the hotel. The staff was very friendly, helpful and professional throughout our stay.

Our room was of appropriate size, everything worked fine (except maybe from the TV, which didn't have the best reception possible). Only little downside was a rather small window over the bed - so daylight was a bit limited (this is probably a general issue in Saigon due to the architecture of most buildings, at least in this price category).

We liked the breakfast a lot - nice and tasty mixture of western and Vietnamese style buffet in the lobby area.

The area is great, we would say: Lots of really good restaurants populated by the locals, short taxi ride to district one (around 60.000 VND to Majestic hotel e.g.), very close to the train station (without bags easily reached within 20 min or so by foot).

We decided to stay one more night at Thien Thao after returning from a trip to the Mekong delta and were pleased to hear that we were upgraded to the Suite for our last night in Saigon. Spacy rooms, great view through big windows (bit of street noise, but rather quite at night).

Would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 weeks - staff happily extended our stay at the same (reduced) room rate we booked with. We were also offered a free upgrade to a larger room upon arrival - very legitimate, no hidden costs and we stayed in that room the entire time.

Free super fast internet.

Breakfast included, lots of food, lots of coffee.

Located about 20 mins walk form the main tourist backpackers area, but on a road with a lot of great restaurants. Taxis easy to get from the hotel and not at all expensive.

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for 5 nites here, and the room is better than expected. read some not-so-nice reviews but am glad we are spared. Yes, the karaoke joint opposite did blare some loud songs/music, but it stopped after 11pm, and we got our quality sleep. Room is simple and clean, and the hot water shower works fine too. the staffs are friendly and helpful, especially Dinh Dang at the front counter. Most vietnamese dont speak english, and communication could be a barrier. Thien thao has english speaking staff and they will brief and guide u about places of interest in HCM. It's quite a distance from the hotel to the attractions within the heart of the city, though some ppl managed to walk there in 30 mins, for others it could take longer. We took a cab and it is a short ride, about VND55000-60000 or a few dollars (recommended taxi company is Vinasun or MaiLinh). The hotel provides great breakfast too, I read somewhere that the breakfast is from a restaurant nearby - and it's by far one of the best i've had from budget hotels: lots of delicious choices (from vietnamese food to western food). Traffics in HCM is horrible, and the bikes zoom past in a scary manner, so be alert while crossing the streets. Last reminder, be careful with personal belongings especially your cash, camera and mobile phone, it's better to be safe than sorry.
*there's a nice restaurant nearby - Pho 5 Sao, their food is good with reasonable price :) give it a try

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skogas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Good Hotel with good service to good price with a very nice and friendly staff.
Walking distance to the centre of Saigon, but difficult to walk because of the heavy motorcycle traffic and traffic culture.
Nice room.
Good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor room have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Greeted at the front desk by two of the most genuiely happy people I have ever met on a reception desk. Our room wasn't ready but they invited us to breakfast. You don't get most hotels doing that. This was a great introduction to their cafe/eatery area. There was no coffee facilities in the bedrooms iirc, but you could come down here 24/7 and get a far better one from the machine. As well as the lovely spread of food, eggs were available to order.

We managed to get a topcashback deal when booking so upgraded to the next tier of rooms. We didn't have a view but it was a very spacious room. The bed was very comfortable and both the room and shower area very clean. The only annoying thing was the windows overlooked a small courtyard and noise carried in the early moring. Well, early when you're on holidays.

Staff on reception saved us making the same mistake after our first experience when we dined at night at a nearby resturant on the main street. A few minutes walk away and down a side road is great area full of far more authentic places to eat and full of atomosphere. Thanks team! They also helped us choose a tango show to see (yes, touristy, but hey!)

The main street from the subway is ok, a bit run down, but if you walk one street back it all changes. Much nicer district! You aren't in the centre of town here, but after going to the centre on a Sunday when it was quiet and deserted I'm glad I was here. The train doesn't take long to get to the centre and I would stay here again. Far nicer than just a city chain hotel.

Great laundry service where my clothes came back folded like my mum used to! There is a lovely gym/spa area and a pool but we didn't get a change to use it.

Most impressive was on our last night when booking a very early mornign cab to the ariport they offered to have some breakfast ready for us. This was most appreciated and a lovely way to end the stay. All the staff were brilliant, from the front of house staff to the cleaners who even though they didn't speak English, still made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Thao Hotel is located between Saigon City Center and China Town, two busy areas with full of entertainment, shopping and business centers.More than 40 rooms with our fully luxury amenities and modern design, Thien Thao Hotel is the right place for your both business and leisure purpose.Come to us, you not only enjoy the comfortable and convenience services but also have a feeling of "feel like home" by our friendly and experience staffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.